We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost In France......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Grattequina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blanquefort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wev stayed at CG in August. The Chatteau is lovely, very clean, very quite, very friendly. The owner and the staff certainly looked after us. The rooms are great, spacious with fantastic bathrooms and all with views of the river or the sweet corn fields. Only problem we had is that without a car you are a bit out on a limb! Taxi fares were between 35 - 40 Euros wherever you wanted to go which makes it quite expensive when you want to go to the City centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevedotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Grattequina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a wonderful find! The host and staff at the Chateau were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to get coffee for early risers. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the landscaping gorgeous. The smell of the flowers was heavenly. The pool was large and perfect to begin the day and end the afternoon. The hotel recommended an English speaking guide (upon our request) and we found Beatrice who drove us to appointments at several vineyards, allowing us to enjoy the wine tastings and the scenery. Dinner on the balcony at night was bread, cheese and wine, Bordeaux was 15 minutes away, St, Emilion and the Medoc were 40 minutes away.

Room Tip: We chose a Junior Suite with a balcony overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a delightful stay at Chateau Grattequina. Staff was very friendly and helpful. (And spoke wonderful English!). Rooms were very roomy with great views. Room service has a very limited menu but the food was good. Limited staff so there were times when there was no one at the front desk but as long as your patient it's not a problem because the facilties and staff make up for it in other ways. Would definitely stay here again. Loved it!

Room Tip: The Junior suite has a great covered balcony overlooking the river. There was a rain storm (with l...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay a Chateau Grattequina. The location is fantastic, very quiet and with lovely views, but also close to Bordeaux and all the famous wineries.
Our room was very spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom superb. The whole chateau has been modernised in a very elegant way: the old atmosphere has been wonderfully combined with modern comforts. All staff members were very friendly and helpful.
Certainly a place to re-visit!

Room Tip: Rooms with river view are very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wldekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were very comfortable, the chateau is a beautifull place to stay. The rooms have an ample space, bathrobes and sleepers in the bathrooms, clean and with great views of La Garone ( the river) and the gardens, wifi all over the hotel, great breakfast! We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Findingplaces_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Came to Bordeaux for their Medoc Marathon. Hotel was chosen by one of the runners, I was just there to be their cheerleader. The hotel is beautiful and quite. I did not see many people going in and out but everywhere was clean and nicely organized. The swimming pool is perfect sized. Please remember to bring "bugs off spray" with you when you visit Bordeaux. I was bitten like 20 times. The rooms have been renovated, you won't feel that the room is "old" when you are inside although this chateaux was built hundreds years ago. I especially loved their shower room. It was huge and modern. The room charge isn't cheap but this is what you expect when you choose a nicer hotel. Because we came back to the hotel after 11:00 pm, the gate from the road was already closed. We had to press the button panel to wake the staff up for opening the gate for us... .he must have hated us :P. Conclusion: Well above satisfactory!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodka_1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at Chateau Grattequina for 3 nights, choosing it for its location just outside the busy city of Bordeaux and the location on the banks of the river Garonne.

My stay was quite wonderful! I had originally booked 2 nights with a plan to rent a car and drive through the Dordogne valley, staying one night outside of Rocamador on the river Dordogne. That all changed when my purse was stolen in Paris leaving me without a driver's license and no possibility to rent a car. My boyfriend also cancelled the second half of our trip, returning to the U.S. before I departed Paris. The staff at Chateau Grattequina were very helpful, and booked me for an additional night.

I stayed in a River View Suite for two nights, and a Garrone room for one night (due to a wedding). The River View Suite (Room #3) was the most romantic room I've ever stayed in. Huge by European standards, with wooden floors, a decorative fire place in the sitting room, a very large bath with separate rain shower and large soaking tub, and a separate WC. The most incredible feature was the terrace with floor to ceiling new glass - insulated for sound and 3 doors that opened out on to the terrace. The terrace is nothing short of magnificent. Stone pillars rise, views straight on to the river, and room for a cocktail party of 20. A dining table and two chairs make it the perfect place for evening cocktails and breakfast.

The staff, especially Stephan, Virginia, and Michael, went out of their way to help me -- as a solo traveler who does not speak much French and no rental car, I was essentially stuck. They arranged for Mr. Rush, a wonderful gentleman who operates a taxi, to be my taxi for a trip to St. Emilion (just wonderful), two vineyard tours in Margaux and Paullac, and to dinner in Bordeaux city Centre. It was certainly expensive to hire a taxi for all of my activities, but it meant I was never lost, and he pointed out wonderful sights, pulled over for photos and escorted me in to get money changed at the Bordeaux airport.

The only drawback of the chateau is that it has no restaurant. They do provide a very nice breakfast for an additional 18Euros in the downstairs salon, and they also provide room service with a limited menu (but wonderful wines!).

The property is set far back from the road, right on the banks of the river. There are gardens - filled with hydrangeas and roses during my stay, and a swimming pool. The main terrace wraps around the entire hotel and allows guests who aren't staying in Room #3 the same option to have their breakfast or cocktails out on the terrace, watching the river and listening to the weeping willows.

I would highly recommend Chateau Grattequina! I intend to return (with a rental car)! The Bordeaux City Centre is only about 15 minutes away and offers all of the great food and people watching of Paris, plus beautiful architecture, fountains and parks. Just less noise and the people are much more relaxed. The vineyards are all right there for you to enjoy. It is a marvelous excursion out of Paris, just 3 hours on the TGV.

Thank you again to the wonderful staff! A highight of my trip to France!

Room Tip: Splurge and try to reserve Room #3 with the goregous terrace! Or #7 with a view of the river and th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Txtrav10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanquefort
5.5 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
380 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
896 reviews
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
5.5 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#6 of 174 in Bordeaux
463 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Grattequina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Grattequina

Address: Avenue de Labarde, 33290 Blanquefort, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Blanquefort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blanquefort
Price Range: £149 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Grattequina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten rooms hotel along the Garonne ideally located to visit the vineyards between Bordeaux and Margaux. Its ten luxurious rooms, finely furnished, are each marked by a particular soul,the quiet charm of an old house along the Garonne and a modern comfort. Bathrooms, made with wood and mosaics, inspire welfare. The hotel has its own boat to join Bordeaux center. 15 minutes of sailing, drinks on board, facing the 18th century facades of Bordeaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Grattequina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Grattequina Blanquefort
Chateau Grattequina Hotel Blanquefort
Chateau Grattequina Bordeaux/Blanquefort, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing