We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendiferous”
Review of Oak Lane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Lane Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Morrinsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Congratulations on your new 4 star plus rating and the Gold enviromental award.

What a lovely rural setting about an hours drive from major cities but close enough for sightseeing and day trips. Cath and Alan are excellent hosts at this B & B and nothing is too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd stay with Cath and Alan and would not hesitate to go back or recommend this lodge to others. Check out their well attended jazz day each year. The home baking is to die for and the breakfasts scrumptious.
Looking forward to our next stay and will definitely take advantage of the pool next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Tucked away a few minutes from town is this amazing old villa with immaculate grounds, scenic country views of the quiet farmland and the warmest hosts I have ever met. Alan and Cath were just fantastic and made me feel very welcome as they showed me around the grounds, and their warm smiles said it all. They enjoy sharing stories and are genuinely interested in helping you enjoy all the Oak Lodge has to offer.
Every morning, a breakfast of beautiful fruit, freshly picked from their garden helped me wake up to the day. Every evening was just as relaxing with welcoming finger-food, hinting at what was to come. Every meal trumped the previous night's meal, and I was treated to the most exquisite food I have ever had. The flavours far exceeded my expectations and I am still amazed at the generous servings that came with equally engaging conversation. You can taste the passion Alan and Cath put into preparing meals you can 'experience'.
The formal dining room and sitting rooms were very well presented, and the rooms with en-suites were very clean and welcoming.
I often found myself wandering through the grounds, enjoying the serene atmosphere, the songs of the birds and an orange from the orchard.
Many thanks Alan and Cath for the experience, I look forward to coming back to New Zealand and the Oak Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Wow thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone else know what is hiding away here at Oak Lane Lodge. There are still loads of Tangelos on the trees for the picking and now the berries are starting to ripen! Good luck with your future :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for a week while in New Zealand on business. Alan and Cath truly made this a home away from home. The grounds are beautiful, the gardens immaculately kept, and the birds and wildlife are incredible. Walking the gardens each evening and borrowing (stealing?) fresh oranges directly from their trees may have been some of the best experiences of the week. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious, with plenty of room to unwind and relax. The common areas of the home are beautiful as well, with seating areas and large windows overlooking the gardens. Archery, sporting clays, garden tours, croquet, and a pool are available, for those who need more than walking the gardens. The meals were spectacular, far beyond restaurant quality, with many choices for breakfast. Our group did dinners as well each evening with Alan and Cath, which after two total weeks in New Zealand, were still among the best food I've had in the country. Many, if not most of the ingredients each come with a story, as an overwhelming amount of their ingredients are sources from their own garden. Can't wait to come back to New Zealand, just to spend a few more days here. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bd1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We are thrilled that you had a few nights at the Lodge which enabled you to 'explore' the property fully despite your busy schedule. Thank you so much for the wonderful review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a beautifly place, unfortunatly our stay was only one night.
Alan and Cath could not have been more welcoming, they explained the history
of the place, the grounds, trees and plants. They made our stay a memorable one.
The grounds are beautiful and immacuatly kept, the homestead is and very authentic
and the rooms and beds are most comfortable.
We would defdinetly stay again as the hospitality was the best we have had over many many
years of travelling both in New Zealand and overseas where we avoid hotels most of the time.

Room Tip: I could not get rid of the grading for fitness center but there was not one there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review for us! The whole team appreciates your thoughtful comments and gives us all a little glow :-) We look forward to seeing you again soon. A&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed one night while traveling to Auckland. We were looking for something a bit different and certainly found it here, the home and grounds are stunning and despite the not so good weather during our short stay, the hosts Alan and Cath, took the time to walk around the gardens with us and point out the interesting features and explained the history of the place. The evening meal was outstanding and the breakfast awesome. Beds are really comfortable and the attention to detail with the room amenities is excellent. We would definitely stay here again as the hospitality really is second to none and offers a much more social atmosphere than staying in hotels.

Room Tip: Room with French doors opening onto the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparkyHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

We were thrilled to see your special review of the Lodge. Thank you for taking the time. It means a lot to us all & for our recent Qualmark evaluation. :-) All the best, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Lovely couple, excellent service
Good taste of decoration
Really nice full breakfast
Beautiful Garden and trees, we did not have chance to look around due to the rain
We so We will come back again.
Good location, easy to go to Te Aroha to enjoy the spa and go to the tea farm to enjoy chinese tea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Ping1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Ping, it was fantastic to have you and your family to stay at Oak Lane Lodge. We look forward to giving you a grand tour of the gardens and birds next time. :-)
Alan & Cath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed here for a week while working in Hamilton. Cath & Alan made me truly welcome, fed me far too well, and looked after me fantastically.
The place is a delight, the hosts wonderful, the beds comfortable and the food amazing.
Thanks, and I will be back (again and again..)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ShaneH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Shane, it was wonderful to have you back. The "Board Room" is always available for you to continue working.
Our aim has always been to produce appetising meals that our guests will enjoy. We get a great kick when our guests want to go back for second helpings. :-)
We were sad your lovely wife couldn't come this time.
Alan & Cath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lane Lodge

Address: 78A Horrell Road, Morrinsville 3374, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Morrinsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Morrinsville
Price Range: £121 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Lane Lodge is an expansive 100 year old villa and is at the end of a spectacular 600m tree lined driveway. It is set amongst 3.5 hectares of mature gardens and magnificent 100 year old Oak, Copper Beech, Chestnut and Cork trees. It is situated in the peaceful, tranquil rural area of the Waikato dairy farming industry and we are centrally located to all Waikato & Bay of Plenty towns. By car we are:• 60 minutes from Tauranga and the Pacific Coast• 70 minutes to Rotorua • 25 minutes from Hamilton• 20 minutes to Cambridge and Matamata• 90 minutes from Auckland International airport. Accommodation at The Lodge is Qualmark 4 star plus and consists of three well appointed Guest Rooms, each with private en-suite. Full Breakfast is included in the tariff. The lodge has two lounges, formal dining room, library and a sunroom which leads into a courtyard for alfresco dining & BBQ area. We also have a salt water swimming pool, a great selection of challenging outdoor pursuits available, such as archery, clay bird shooting, croquet, or you can take a relaxing stroll amongst the gardens and the magnificent stand of 100 year old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing