We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and bright”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Racecourse Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Paeroa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent two separate nights in the Racecourse motel, in two similar units. The motel units are separated from a side road by some planting, and not too close to a busier main road. Rosemary provided friendly and efficient service, and both units were clean, comfortable, bright and fresh. There was a reasonable amount of room, although a built in, pull out, double bed, which serves as a sofa, means there is just enough room for the queen size bed, which is very close to the front windows. There is a kitchen with a microwave, small stove top and oven, kettle, toaster, and cutlery and crockery for four. In one unit the refrigerator was quite noisy, and we had to turn it off at night. The bathroom is bright and modern, with a heated floor, but if you need a hair drier, you have to request it from the office. There is a good selection of TV channels. Sound proofing is not great, and you would definitely hear a noisy guest (or TV) in the next unit. WiFi is provided using the sometimes frustrating Zenbu service, with 50 MB free, and more available at $5 for each additional 50 MB. There is no restaurant nearby, but breakfast is available in your room on request. The Racecourse Motel is a good choice for a place to stay in Paeroa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just stayed here for two nights to complete the Hauraki rail trial.

Excellent spotlessy clean well aportioned motel unit that was excellent value for money at $90 per night .Very quiet even though it was close to the road.

Very freindly helpful owener.

Reccommend this motel to anyone visiting Paeroa and a great base for the cycle trail

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine_Render
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed here for just one night and found it to be a wonderful stopover. A good base for walking the Karangahake gorge. The motel is out by the racecourse away from the road so makes for a quiet sleep. Spotlessly clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mature-traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Eight of us stayed here one night as part of our cycle tour on the Hauraki Rail Trail. Clean, tidy, standard type NZ motel. It is about 20 minutes brisk walk from the main street.
Good value for money, and suited us all very well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Standard motel rooms set apart by how sparklingly clean everything was. Very pleasant owner, good value for money. There's a nice garden area out the back of the rooms. Great base for cycling the Karangahake Gorge portion of the Hauraki Rail Trail.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank ainseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and found the owner very friendly and helpful, with a wealth of local knowledge. It is located a bit out of town, but the place was clean and quiet and we slept well. Fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nice location, close to Paeroa shops. Quite cheap, easily accessible and clean. Rooms are average so all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paeroa hotels
0.9 mi away
Paeroa Motel
Paeroa Motel
#4 of 6 in Paeroa
8 reviews
1 mi away
Pedlars Motel
Pedlars Motel
#1 of 6 in Paeroa
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paeroa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Paeroa Pukeko Lodge
Paeroa Pukeko Lodge
#1 of 3 in Paeroa
1 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racecourse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racecourse Motel

Address: 68 Thames Road, Paeroa 3600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Paeroa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Paeroa
Price Range: £62 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Racecourse Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Racecourse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing