We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Base of Operations in Normandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Base of Operations in Normandy”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel for the second part of our two week holiday in France. We extended our stay to three nights as it turned out to be an excellent location for exploring all of the Normandy sights from St. Mere Eglise, to the American cemetery, beaches, and Bayeux. We even took a day trip over to Mt. Saint Michel. We enjoyed free drinks at nearby Omaha Beach Cafe courtesy of the hotel owner. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Good value and a prime location!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
68
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Second time we a group of frinds stayed here , last time a few years ago , wonderful stay and great dinner . This time no dinner , infact the bar shuts at 8pm !! Like most we were visiting the American War cementary and though the hotel is on the doorstep it is miles from anywhere . This means a trip to either Bayeux or Port en Bessin for dinner . The hotel owner did arrange a taxi for our group into Bayeax and a brassiere for dinner which was great but a 35 euro taxi fare ! Rooms big, bathroom nice but very thin towels . Breakfast was very good , but real shame no dinner , I'd sadly recommend staying in Bayeax if visiting the cemetary , which itself is stunning .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I took this hotel because of its proximity to the American cemetery. They took a hefty deposit upon making a reservation (for three nights over D-day), and when I went to cancel one night (with two month's notice) the owner made a very big stink. She would not make the change herself, but instead forced me to call Italy for two hours (lucky I have free VOIP) and then finally making the change herself, very grudgingly. Although an attempt was made at being superficially friendly, the owner was resentful about the cancelled night when I checked in, and was even more resentful when I did not take breakfast. The girl who showed me to the room was nice. Hotel was unremarkable - the room was big, but the furnishings were very IKEA. It was freezing during my visit and on the second day someone came to clean (no way to stop them - I didn't want it), my heat was turned off. When I returned to the room it was ice cold. The toilet has no sink. Every time you use it you have to walk across the room and wash hands in the separate shower area. Very inconvenient arrangement at best. I didn't want to drive far this trip, but I wouldn't stay here again, no matter what my destination in the area. There are other hotels that offer more customer-friendly service, more beautiful furnishings and bathrooms, as well as wonderful food at the same or lower prices, just located near Utah Beach or Bayeux.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the larger than normal size of the rooms. The decoration is a bit 80's but very clean. You can see they work at keeping the hotel in good condition. We were greeted abruptly by a woman at the reception, who seemed like the owner; but the girl who showed us to the room was very pleasant. One suggestion to the responsibles if they read the reviews: the stairs to the upstairs rooms are very slippery (when it rains....and it rains apparently a lot in Normandy). They should put some security slips. Otherwise, we highly recommend this hotel for its cleanliness and great location for visiting the Normandy memorials. The pool looked really also but we didn't get a chance to try it out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VieFlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had lunch at Domaine de l'Hostreiere (family of four, with two children), after visiting the American Cemetery. The staff were rather unfriendly and uninterested, and the prices for lunch were too high for the quality offered.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stopped for lunch and concluded that, being where it was, the owner was taking advanatage of a high throughput of customers who would only ever visit once. The omelette at 13.50 Euros was almost inedible, the croque monsieur was accompanied by frites cooked hours earlier and if the fish soup had ever seen a fish, then that fish must have just swum briefly through a bowl of hot water ... it was that tasteless.
Owner was very unfriendly. What she did not realise was that our host was breaking with his usual practice of taking his tour groups to another place 2 km away and a good experience here might have attracted regular small group visits for a long time to come (perhaps a hundred groups per year), but that opportunity is now lost for ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IcabodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My Mom and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in France, which included two nights with Veronique. We found her to be a charming hostess. She loved the USA and Americans. We could have spent another night there, exploring Normandy from her ideal location. For anyone wanting to explore the D-Day Beaches, do not hesitate to stay with Veronique and Patrick. Don't miss l'Omaha for dinner!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwjules_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colleville-sur-Mer
4.7 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
852 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
580 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
573 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
209 reviews
10.2 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de l'Hostreiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de l'Hostreiere

Property: Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Address: Route du Cimetiere Americain, 14710 Colleville-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Colleville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colleville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de l'Hostreiere 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 800 meters from the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach, the new owners of the field of hostreiere will be happy to welcome you in their resort perfect balance between sea and nature located at sea colleville the heart of Bessin. Overview 22 Spacious rooms 5 Apartments and houses from 2 to 6/8 Relaxation rooms, fitness, spa, sauna Bar Restaurant, Creperie Wifi , Table tennis, Pool Free private parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domaine de l'Hostreiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De L'Hostreiere Colleville-Sur-Mer, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing