We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Matamata, NZ is on the global map because it is near the LOTR movie set of "The Shire". Typically this would mean hotels that don't have to work hard to be occupied. That is not the case with the Broadway Motel. We stayed in an upgraded room (#16) which is one of the nicest rooms we stayed at in NZ. Chic and urban was not what we expected but that was the clean look of our suite of rooms (complete with mini kitchen). The price is amazingly affordable for such a refined set of rooms. It is a wonderful find!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites that are accessed from Milo Street (best for couples).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    59
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
75
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights to use as our base as we explored the northern part of the north island. The owners were absolutely lovely, the rooms very spacious and had everything one could need. Great location right in town. Would definitely recommend this hotel to those passing through matamata.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The motel is located just outside the town of Matamata where the Hobbit Centre is located and enroute to The Hobbiton, the North island NZ movie set/park - the LOTR trilogy and the Hobbit (soon to be trilogy) were largely shot here and at the Wellington movie set. So, my partner and I were indeed very happy to stay a night at the Broadway...we spent the next day refreshed to explore the movie set attractions above! The motel owner was friendly and even gave us two Wifi Internet access coupons for two devices instead of the assigned one for the studio unit:-)

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the reception if on a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hofmeister952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We booked one night in a deluxe one bedroom but on arrival were upgraded to a Miro ct unit which was lovely. The unit backed onto the playground which was thoughtful as we were traveling with our toddler. The room was very clean, modern and well equipped, complete with 2 flat screen tv's, bathrobes, and a small private grassed courtyard. We were not bothered by the road noise that others have mentioned, and we found the owners so lovely and genuinely friendly-it was nice to feel welcomed! Would recommend this to anyone, good value and by far the best option for your matamata stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietotandtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

What an amazing place to stay. To be honest, I did not expect to see such quality in a motel in Matamata before we checked in. We were 4 people and booked 2 deluxe apartments during the long weekend. The apartments were so luxurious and extremely clean. I would easily say that it was even much better than many worldwide famous luxurious hotels in major cities. Massive thanks to Diann and Tony for having us in their beautiful motel. If you go to Matamata, this is definitely the place that you should stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatihustok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

What a special place to stay! I was wonderfully surprised by this motel and can't wait to return. It was super clean and fresh! The room was well appointed with all that was needed to cook a quick meal if I wanted or just relax with a nice cup of tea. It was within walking distance of the town center. It had a lovely garden, full of flowers and fruit trees, and play equipment for children. I had forgotten the treasure of easy access to the outdoors when traveling. I walked in the garden, kicked the ball around like a kid, and sat at the tables outside for a long lovely time. Diann and Tony are great hosts and greeted me with warmth and friendliness. I was quite taken by the doves that inhabit a pretty bird house. These are beautiful fan-tailed doves that are wonderful to watch. The whole stay was pleasant and peaceful. I would recommend Broadway Motel for a really good relaxing time. It would be fantastic to stay a while. The rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: My room was on the second level and had a beautiful view of the garden. The later afternoon sun kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Diann and Tony have got a great place just waiting for you. Their rooms are clean and very pleasant, with great chattels, crockery and oh those lovely cuddly robes, they truly go the "extra mile" to ensure you are comfy and feel special.
Huge on the wall TVs, a delicious spa pool for relaxing and just the best of fenced play areas for the kids, with lots of fun activites just waiting to be used.
There is a gorgeous freshly painted pool beckoning to beat the summer heat in as well.
We highly recommend this as a place to stay where you will be totally happy, with restaurants and shops just a few mins walk away.
Whether it's couples or families its great. Beds are divine
Thanks Diann and Tony we will be back

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and play area great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#5 of 5 in Matamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maple Lodge Motel
Maple Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas

Property: Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Address: 128 Broadway, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing