We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous olde worlde charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
West SussexUK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous olde worlde charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a charming, delightful hotel. The style and decor are pleasing and restful in a refined brocante sort of way. Most appealing and chic without being overdone. The restaurant is also charming, service rapid and impeccable, and the food excellent and good value for money. Fresh local produce prepared in a typical unpretentious French style. Fresh asparagus, steak and home made fine apple tart for less than 18€! The sort of menu one used to find everywhere in France and now is so rarely available. Another bonus, twilight full of bats and unpolluted night sky full of stars.
We have already booked another stay. Our only reservation is the awful nasty scratchy towels. Please replace them...And it's a shame all the baths have been replaced with showers. It's just the sort of place to enjoy a long hot soak.
Only other reservation, earlier diners had wolfed all the cheese, fresh oranges, meats and yoghurts at breakfast and no more was available. One criossant and a cup of cool chocolate not good enough.

Room Tip: Don't be late for breakfast! Rooms by pool quieter and darker...but at front bigger and brighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BumbleSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    112
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
53
121
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The room was roomy and comfortable. The decor was unique and certainly not the "cookie cutter" style found in many hotels. The bathroom was modern and the shower was very nice. I would recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank frankb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Heart of England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a craking little hotel halfway between the French Alps and Calais, just 20 minutes from the motorway.We stayed on our way back to the UK from New Year celebrations in Morzine. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room overlooked the garden and the outdoor pool and was very comfortable. We both enjoyed a very peaceful night despite the hotel being located on the route national. Dinner was excellent and good value with an interesting a la carte menu, the menu du jour at €14 was very popular!

We will definitiley stay here again if we need to break up a journey from the Alps.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddlescounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagnols-sur-Ceze, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked here as a stopover en route to the UK for the Christmas hols from our home in southern France.
Its a 20 minute trek from the motorway, but there's the advantage of being able to fill up with much cheaper fuel in nearby Bar-s-Aube. Friendly welcome. The room was excellent: spacious, clean & comfortable - we both slept well, with no noise detectable from the road. Bathroom modern with an excellent 'wet-room' shower.
The bar and dining room have a myriad of items for sale at reasonable prices - it was handy for top-up Christmas gifts! Dinner wasn't the best we've ever had, but at €18 you couldn't really find much fault. You'd say "OK", rather than in any way memorable.
We settled up that evening and skipped breakfast, not because it was expensive as is so often the case (just €7.50), but because we needed to get on our way north. The bill at €142 was very good value. We'd stay again - you can say no more than that.
One thing amused me. I expected to see photos of 'Le General' all over the place (De Gaulle that is, whose birth and burial place this is). The only pics of him were in the toilets!

Room Tip: If you want a 'walk-in' shower, make sure you ask for it - 8 rooms have showers, 3 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardian192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

So glad we found this place! Lots of history around the whole area but also the village where Charles de Gaulle is buried, in a plain ordinary grave. Very much a champagne area for the fine wine lovers amongst you. Hotel rooms are typically French style which adds to the charm of the whole place. Great restaurant frequented by numerous locals when we stayed there - always a good sign! It'll help if you can speak French as the owners/staff didn't speak much English (why would they?) but you'll love it anyway! :)

Room Tip: A little gem for history or wine lovers! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed here twice this year. The first time as we thought it would be a good stopover point on the way back from Italy. The appearance of the hotel is very appealing and when we were shown to our room it seemed ok but there was a strange smell which we eventually realised was coming from the rush matting on the floor it was rather unpleasant. However the room was furnished well and the bathroom was adequate apart from the very hard towels. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening but the service was quite bad almost to the point of being ignored. We had to request a menu after 15 minutes wait. We had read that breakfast on a Saturday did not start until 8am and as we wanted to leave before then we decided not to take it. Instead we went to reception about 7.30am to pay the bill but everything was locked up and no-one was there. We went back to reception about 7.50am and I could see someone inside but the door was still locked . A lady appeared and wagged her finger at me and said breakfast wasn't until 8am. She didn't want to open the door so I had to explain I only wanted to pay the bill. She unlocked the door rather relunctantly, she was not happy. Anyway I paid the bill but only realised once we were along the road that I had left my cardigan on a stool at reception. When I got home I sent an email requesting that the cardigan could be put to one side and I would collect it the following month when we made another trip. I received no reply so sent another mail and the reply was that it was not there.I was not convinced so we made another stop over after another Italian trip to see whether someone would look in lost property, There was a definite unwillingness to do so but I was told it was not there. So it has disappeared. The room this time was larger but same matting, same smell and same hard towels.Dinner service was slightly better this time and we paid our bill the night before we left.As most of the guests are en route to somewhere else I think breakfast could be served a bit earlier. Here I don't think customer is king and we will not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Geneva. The staff couldn't do enough for us even though our French wasn't great and neither was their English. We stayed in a large bedroom which was airy and cool with a large bathroom and very comfy bed. And had a good night's sleep even though the weather was quite hot. The evening meal was pretty good and the staff were very helpful in taking us through the menu. As others have commented, it is a little querky, especially breakfast but overall was very good value. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Dhuits
Hotel des Dhuits
#2 of 2 in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Clairvaux-sur-Aujon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
#1 of 3 in Bar Sur Aube
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
21.3 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant

Property: La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
Address: 26 route Nationale 19, 52330 Colombey-les-deux-Eglises, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing