We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos des Bruyeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for just one night at the end of our visit to the Ardeche. We received a very friendly welcome from the Staff. Our room was on the ground floor and had a door onto a small patio area overlooking the Pool. Our room was functional and quite comfortable.The restaurant catered for inside or al fresco dining overlooking the pool area, which was very nice. There was a set menu on the evening we were there. We weren't sure whether this was normal practice or whether it was because most people there were on a "half board" basis, but we had no choice of menu, which was a shame. However, the food was very tasty but the chef is obviously trying to present it artistically and some of the presentation didn't work that well! Breakfast was a trifle chaotic as although the hotel was, apparently, full, there was only one loaf of bread out and no butter. A member of staff soon brought out another loaf of bread but it seemed that they were not prepared for the sudden onslaught of people looking for the various breakfast foods one gets in France.

However, we were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the Hotel as a whole and in particular the Pool Area. This is closed off and no shoes are allowed in the area. We saw two members of staff cleaning every sun lounger with special spray and earlier someone had been taking samples of the water and testing it. Very commendable! In all, it was an enjoyable stay and we wish the owners the best of luck in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Had a last minute overnight stay with our group after a camping and kayak trip. The hotel is clean with a warm welcome from the staff and managers. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and the manager kindly gave us a complimentary pear digestive which was a nice touch!

Lovely breakfast in the sunshine by the pool.

Overall a nice clean hotel which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxmartin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia V, Propriétaire at Le Clos des Bruyeres, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We were very pleased to welcome you, and thank you very much for your very nice message !
We will tell what you wrote at our team. Thank to everyone, our customers are pleased with their stay with us, and it is very important for us.
So we appreciate your advise and hope to receive you maybe a next time.

Best regards

Laetitia & Pascal Verlé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights while exploring the Gorges. It is a typical middle class French hotel. The rooms are fairly small, but functional, all with a balcony and clean. There is a nice swimming pool and some deckchairs to relax.
The main positive points were the very very friendly staff and the Restaurant of the Hotel where we had dinner three times. We usually prefer to try different restaurants, but after having eaten there on the first day we decided to go back the next two nights as well. The food is lovely, there is a good choice and it is fairly cheap.
The only negative point would be the croissants at breakfast that were really not nice at all, which really is a shame as you'd expect them to be nice in France...
Locationwise it is good for kayaking and driving around, but quite a way from the town centre...
Definitely a good base to explore the region from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia V, Propriétaire at Le Clos des Bruyeres, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

We thank you very much for your message, and are happy to read that you enjoyed your trip in Ardèche and in our hotel.
We are doing our best to satisfy our customers, so we are pleased to read such messages.
We hope to receive you a next time !
Best regards
Laetitia Verlé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We used this hotel for a 5 night stay from 20th August with our two teenage boys.  We had a quad room which was simply furnished and kept very clean every day by the housekeeping team.  Despite the hotel being full, there was no noise at night and our room was wonderfully quiet. There was free Wifi in the Reception area, which kept our boys happy, and the pool was kept very clean and was ideal for cooling off at the end of the day.  There was a good choice for the continental breakfast and we liked the fact you could eat inside or outside and linger over a coffee even after breakfast had finished.  The river is a short stroll from the hotel, as are a number of kayak river trip companies, and you can access the water there from a small beach area. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia V, Propriétaire at Le Clos des Bruyeres, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

We thank you very much for this message. It is really nice from you to tell exactly what you think about our hotel and helps us to stay at disposal of our customers.
We hope to see you maybe a next time and thank you one more time.
Le Clos des Bruyeres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We came across this place by chance - it was getting late and we were getting desperate, but we were very happy with it. Friendly staff, a big comfortable room with terrace, very good food and a peaceful location. But also convenient for local activities (mainly canoeing) and sight-seeing, and a short walk into the village.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froggyphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We have booked this hotel as base for a one day trip into the Gorges. It is extremly well located. You can park the car into his private park and enjoj the Gorges, since it is walking distance ( few meters ! ) from major boat rental companies who organize the trip into beautifull Gorges. Hotel ownership has a very warm behavior, for us ( me, my wife and my daughter ) it has been a very pleasant stay. They can provide a "lunch bag" with some food for the trip, as well as booking the canoe for the trip. I would reccomend it. Food was also quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gian63trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic and there was a stench in the Bathroom throughout the stay. The shower was very very low and struggled to wash our hair without back pain. TV will only produce sound when balcony door is closed and without any air-conditioning this was quite uncomfortable. The hotel is family run and the reception shuts every night from about 7.30 pm. The fridges are locked (as there is no bar there) so there is no way of getting any drinks at all !!!!
The restaurant seems to produce quite good food but we had problems with the mains being sent out before the starters and then the mains being put under a heat lamp and then returned to us dried up - hence to say we returned them.

However the location of the hotel was excellent. A short walk to the river/canoeing. We will not return back to this hotel and was not impressed considering the amount paid for the holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vickihEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#1 of 5 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir du Raveyron
Le Manoir du Raveyron
#4 of 5 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
57 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Chapouliere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Bastide d'Iris
4.8 mi away
Hotel Savel
Hotel Savel
#1 of 3 in Ruoms
93 reviews
13.2 mi away
Domaine de Chalveches
Domaine de Chalveches
#1 of 1 in Faugeres
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos des Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Bruyeres

Address: Route des Gorges, 07150, Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
Price Range: £93 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos des Bruyeres 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Clos des Bruyeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Bruyeres Vallon-Pont-D'Arc, France - Ardeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing