We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park Lodge was dirty, under equipped and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Park Lodge was dirty, under equipped and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I found Park Lodge to be dirty, very under equipped and expensive for the services they weren't providing. We had a cockroach in our room which ran under the bed. When we lifted the bed to catch it we found it had not been cleaned under for months. Family we were travelling with found an rtd bottle under their bed in another room.
I would expect to find a microwave, toaster and kettle in a motel unit, only the kettle was provided. The table was so small that you could not have eaten a meal on it even if you could have made it or brought in takeaways.
The single bed provided was short, too small for an adult. The beds were never made up. You expect this in a lower priced motel, but this not a lower priced motel
The bathroom was too small to get dressed in after having a shower. It was very noisy from the nearby major road.
I would certainly not recommend staying at this motel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    0
    5
    19
See reviews for
10
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

family had booked 95% of whole motel out as family wedding was close by. this place was filthy and dirty. pillow cases and throw pillows had big stains on,bath mat was a old rag,no little shampoos, hot water sometimes, NO internet,No sky tv,pool was empty,playground dangerous and rusty,owners huge aggressive dogs barking at anyone near playground,outside ph bell on outside of building went off MANY times during nyt,found cock roaches and bed bugs,rooms were extremely dirty and not ready,after asking for a room clean ALL windows left open and door left unlocked,outside lights didn't work,everything out dated,over used,past its everything.dogs were in kitchen area where owner cooks meals for people who want them and seems very dis-interested in giving a dam let alone any form of customer service. this is beyong basic and is a major health risk. gross gross gross DO NOT GO!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: look somewhere else. people on the streets live better than this dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Awamutu hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Had to stay as company was paying. Very basic, yes noisy, office not good or appealing specially with big dogs barking at you.
Do not order breakfast.. not properly cooked and stone cold, again very basic

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I could not agree more with the other reviews. Luckily we arrived in the afternoon so could see the units and grounds in daylight. The kitchen was just a cupboard and the room dark and dingy. When I looked for the swimming pool the stairs to it were overgrown with weeds and the pool looked as if it had not been used in years. To this end we refused to stay and found another motel Please, Please do not book in there. I have requested that this motel be removed from the AA Tourism Brochure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I wish I had read this site before.
When I booked mid week, I asked about the beds, I was assured the the bed's were great and would stand up to scrutiny. Big Failure!
We were tired after the 7 hours drive and didn't think to check the bed 1st. Service was without grace as it came at the end of a chase.
Finally after a sleepless night the sun rose to expose to a wasp swarm outside our room. I am limited by characters to relay the jaw dropping events that lead to our checking out a day early and my sitting here dry eyed after the long drive home. Badly Fatigued. $109 a night is highway robbery.

Room Tip: It was quiet between 12 and 5 am. Avoid room 6. No value for money. Do not stay there if you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Totally agree with Jean G comments - only wish I had read these before booking. Cleanliness not up to standard. Whole complex very tired and needs upgrading.
Kitchen utensils and appliances could have come from a garage sale.Tea towels with holes, bath towels thin and bath mats frayed. Swimming pool not operating despite 25 degree temp.
Noisy at night as on main Hamilton highway and thin walls.
Tired, old 1970's oufit masquerading as an up to date 2012 motel - $50 per night may have been acceptable...not double this
Surprised that the AA has any association with this motel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The office smelt of dogs and cooking. It is very shabby and tired. The room was marginally better. It seems we were lucky in that the shower and toilet were clean. However we couldn't decide whether the sheets/pillowslips had been used or simply not been ironed - hopefully the later. The bed was comfortable and new. The carpet was filthy and the whole place needed a thorough clean or better still, renovating. Parking was tight and luckily the people in the next unit didn't have a car. AA needed to look at its site before advertising places of this standard. It was very expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
20.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
21.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
ASURE Albert Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cicada Motel
Cicada Motel
#6 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Motel

Property: Park Lodge Motel
Address: 387 Ohaupo Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing