We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, beautiful building, but a bot soul-less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Grattequina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blanquefort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This hotel does everything it says on the tin; really well equipped, very clean, spacious, quiet. The only drawbacks for us were the lack of restaurant, and the fact that much of the building is laid out for weddings and conferences, making it a slightly odd place to be a regular hotel guest. If there had been a wedding or conference on at the time of our stay, it might have become downright unpleasant, but as it was, it was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordcranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2010

If you have a car and are looking for a great place to stay - AWAY FROM THE BORDEAUX CITY CENTRE - this place is great. It is a lovely castle on the outside and has modern rooms inside. Only 10 rooms, great deco and very clean. We stayed in a room with amazing river views - well worth it! The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, so don't expect room service, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Very quiet & relaxing. Lack of restaurant pain. Could be cleaner

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baltoriolesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We just spent 3 nights at Chateau Grattequina. What a wonderful experience. The property is beautiful and set right on the river. The staff was amazing and all spoke excellent English, a bonus for me although I do speak French and live in France. Our first night we arrived quite late and were warmly greeted and offered dinner and wine, which we accepted, and were served on the terrace. We felt that it was reasonably priced for the area. We had dinner another night and it was brought to our room. Breakfast is a bit expensive, but they did offer made to order eggs on two of the mornings to go with the standard fruit, cheese, breads, coffee, teas, yougurt, cereals and pastries. The room was outstanding and wonderfully decorated with an excellent view. As stated, it is a bit in the middle of farm land and it is a drive to Bordeaux, about 15 minutes, You would need a car for sure. However, it doesn't look as though you could stay anywhere better unless you stayed in Bordeaux itself. All the towns and wineries in the area are quite spread out. As for it being in an industrial area, there are some smokestacks nearby, not visible to the property, and many farms. We did not feel we were surrounded by industry in any way. All in all we had an amazing, relaxing experience and spent much time on the property enjoying the pool and the views.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarlettToulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I have just returned from a three day stay and would echo other views on this site it is a magnificent buildings, rooms are excellent and the staff were lovely.
But they just haven't got the concept right. This hotel is much more suited to conferences and weddings. We like to relax in a hotel at the end of the day, but the lack of a restaurant and a bar just don't work. It also has the feeling of being far too quiet. Unfortunately the breakfasts are of a poor quality for the price paid.
To stay here you must have a car and restaurants are not easily reachable nearby. The nearest town has one restaurant, which is average at best. Failing that you need to go into Bordeaux, which has a wonderful choice, but do you want to drive into a city and find a car park, everytime you want to go for a meal? I certainly don't! Their website is misleading on this!
I met another guest who moved out after one night. He had no car and therefore it was totally inpractical to stay there with his elderly mother. He was not refunded the second night of his booking. I suspect a number of people get the wrong impression from the website.
Such a pity, but they really need to think about their concept and make sure the website gives better advice,

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluebirdWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

A wonderful hotel - outside, a 19th century chateau on the banks of the river; inside, large airy rooms, modern conveniences - and a very warm welcome. We would recommend it to everyone. If you want somewhere to get away and relax this is it...but you're only a few miles outside Bordeaux...and very handy for the airport too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoobrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I stayed at this property on the third week of a European Business trip and after a long week at the Paris Air Show. I had a second floor room with a balcony that overlooked the river. The room was large, very clean, and the balcony was a home run. The location is out of town on a farm and adjacent to the river. The property afforded me an opportunity to accomplish work in Bordeaux but was so relaxing in its ambiance, location, and ease of use it recharged the batteries like few properties have. I did not have a problem with the breakfast, as has been noted, but I can see how some might. As for location I had a car and it was also a non issue.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bham211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanquefort
5.5 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 175 in Bordeaux
399 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
919 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#6 of 175 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
5 mi away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Grattequina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Grattequina

Address: Avenue de Labarde, 33290 Blanquefort, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Blanquefort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blanquefort
Price Range: £123 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Grattequina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten rooms hotel along the Garonne ideally located to visit the vineyards between Bordeaux and Margaux. Its ten luxurious rooms, finely furnished, are each marked by a particular soul,the quiet charm of an old house along the Garonne and a modern comfort. Bathrooms, made with wood and mosaics, inspire welfare. The hotel has its own boat to join Bordeaux center. 15 minutes of sailing, drinks on board, facing the 18th century facades of Bordeaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Grattequina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Grattequina Blanquefort
Chateau Grattequina Hotel Blanquefort
Chateau Grattequina Bordeaux/Blanquefort, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing