We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winner”
other travellers have booked this property
studio unit
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
studio unit
kitchenette and bathroom view from your room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
studio unit
kitchenette and bathroom
view from your room
view from your room
tuis in cherry tree
kauri grove bush walk
our home
Wairere waterfall
a real Kaimai sunset
the kauri and rimu tree in our garden
your hosts Brenda & Sid at nearby Hobbiton
inside studio
very comfortable queen bed
garden
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kozars
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Winner”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Yes! This place is so wonderful. Out of the concrete jungle and into the N.Z. countryside. What a great thing to experience. It is quiet, picturesque full of cornfields and a lovely mountain view to wake up to in the morning. Less than 10 mins. from Matamata ( Hobbiton ) it worked perfect for our homebase for the week to explore the entire area. About 40 mins from Tauranga or Rotorua with tonnes to see and do. I can't say enough about our hosts Brenda and Cyril. They are the kindest people, and made us feel like we were at home. They have excellent suggestions on what to see in the area for no cost, so even on our quieter days we could go on a quick hike. We were fortunate enough that Cyril had a moment to introduce us to a great dairy farmer named David. We got to see the full workings of how his farm works. Even brought the cows in! Absolutely the highlight of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: No wifi-internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thankyou Delena and Mark we loved having you both and you two are superb guests to have for a longer stay. I'm glad we created some great memories for you in our little piece of paradise. Hope the rest of your holidays went well. Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph K
1 review
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Such a gorgeous location, a comfortable room and very friendly owners. You are independent from the main house, get to wake up to gorgeous views and it is so quiet!... Would totally go there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
We enjoyed having you and your husband. You had a big day ahead of you and I'm glad it was peaceful to come home to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry_Ja...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This was the first place we stayed in NZ and it was gorgeous. The accomodation is comfortable and the hosts friendly and helpful. They were especially flexible when our ETA proved to be later than we arranged. Also they organized an amazing Jetboat experience for us on Lake Taupo, which was one of the best things we did on the trip. Thanks Brenda, we loved it!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thankyou girls it was great having you. And yes Rapids Jet in Taupo is the best jet boat ride.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tv with SD slot very handy, along with the dvd player/surround sound and The Hobbit movie :-)
Liked least: no complaints at all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing