We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at Clifton Court.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokoroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifton Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Tokoroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When we arrived we found the reception very friendly and helpful. The units are being totally rebuilt inside and those that have been refurbished are very nice & modern. Our unit had not yet been upgraded & while a little dated was clean & comfortable with all the facilities we required. Comfortable bed, full kitchen, good shower, seperate tiolet, large new TV.
Also in spite of being on the main highway, it was very quiet.
At $110 per night with a seperate bedroom it was good value. I believe the upgraded units are $145 so we were pleased to have the older unit which suited us fine.
Also, there is plenty of parking on site.

Room Tip: Try and get a unit away from the road. Our unit was in the middle of the row and we had no noise con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were travelling around the north Island with our bicycles looking for good trails. The Waikato River Trails are definitely worth doing and we were keen to have good accommodation reasonably close by. Options in the area were not the most appealing, and when we looked at Tokoroa, we decided to rely on Trip Advisor comments about this Motel.
While it is located on the main trunk route, and although it has a reasonably understated frontage, the one bedroomed accommodation was excellent. We were given one of the recently refurbished rooms and it was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The unit was reasonably close to the busy street, but the double glazing does make a difference and we slept well here. The room had a small kitchen (with all necessities - including a fridge, kettle, cups, plates, glasses and dishwashing facilities), a dining table with four chairs and comfortable seats to watch the wall mounted flat screen TV. The bathroom was brand new and very tidy (the only negative comment I would have is to note that there was no bin in the bathroom).
We also had free wireless internet access, which allowed us to look up options for accommodation in the next towns we intended to visit.

Tokoroa is a very small town, so it does not have many dining options - so it may not be suitable for longer stays, but there is a superb Italian restaurant in town and the major fast-food outlets are also available. I would normally avoid motels in small towns like this, but I have to say, this place really was worth staying at.
The owners were also willing to offer us breakfast - but we did not need it, as we were happy to prepare our own.
We would certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The new double glazed rooms are the ones to try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had booked a 2 bedroom unit for 4 of us, and when we arrived they offered us 2 x 1 bedroom units for the same price, which was excellent. They were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and tidy, and they are in the process of renovating the units.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had to travel to Tokoroa recently for a family bereavement. We had been advised that this motel had renovated its units so we decided to stay there. We were not disappointed and found our unit of the highest standard and very comfortable. We were initially worried about traffic noise but because the new windows were double glazed this did not eventuate. The only minor criticism was the lack of a kitchen sink to wash the dishes and maybe another towel rail in the bathroom. All though our stay was not the happiest occasion because of the bereavement we were quite happy with our motel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W, Manager at Clifton Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments . I hope that next time you stay with us it is under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at this motel a couple of times, initially just went with the room that was offered which was old & outdated.
However the next time we stayed in the renovated units at the back which we're excellent.
Clean, comfortable with huge Tv & music system.
Breakfast can be ordered the previous evening, although this motel is right on the main road with many fast food hints around & a few cares.
I would not recommend any restaurants which are worth trying out.
All in all a very handy location with good service and clean comfortable rooms

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights while touring NZ. Extremely clean,comfortable and well furnished. We have stayed in 'posh' hotels costing a lot more and not enjoyed this level of luxury. Strongly recommended. The staff, like all Kiwis, were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sondy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Unfortunately we had to attend a tangi (funeral) in Tokoroa. I had to book accommodation quickly but didn't know where to start. Clifton Court Motel had the best reviews. I rang the motel and the host Colin was very warm and friendly. They called me as they were able to move us into one large unit to reduce costs.

The accommodation is very basic but clean. The host was awesome and the motel was very close to the venue.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clifton Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Court Motel

Address: 111 Main Road | State Highway 1, Tokoroa 2392, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokoroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tokoroa
Price Range: £80 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you need accommodation in Tokoroa, we would love you to stay with us. All of the units at Clifton Court Motel have been completely renovated back to new, with new furnishings and large flat screen TV's, Apple TV & FREE Netflix. Both business and family travellers can expect to find an option to suit, with our spacious, ground floor, smoke free units at affordable prices. Choose from Standard or Family Rooms all with Queen Size beds, tea and coffee facilities & FREE Ultra Fast Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). The recent addition of our executive units offer the most discerning traveller that extra night of luxury and comfort. The South Waikato region is rich with wonderful natural attractions, all within easy access from Tokoroa. Clifton Court Motel is conveniently located on State Highway 1, only a short walk from the town centre, restaurants, cinema and sporting facilities. We strive to make your stay an enjoyable one, and look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing