We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please take notice of these reviews. You will not rest here. You have been Warned!”
Review of Park Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I wish I had read this site before.
When I booked mid week, I asked about the beds, I was assured the the bed's were great and would stand up to scrutiny. Big Failure!
We were tired after the 7 hours drive and didn't think to check the bed 1st. Service was without grace as it came at the end of a chase.
Finally after a sleepless night the sun rose to expose to a wasp swarm outside our room. I am limited by characters to relay the jaw dropping events that lead to our checking out a day early and my sitting here dry eyed after the long drive home. Badly Fatigued. $109 a night is highway robbery.

Room Tip: It was quiet between 12 and 5 am. Avoid room 6. No value for money. Do not stay there if you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Totally agree with Jean G comments - only wish I had read these before booking. Cleanliness not up to standard. Whole complex very tired and needs upgrading.
Kitchen utensils and appliances could have come from a garage sale.Tea towels with holes, bath towels thin and bath mats frayed. Swimming pool not operating despite 25 degree temp.
Noisy at night as on main Hamilton highway and thin walls.
Tired, old 1970's oufit masquerading as an up to date 2012 motel - $50 per night may have been acceptable...not double this
Surprised that the AA has any association with this motel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The office smelt of dogs and cooking. It is very shabby and tired. The room was marginally better. It seems we were lucky in that the shower and toilet were clean. However we couldn't decide whether the sheets/pillowslips had been used or simply not been ironed - hopefully the later. The bed was comfortable and new. The carpet was filthy and the whole place needed a thorough clean or better still, renovating. Parking was tight and luckily the people in the next unit didn't have a car. AA needed to look at its site before advertising places of this standard. It was very expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place was the pits. Went to hop into bed and found black pubic hair on the sheets. Not one hair but five....argh !!!
The shower moved whilst you washed and the soap holder had blue soap scum which looked as though it had been there awhile.
Add to that NO free internet and the $$$$$$$ we paid were so not worth the angst it caused.
I would have preferred to sleep by a river or in the car.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Right on main highway and you hear trucks all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Tired is a compliment for this place. A terrible mistake for my last night in NZ. $108 for 1 night in a family room. It has no endearing qualities, you have to pay for internet access (only motel in NZ to charge me) and is thoroughly depressing.

What a way to end a great trip!

This place should be either condemned, closed or turned into a homeless shelter.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing your room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at this motel for 1 night this week and obviously I should have checked out TripAdvisor first! Dirty, no lightbulb in the bathroom and traffic going by 24/7. Woken at 5.30am by the traffic noise and that was the end of my sleep. I definitely felt like the bed had undesirable inhabitants!
Also, EQC should check this motel out as when heavy trucks go by, there is definite movement - I felt like I was still in Christchurch!
I would definitely not recommend this motel and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Just don't even go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place was absolutely disgusting, like the other review it should have been a hint when payment was made before checking in!! The floors were not cleaned, the bed looked as though it had undesirable inhabitants and the oven had let overs from previous tenants, and was baked on grease...Target would certainly have a ball reviewing this place...Should be closed down!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank NzKiwigirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
1.2 mi away
Rosetown Motel
Rosetown Motel
#1 of 2 in Te Awamutu
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cicada Motel
Cicada Motel
#7 of 7 in Te Awamutu
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
ASURE Albert Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#5 of 8 in Cambridge
49 reviews
1 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
101 reviews
0 mi away
Astonleigh Villa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Motel

Address: 387 Ohaupo Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Park Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing