We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home.”
Review of Rosetown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosetown Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It is easy to see why this motel is "#1 of 2 motels in Te Awamutu." Very comfortable beds and fully functional kitchen for those light meals self prepared.
We were a party of 4 this time. Kids were in tow. Murphy's Law, we needed a room the same weekend as motels in the area were heavily booked due to a rowing regatta.
However, we were placed in a one bedroom unit with a rollaway bed in a corner of the dining area. Suited our needs perfectly.
But we were changed to a two bedroom unit halfway through our stay. All we had to do was pack our stuff and the motel staff sorted out the changing of rooms whilst we were out and about. Talk about amazing service.

The showers are hot, beds are amazingly comfortable and come with two pillows per person (a lot of motels only give you one each which is never enough and I end up always having to ask for more). Bedside lamp on each side of the queen size bed. The kitchens are fully kitted out and the rooms are all very clean. Plenty of soft fluffy towels. Flat screen TVs with plenty of channels to choose from.

I didn't really notice the road noise as the rooms seem quite quiet once you close them up for the night.

Hosts friendly as always. I really recommend this motel for a good nights rest if you are in the area. Looking forward to our next stay here whenever that might be :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devil_n_Disquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our motel. It is always interesting to see what guests expect and appreciate when they are staying away from home. The quality of the linen, the home comforts like bedside lamps and extra pillows etc are high on your list and I am pleased that we met your expectations. I do look forward to seeing you on your next visit where you will be very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a lovely little motel. An excellent welcome and very helpful owners. Little swimming pool was very welcome after a long day motorcycling !!
The only downside s the noisy road. It s a dairy town and the milk tankers pass day and night .

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. You looked to be having such fun on your biking tour and I hope the rest of your ride was fun filled and exciting. I can imagine that the swimming pool was very welcoming after a long day traveling, especially in the hot summer days that we have been experiencing.
Your advice to others to ask for a unit away from the road is commended. We will do everything we can to meet guests requests. It is a pity we can't do anything about the milk tanker activity. However it does slow down considerably when the cows go dry, which makes the road a lot quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

rosetown motel te awamutu my husband and i stay there on every visit its very friendly staff comfortable beds. we have only had one problem out of 7 stays there and that was this year we found dirty frypan in cupboard which was promptly replaced with a clean frypan. we will be back to te awamutu from perth western australia in february and look forward to staying again at rosetown.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the ones on same side as the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 94penelope94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you so much for your comments and the opportunity for us to improve our service.

As part of their duties, our regular cleaning staff check that all utensils, dishes and appliances are clean and in the correct place. On this occasion a casual person was cleaning the units and overlooked the offending article. Of course she felt very embarrassed and contrite and apologised most sincerely to the guest.

I am sorry that our valuable visitors were offended and will do my utmost to see that it never happens again.

On their next visit we look forward to the opportunity to provide the standard of service that they have experienced in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

What a great motel! We'd selected it based on excellent Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were traveling from Auckland overnight to take a Waitomo Adventures abseiling tour. The Roseway motel is about a 20-30 minute drive from Waitomo and a great base for visiting the area - especially since motels nearer Waitomo are not well reviewed.

We stayed in a Queen room at the Roseway. The room was really spacious with a thoughtful floor plan. There is a kitchenette to one side with everything that you need to self-cater simple meals. Small fridge, microwave, electric frypan, hobs, kettle, pots/pans, dishware, sink, cleaning up supplies. There is a small table with three chairs to the side. All of this is in an area with linoleum flooring (nice! - I like to see non-porous flooring in cooking and bathroom areas). In the corner is a small flat screen TV with SKY that can be viewed from any position in this 'main' room. There is also a small fan heater for colder months.

To the other side is carpet with a single bed, two comfortable chairs, ottoman, and reading lamp.

The queen bed is in a separate bedroom with a door that closes. The bedroom has two bedside tables with lamps, a heating pad on the bed (thank you!!), TWO pillows each (thank you!!), a large easily accessible closet with hangers, and a luggage rack (thank you!!). It is an easy space to unpack and spend an extended period of time or to place your belongings temporarily for a short stay.

The bathroom is large with a toilet separated from the main bath by a sliding pocket door, a sink with vanity, and modern shower. There are places to place your belongings on the vanity. The shower was newer and had lots of hot water and plenty of water pressure. And there was a separate rack for hand and bath towels - a little thing, but a nice thing.

Good quality towels and bedding were provided.

The kitchenette and bathroom were slightly outdated but the rest of the furnishings in the room were more modern than I would normally expect of a motel in this price range. Everything was clean and in excellent repair.

The main room and bedroom both have blackout curtains and so - with the bathroom door closed (to keep out the light from the bathroom windows), the entire room is dark enough for a comfortable sleep.

The construction is open timber, with high ceilings and visible rafters. The walls are cinder block. The high ceilings give the room an even more spacious feel than offered by the generous floor plan.

Outside in front is a covered patio with two chairs and small table.

The motel itself is just off a main road but situated perpendicular rather than parallel to the road - which cuts traffic noises significantly. Moreover, the cinder block construction dampens both outside noise and noise between units. It was very quiet; we heard the odd truck pass by if we listened closely but not otherwise.

The motel is a short drive to town centre where there are some nice places to eat (check out the Redoubt pub).

If I had to really niggle, I could complain that the faucets on the bathroom sink were not long enough to reach over the deep part of the sink and so were a bit awkward to use. But they were still useable. My only other request is to provide small bars of bath soap instead of (or in addition to) the provided bath gel; this is personal preference and not a complaint.

Indeed, this room is near-perfect for the price. Clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious, well furnished, and comfortable for overnight as well as multi-day stays. Great front office staff as well - friendly and welcoming.

This motel is excellent value for your hard-earned money. Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are very grateful when people take the time to comment on our motel and of course we love the positive comments.

However the advice of how we can do better is really appreciated as well. I thought everyone was into the modern shower gels, but there are still some of us who like the good old fashion cake of soap and I have now added them to the bathroom amenities. The fitting of new bathrooms in all the units is still on the bucket list and then we will have more modern taps.

I am very pleased that you had such a pleasant experience whilst staying with us and the unit suited your needs. If you visit us again, please ask for the newly upgraded unit which is even better than the one you stayed in and has a new bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Myself, husband and two girls stayed here for two nights to attend a family reunion in mid June. It has recently been redecorated and is clean and appealing (kitchenette still dated though). Staff were lovely and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend EXCEPT for the terrible shower. There is absolutely no water pressure at all. Was a challenge to get clean and washing hair was impossible.

Room Tip: If you can handle the shower situation and decide to stay here choose a room well back from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Your comments are always appreciated. The unit redecoration was only just completed and I was unaware that the shower was a problem until Jill mentioned it to me. I was mortified to think that she did not have a decent shower and I am truly sorry that she had this experience while staying with us. A plumber has since adjusted the water pressure and now everything is fine.
I note the comment about the dated kitchen and agree with Jill. That will be replaced with a modern one in the near future. I am working my way through the motel redecorating all the units to a higher standard so I can offer our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay - and will make sure that the showers are all working properly before the guests arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Rosetown motel in Te Awamutu for two nights to attend a friend's wedding. The motel was lovely and clean and Cheryl was very helpful and friendly. The room was a decent size and the bed was very comfy. There was some noise from the highway, as mentioned in other reviews, but it was minimal and we didn't notice it, also all the motels are located on the highway in this town from what I can tell so another would be no different. A nice, affordable, clean motel in a pretty little town.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Comfortable beds and an adequate bathroom. Free breakfast for Goldcard holders.
Noisy neighbours, road traffic and railway though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
19.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
276 reviews
20.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
584 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
194 reviews
16 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
12.4 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosetown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosetown Motel

Address: 844 Kihikihi Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Price Range: £69 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rosetown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing