We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“expensive hotel with a good location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location was very good with the new Overlord museum just next door and Omaha beach just a few minutes away with car. The two floor room was well planned and in good shape. It seemed like it was family owned and that they cared much for the hotel. The breakfast was better than expected (we read some bad reviews) with fresh croissants. The room was tidy and in good condition and good indoor climate. The garden was also nice and there was a lot of parking at the hotel. We really missed a pool. In the pictures we saw before we went there, we saw a pool, but now it was taken away. If one doesn't want to eat at the hotel, one need to travel for at least 20 min by cart to find a descent place to eat. The hotel was a bit pricy, but they did not have any competition nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
68
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family (2 adults, 2 children aged 13 and 10).
In terms of space and layout we liked the 2 bedroom apartment. The location is ideal for exploring the D-Day beaches.
However, I have the following criticisms:

1. Despite there being pictures of a large swimming pool on their website (and on the Tripadvisor page!), there is no swimming pool. We were told that the hotel had undergone a recent change of ownership and that the pool had been filled in recently. I worked out where the pool should have been, based on the photos displayed all over the web, and that part of the site does not look as though it has been landscaped recently, although I am by no means an expert in this. Perhaps the pool has been gone for some time? If there is no pool they should not suggest through their advertising photos that there is one.

2. Cleanliness was lacking. The rubbish bin in our bathroom had not been emptied prior to our arrival and it contained the previous guest's rubbish. The sponges provided in the kitchen were used, quite worn, and soiled. A platter in the kitchen cupboards had not been cleaned and had a sauce all over it.

3. We were in a ground floor apartment and could hear a lot of movement noise from the apartment above - footsteps, chairs, etc. I do not think the guests staying above were doing anything unusual, the noise just travelled very easily.

4. There was no curtain or screen around the shower, which was simply a shower head above a drain in the bathroom. Admittedly the bathroom was fairly large but it was difficult to contain the shower water, resulting in the bathroom getting quite wet. A 'squidgy' mop was provided in the bathroom, but I can think of better ways to spend my vacation that cleaning up shower water!

The dinner menu at the restaurant is quite limited. We thought that the restaurants at nearby Port-en-Bessin were overpriced and of poor quality. We had to travel further afield to find good quality food (Asnelles, for example) and ended up self-catering most of our dinners. The apartment was good for self-catering, with a fairly large and well equipped kitchen (if you can get over or deal with the lack of cleanliness referred to above).

I would have rated this place as 'poor' or 'terrible' based on my crtiticisms above, but the apartment was very spacious and well equipped which is why I rate it as 'average'. It was overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were due in after the 8:30 pm check-in time. I telephoned and spoke to a young lady who waited until 10:30 pm for us to arrive and check-in. She was very friendly and the room was absolutely fabulous!! We only stayed for one night but I wish I could have stayed for the week!! It was very comfortable, clean and roomy! Oh, and the hotel was very near the Omaha Beach, Cemetery and D-Day Museum. Awesome! Sorry.. we didn't eat breakfast as we had to leave early in the morning, but others said the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebMc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed two nights primarily to visit Omaha beach.
Staff were very friendly and one had reasonable English.
Family run , went out of their way to make sure TV was set to correct Chanel for rugby match.
Room spacious and also very quiet.
The only down side was the breakfast, no imagination and no cold milk on second morning.
Plenty of space for our vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levallois-Perret, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Very good proximity to everything rooms very nice and yvery nice staff great pool close to omaha beach and american cementery and very close to exellent sea food restaurants also the activity choice to do with Kids in the hotel is awesome pool and pingpong very nice owners ready to help immediatly. Did not try the restaurant but did try the breakfast and very good very clean rooms very near to the beach and other activites like saulling kite surfing ect and close to other ww2 monuments like port en nessun hupain and arromanche but also la pointe du hoc not very far away from bayeux very close also to museums and bike rents the Pool is very good because not very deep max 2m also it has a parking and some rooms also are appartements that have a kitchen and three beds it also very close to st laurent sur mer another ww2 city price is very convenient more expensive in june but totally worth it

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff here are very helpful and friendly but the room was not very clean and we had a shower that did not work properly. We eventually had to resort to mending it ourselves on the second day. Staff had reported it to the owner but absolutely nothing done. It is well siutated for the Normandy beaches and particularly for the American Cemetry but we felt it was expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed one night primarily to visit the American Cemetery, Omaha Beach and Pointe Au Hoc. The upper floor of the "cottage" was spacious,clean and the bed very comfortable. We got one of the best sleeps of our trip as there was absolutely no noise during the night. The receptionist was helpful in giving directions to restaurants in Port En Bessin which is about 8 km away. Contrary to a previous review, we were able to get the wifi in our room. Breakfast was very good and substantial. All in all, very good value for what we were expecting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boffin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colleville-sur-Mer
4.7 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
852 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
580 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
573 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
209 reviews
10.2 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de l'Hostreiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de l'Hostreiere

Property: Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Address: Route du Cimetiere Americain, 14710 Colleville-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Colleville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colleville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de l'Hostreiere 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 800 meters from the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach, the new owners of the field of hostreiere will be happy to welcome you in their resort perfect balance between sea and nature located at sea colleville the heart of Bessin. Overview 22 Spacious rooms 5 Apartments and houses from 2 to 6/8 Relaxation rooms, fitness, spa, sauna Bar Restaurant, Creperie Wifi , Table tennis, Pool Free private parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domaine de l'Hostreiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De L'Hostreiere Colleville-Sur-Mer, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing