We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate cafe”
Review of Workmans Cafe Bar

Workmans Cafe Bar
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Workman's café is a fun friendly environment that happily serves great coffee and fresh local food five days and nights a week, we take pride in what we do and how we present ourselves. Great comfy chairs, great sounds, fab ambiance, and good looking staff all help to provide an experience we hope you will enjoy . Cheers Syd
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch after visiting Hobbiton. It was an excellent experience from start to finish. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, good service, a good range of options on the menu and everything we ordered was very tasty.

1  Thank H7-The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scronk60, Owner at Workmans Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hey Traveller, glad you enjoyed your lunch in our funky little café and the team looked after you cheers Syd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Had the vegetable fritters for dinner, which were delicious and beautiful cooked! breakfast was the pancakes which were beautiful! The staff were incredibly lovely and welcome to a chat when possible. Managed to meet the owner and had a nice chat as well! Loved it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lilylemonwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scronk60, Manager at Workmans Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi Lily,

We're really glad you enjoyed your experience with us!The team thanks you for your lovely reviews!
We'll keep up with the good works.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Always a pleasure to go out for a meat at Syd's. Yum food plus knowing the meats and fish they serve are free farmed.

Thank WilmaZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scronk60, Owner at Workmans Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Wilma, you are obviously are a regular with your comments so thanks very much cheers Syd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

The owner of this eatery goes out of his way to make this a worthwhile experience. His personality and welcoming attitude draws you in...the food quality confirms that you've made the right choice to dine here. You will love it

Thank JoeTCrimeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scronk60, Owner at Workmans Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Joe T Crime Dog, you must have tried the sausage being a crime dog they are locally made by my brother ha ha . Glad you had a great time Cheers Syd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Had early dinner on Saturday evening, 2 adults and 1 child. We didn't book but got lucky, it was pretty busy so I recommend booking. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, they made a good team. I had the rack of lamb and it was well tasty, just seared so ask if you like your meat well done. The missus had chicken which was nice. There's a good selection of kids meals too for the nippers. There's also some nice beers to choose from. Wasn't cheap but was worth the cost.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scronk60, Manager at Workmans Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi Andrew,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us!! You're more than welcome to come back anytime for a funky time with our crazy team!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Workmans Cafe Bar also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to Workmans Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing