We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I only had a short time to visit NZ and created an itinerary that included Matamata and the Chestnut Lane Cottage. Kathleen and John were delightful and extremely helpful hosts and the cottage was lovely. It is clean, well appointed and has a beautiful view. Having our own space with the comforts of a B&B - a wonderful breakfast - made this a very special place to stay. We will not hesitate to return to NZ and Chestnut Lane Cottage if we have the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_halletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hello the Halletts in Nova Scotia. It was so nice to meet you and have you stay with us.
Thank you for your kind review. I enjoyed our chat over breakfast. Keep up the good work with the children. Kind regards K&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We decided to stay at Matamata for the Hobbiton Movie Set tour, and started looking for a place and located this lovely place. We have stayed at plenty of B&Bs in NZ, this is definitely a very unique one. The host, Kathleen, was really kind and helpful. She sent us a detailed direction description to help us reach the place as the GPS navigation might not be correct. It finally turned out to be very useful as we arrived at Matamata quite late and it was dark. Kathleen gave us a very warm welcome and made us some fresh, hot scones which is amazing. The cottage itself is well equipped with a spacious lounge, a warm bed room as well as a balcony. The cooked breakfast was gorgeous and Kathleen even helped us call the Hobbiton Moive office to make a reservation. We do love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankGUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Frank thank you very much for your review and thank you for coming to stay with us. I hope you had a lovely time in New Zealand. It would be lovely to see you again in the summer.
Kind regards to you both. Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family of four flew to Auckland and thereafter took a 2.5 hour drive to Matamata. Kathleen and John's warm reception made it the best thing that can happen to any tired family after a long flight and drive. The scones and cookies prepared for us upon arrival were the most delicious and the cottage was spotlessly clean and felt so close to home. My two children loved the place so much, they were disappointed we were only staying for one night.

If you are looking to visit the Hobbiton Movie Set in Matamata, you must stay with Kathleen and John!

Room Tip: There is a queen size bed and a sofa bed that can sleep two, so a family of four would be more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello there in Singapore, thank you so much for the lovely review and thank you for coming to stay with us. It was so nice to meet you. We hope you had a great time in Rotorua and the Waitomo Caves. We hope you come back again some day. Very kind regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Staying at Chestnut Cottage Lane was an amazing experience! I'd say it was our favorite place out of the 9 different hotels/motels/B&Bs we stayed in throughout our 3 week trip. Kathleen and John are great hosts, and we even got to meet their daughter. The whole family was incredibly kind and welcoming. I will admit we were a little nervous staying at a B&B because we tend to be a bit shy, but we worried for nothing because Kathleen and John made us feel like family. I wish we had stayed in Matamata longer than one night!

You shouldn't hesitate to stay here; it's the best.

Kathleen and John, Thank you so much for a wonderful experience! I do apologize for taking a month to write this review!

Room Tip: Choose the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raraavis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

It was lovely meeting you both, it was so nice that you came over and chatted with us during the evening, we really enjoyed that.
Thank you so much for the lovely review and for choosing to come stay with us,
Best wishes to you both. Regards Kathleen and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Kathleen and John were wonderful. We were very impressed by their warm welcome when we reached their place late in the night. The room was spacious and very clean and the surrounding was absolutely beautiful. Definitely one of the best BnBs I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuyiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Shuyi thank you very much for coming to stay, it was lovely to meet you and Ruth. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I hope the remainder of you New Zealand holiday was fun. Regards Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Kathleen and John were wonderful, flexible hosts who have well-earned their 5-star rating on TripAdvisor. I attended a wedding at the Hobbiton movie set, and wanted to find a place nearby that would be accommodating of a late-night stay. Although we hit traffic on our way down toward Matamata, Kathleen kept up with me via email (since I didn't have int'l phone service available, just data) to make sure we would be able to check in smoothly at a time that made sense for us. Their property is absolutely beautiful, and is perfectly set up. The hearty home-cooked breakfast the next morning would have rivaled any restaurant, and visiting with them over the meal was extremely enjoyable. All in all, wish we could give more stars! Thanks, Kathleen and John.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124katherinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Kat, thank you very much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both, thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was so nice to chat with you over breakfast and hear all about the wedding at Hobbiton. Best regards to you both K&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Chestnut Lane Cottage for 2 nights for our anniversary and we are so glad we did! We were impressed with the very warm and friendly welcome by our hosts Kathleen and John when we arrived, not to mention the lovely homemade scones and chocolate chip cookies baked by Kathleen. We have been travelling around quite a bit and have stayed in many b&b's and we must say that Chestnut Lane Cottage was one of the very best that we have stayed in! The cottage was very comfortable,cosy,modern and clean(the walk in wardrobe was a treat!). Waking up in the morning enjoying the beautiful sunrise with amazing views is more than we could ask for. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast cooked by Kathleen and the feijoas as well!! Thank you Kathleen and John for making our stay such a memorable one. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi May and Richard thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us and hope you had a great time in NZ especially your travel to Taupo and through to the King Country. We enjoyed having you stay. Best wishes for your career May. Kind regards K&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
0.3 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
301 reviews
4.0 mi away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
0.6 mi away
Walnut Lodge B&B
Walnut Lodge B&B
#3 of 8 in Matamata
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing