We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love coming here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We live in Auckland and love escaping to this olde world charming place. We have been coming to stay here every year over the past 6 years and have always found our motel unit to be clean and well stocked with towels etc and the bed comfortable. Being so close to the Kaimai Ranges its a great weekend to go for a tramp up the Wairere Falls and return to soak in the hot pools. We think we get a lot of value for money when compared with Top 10 holiday parks around NZ. We enjoy the peace and tranquility of this historic spot and would thoroughly recommend to people who could look beyond a bit of age and rust to be content. We think the goat who keeps the grass in check is a cool member of the friendly staff.

Room Tip: The motel units are good especially down the end where the goat is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

The caravan park is a fairway out of Matamata so transport is requirded to get meals. When arriving to book in we were wondering if we had the right place. Our cabin looked as though it was still in the 1940s. The bed was very uncomfortable and finished up sleeping on the couch. It looked as though the facilities had not been updated since the 40s. Having stayed at other Kiwi holiday parks I was disappointed with this park. Could not recomend this one at all

Room Tip: Unless desperate find alternative accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The was our first campervan campsite during our recent trip. We thought this was a typical NZ campsite and what NZ has to offer. We were so wrong! This campsite was the worst of them all. It look like a set from a bad ghost movie. We parked near to the toilet and I accidentally stepped on a mouldy bread the moment I stepped out the van. There were pieces of mouldy bread and some food left on the grass. Toilet was dirty and stinks. Shower was unpleasant with mouldy old curtain. The shower basin was chocked and drained really slowly. The place looks like nobody taken care and no maintenance was done for a very long time. It's not that cheap either comparing to the rest of the campsites we visited.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This place is an embarrassment for the New Zealand tourism industry. Just generally grotty and run-down. .. clearly little in the way of cleaning and maintenance takes place - and it shows. The pool complex was an absolute health hazard; there must be minimum standards that places like this must adher to, if only for the safety of public health. There was green slime in and around the pools that indicated they are not cleaned regularly nor filtered often enough. The changing facilities were grubby and generally, again, just in need of a good clean.

The owners really need to review their current practices. .. the only way they must be able to stay in business can only be from ripping off tourists. .. repeat business. .. surely not? We'll be telling all and sundry to avoid this place like the plague. Drive half an hour further and get a fast nicer experience (and for less money) somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brainyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Opal Springs is like a blast from the past-it is unique to find a place that hasnt had a makeover and yes it could do with a spruce up in the private pools. BUT it is really clean and very reasonable priced. It felt a bit like a step back in time, my partner had been there in the 1980's and not much had changed. The cabins were really well supplied with everything you need for few nights and the grounds were a little wild and beautiful. There was a cute little cottage overlooking the pools that looked like a great spot to stay.If you feel like a trip back to a New Zealand that used to exist its a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirlybird2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I visited with my partner for the sole purpose of using the pools. We had booked the private pool and decided to try the standard pools initally.
Ok, so yes they are a tad run down however this didnt affect the pool its self. The water was clean with some leaves floating around.
The changing rooms were tidy, but water pressure in the shower wasnt so good.
I would recommend a clock down the hot pool end, for people like my partner and I who both wear glasses. (Thankfully he has a waterproof cellphone so we didnt miss our private pool time slot)
The private pool was amazing, very quiet, with awesome surroundings.
We will be booking just this next time.

I ranked the accommodation average as we didnt use it, so I felt it was unfair to rank it anything more than 'sitting on the fence'

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSmithNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have always found this to be a very clean and nice place to stay. Our relatives come up here every summer from down near Wellington and bring caravan and 2 or 3 tents with all their family and grandchildren. We have spent a lot of time visiting them and always are impressed wiith the cleanlinness and friendliness of the place. The actual camping ground is very attractiv e with lots of amazing nice shady trees and the children always love playing amongst trees and up and down banks etc. The pools are ALWAYS clean and I cannot disagree more with the two disgruntled reviews written further down the page. Some people expect sheer luxury wherever they go obviously. It is an older complex and as money allows, I know they will keep improving it BUT it is also lovely as is and very clean and well looked after. We regularly go out in an evening for swims and have never, ever found anything to complain about. Changing sheds are good with showers and toilets and the pools are great. Motel units here are also very comfortable and in lovely surroundings. We would recommend this motel and camping site to all our friends .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaMatamata_N_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
2.9 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
301 reviews
3.7 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
3.5 mi away
Maple Lodge Motel
Maple Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
97 reviews
4.6 mi away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#5 of 5 in Matamata
65 reviews
6.3 mi away
The House With No Nails
The House With No Nails
#5 of 8 in Matamata
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park

Address: 257 Okauia Springs Road, Matamata 3471, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range: £32 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP... Central location, 6km from Matamata set in 6ha of park-like grounds.18 hole golf course adjacent to the park. Thermal Hot Pools, Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing