We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven!”
Review of Chez Momo II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chez Momo II
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I booked 2 nights at Chez Momo on the recommendation of friends. We were given a twin room which was rather cosy, but didn't spend a huge amount of time there. The staff were very helpful and the beautiful pool and garden area was a delight! We are keen walkers and the staff arranged walks with local guides for us. We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra 2 nights and upgraded to a suite which was much more spacious. Our only disappointment was the food which was lacking in variety and a little bland. However, we wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We travelled as a family with two children aged 9 and 11. The setting is beautiful with mountain views all around. The room was large and comfortable if a little rustic. The only reason for giving 4/5 was a very small thing which was a broken lamp in our room - held together by sellotape. The beds are also very hard but this appears to be a feature of Moroccan beds so not just at Momo.
However, we had a fantastic few days, children played in the pool, visited a Berber house and market and ate wonderful food. Our overwhelming memories are of the wonderful team that looked after us.....special thank you to Mustafa and Raide.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just arrived in Marakech after 3 great nights at Chez Momo II in Ouirgane. The staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. The food was also very good, the Tagines were fantastic. The accommodation was rustic but very clean. A great place to stay, we were quit sad to leave.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tomwbhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

OK......all the staff were pleasant and this riad type hotel is in a lovely situation. I think we were unlucky with our stay. We stayed in a little house number 8. The room was not that clean and everything was a bit tired. I did address this on leaving. It needs a French woman's touch like all the other riads! There is lots of hot water if you run it I agree and there are heaters in the rooms if a fire is not lit for you. The food is good and it is a good venue to have lunch coming out from Marrakech after trekking. But beware you may be charged for using the pool if you are only having lunch. You do not need a guide to go for a short walk up into the back hills. It is beautiful walking up to the little villages and seeing the apple blossom.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the house. Some other guests said their room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Chose Chez Momo II after reading previous reviews and booked a really good value seven day half board stay using Teletext Holidays for the first time. This Riad IS very special not just for its magnificent location beneath the Atlas Mountains, its beautiful well maintained gardens, the rustic cottage type accommodation, the breakfast tables around the swimming pool, and the homely cooked meals BUT ALSO the exceptional service provided by Redda, Fued, and Mustafa.

In fact all the staff went out of their way to make us feel as comfortable as possible and this included making us log fires in our bedroom, meeting special dietary requirements, organizing a choice of guides for tours, and providing information about the surrounding area in very good spoken English.

No hesitation recommending Chez Momo II - in fact would go as far as to say it's a MUST visit if you're planning a holiday experience to Morocco. Enjoy the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and then relax at Chez Momo II whilst experiencing the amazing trips to Tizi-n-Test, the Almohad mosque of Tin Mal and the beauty of Toubkal Park.

Room Tip: We preferred one of the "cottages" as we could have a log fire in our bedroom on a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePBTrainerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 5 nights in December 2013 at Chez Momo II, which is a beautiful auberge set in stunning grounds. The main building which contains the bar and the dining room is attractive with 3 log fires. Our bedroom was attractively furnished and spacious. The room was very cold due to the time of year. However, the staff did rectify this by giving us extra bed blankets (which we had to ask for twice) and some heaters. The main building and the bedrooms are set in wonderful gardens, with roses and bougainvillea in abundance. You can sit outside on the patio drinking and eating, enjoying a spectacular view of the Atlas Mountains. The staff are very friendly and pleasant. However, sadly, the place is marred by poor management and lack of attention to detail, as detailed below:

On arrival, when we pulled back the bed cover, we saw that both our pillows were stained. The sheets were clean, but not ironed.

The New Year's Eve menu was 9 courses, and the majority arrived stone cold.

Breakfasts were typical Moroccan and were fine. The dinners were of variable quality. One beef tagine I had was awful, but the chocolate mousse was superb.

Breakfast was advertised as being available from 8am. On more than one occasion the staff were not ready. On our morning of departure we sat down at a table at 8:05am, and discovered that there was no-one at all in the building. Several times we saw the tables at breakfast were still covered with plates and wine glasses from the night before.

A minor point, but I counted 6 broken light bulbs in the dining room.

The night before we departed, we agreed and settled the bill. The following day as we were on our way to a Riad in Marrakech, we received a phone call to say that we had not paid enough. We know that we had paid the correct amount, as agreed with one of the staff, but a different member of staff wanted to charge us more.

This place could be absolutely brilliant, but lack of management lets it down. However, putting all this aside, we did enjoy our stay. Because of the issues mentioned, I feel I can only give it an Average rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franny_coops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Chez Momo II for three nights after three weeks of vacation in Morocco. After a long car ride it was a real treat to enter the area of this place. The garden and buildings are absolutely stunning! We had a little house with our own terrace, beautiful bath and big comfy beds. The pool area is just great, food simple and super tasty, service friendly, and the view you have while you have your dinner or breakfast is perfect! So if you want to relax with a book in the sun while looking at the mountains around you, this is where you should go! Hope to come back one day!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Thetmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asni
7.1 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
9.8 mi away
Dar Imlil
Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Bergerie
La Bergerie
#4 of 4 in Asni
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Momo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo II

Address: km 61 M, Centre Ouirgane, Asni 42152, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Price Range: £61 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Momo II 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel unveils charming Berber buildings, rooms and comfortable after opening on the gardens of roses, exotic flowers and plants. You can also benefit, walks accompanied by a guide recommended by the hostel as well as rides on the backs of mules in the surrounding villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chez Momo II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Momo II Morocco/Asni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing