We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment at the Kasbah Tamadot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kasbah Tamadot
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointment at the Kasbah Tamadot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Having expected a really exclusive retreat away fromthe bustle of Marrakech, we were rather disappointed by the Kasbah Tamadot for one specific reason which really did marr our star. We understood from the publicity we had read that children were allowed at the hotel at specific times and then only in small numbers. This wouldn't have been a problem at all. However, it was full of families with young children from crying babies through to noisey young teenagers who spend most of the day bombing and splashing in the outdoor pool. There wasn't a single place which was child-free - even the indoor spa pool was often occupied by children splashing about. Parents often left the children to do as they liked because the place is safe for them but this was to the inconvenience of other guests. It therefore had a feeling of a rather expensive "Centre Parks" about it. We would could not go there again under these circumstances.
Having said all this, the waiting staff were superb - very welcoming and professional and the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hertstraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    86
    38
    19
    7
See reviews for
110
452
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

One of the best places I've stayed at. It suited us as we wanted peace and quiet, luxury, relaxation, good food and friendly service.
The transfers from the airport (arranged by the hotel) were well briefed on any previous 'tripadvisor' concerns about hairpin bends and took the roads at a very careful speed.
Lissa and Kenton who manage the hotel were always helpful and on hand. All the staff had time for a conversation and were extremely helpful as well.
The food was excellent. Out of 50 odd courses that we sampled, only twice did we have the same thing and only once something that we thought could have been better.
The Spa was excellent and the treatments we had outstanding especially in the new couples room overlooking the views of the valley.
Our room was clean and luxurious with lots of well thought out elements like electric blankets turned on when the beds were turned down in the cooler evenings.
When the internet wouldn't work in the room one day Kenton had someone from the village up within the hour to sort it.
The views were amazing into the valley and up to the snow covered Atlas mountains.
Our last night was made even more memorable with a private dinner on the rooftop under the stars.
No complaints and lots of thanks to the staff at Kasbah Tamidot who made our stay with them one of the most memorable holidays that we have ever had.
If you're thinking of visiting Morocco and want somewhere quiet and relaxing this retreat is well worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed for 5 days in a superior room. I would recommend the hotel transfer from the airport - this was an Audi Q7 which coped well with the hairpin bends as we got closer to the hotel.
On arrival our room wasn't ready so we changed & headed to the pool. Once we had our lunch the room was ready. Our room was no 25 off the floating pool with stunning views of the mountains. The room was beatifully decorated & had lots of nice touches. The only thing I think was missing was tea/coffee making facilities.
We spent our days by the pool which was a nice temperature to swim in - the sunloungers were good quality.
The food was of a good standard but not exceptional - I felt it lacked imagination & required more variety. I have eaten better elsewhere across the globe. The lunch menu didn't change apart from offering a different daily special, so after 5 days this became a little repetitive.
We had opted for full board, but I would recommend to just pay as you go.
The best evening was the 7 course taster menu which was set around the floating pool - an idyllic romantic evening.
The setting is beautiful & the hotel itself is lovely with lots of little courtyards.
My only real gripe would be about the service which was slow both from a drinks from the bar point of view & also the service at breakfast/lunch & dinner was very slow. It wasn't a massive inconvenience to us as we spent most of our time relaxing by the pool. Other guests were also talking about this.
I did decide to write a letter on my return to mention this & had been told that the hotel had been short staffed with some key staff members off. I was kindly offered some compensation for my inconvenience, so fair play to Virgin.
All in all we had a relaxing break & re-charged our batteries which was the full purpose of our stay. I would recommend for a shorter stay maybe 2-3 nts.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Having spent a few days in the hubbub of downtown Marrakech, it was fantastic to be whizzed off in air conditioned luxury to the mountains. The drive to the Kasbah was sedate unlike some overseas transfers!! We arrived mid afternoon and were shown straight to our suite - apparently the room Richard had first stayed in when he purchased the Kasbah!! The hotel is beautifully appointed and has some lovely features and is a very relaxing space to be in. Everything about the Kasbah is laid back - this is probably one of the few places where you could turn up for breakfast wearing your pyjamas and no one would bat an eyelid! Nothing is too much trouble and you get the sense that the locals who work at the Kasbah are really proud of what has been achieved.

The weather for our break was superb and we were able to eat dinner under the stars on the roof terrace every night we were there. Candles lit the walk ways at night and lanterns lined the stairways - it was truly magical. The bar area by the pool was more than just that. Daybeds under pagodas entwined with vines and roses made inviting places to settle in the shade with a book and a glass of wine - whilst the infinity pool flanked by clean, white cotton covered sunbeds provided awe inspiring views down the valley.

The food was good, the service subtle yet efficient. The ambience calm and comfortable. If you want a getaway break with your significant other then there are few places that will provide such a relaxed comfortable atmosphere. Although we went in October and had stunning weather, I would relish the prospect of returning mid winter when there is snow on the mountains and fires in the grates. With no shortage of nooks to curl up in with a good book and a glass of steaming mint tea this is indeed a place for all seasons!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coxwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

My husband and I had a 3 night stay in Kasbah Tamadot, arriving on the 12th December. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed ! We had a truly magical stay.
The setting is stunning and the place exudes a serene and almost spiritual atmosphere.
Perfect for a romantic and relaxing break. We stayed in a deluxe room (which was lovely) and were very fortunate to be upgraded to a berber tent for our final night, which made our visit even more memorable. The spa treatments were great and my husband thoroughly enjoyed quad biking in the mountains. Dinner was served in a different location each night and the food was simply too delicious for words - and waistlines !
We chose to go for the full board option and found this extremely good value for money. However, whilst the accommodation, facilities and food are excellent what makes Kasbah Tamadot really special is the people - Kenny, Lisa and Stacey manage by example and give the warmest of welcomes. This is replicated by the staff who were always smiling and keen to make sure we were happy and had everything we wanted.
The atmosphere if relaxed and informal and we felt truly pampered and cared for withough being overpowered - a difficult balance to get right. Will we return - you bet!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

The drive out from Marrakech was an amazing journey in itself and to see the hotel perched amongst the mountains was breathtaking. The hotel, staff, food, rooms (especially the one with a private pool), views, treatments and location were all superb. Food and drink was expensive and we picked the wrong time of year for warm weather (woke to snow!) and possibly stayed for too long. Had we gone at the right time of year as a break from the heat and bustle of Marrakech I think the stay would have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDTYORKSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We experienced more graciousness in our first hours at Kasbah Tamadot than we had in the previous 6 days in Morocco. Everything was perfect - staff, room, food, location. Room service person even suggested things not on the menu when we arrived with upset stomachs.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MplsMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asni
7.4 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
6.7 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Property: Kasbah Tamadot
Address: BP 67, Asni 42152, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Tamadot is Sir Richard Branson's award-winning retreat situated in the spectacular Atlas Mountains in Morocco. Each of the 28 rooms and suites has been individually decorated to reflect the beautiful architecture of the building and features antiques from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kasbah Tamadot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Morocco/Asni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing