We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay with helpful staff and clean tidy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosetown Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Awamutu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosetown Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good stay with helpful staff and clean tidy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stopped here enroute Waitomo - Auckland. Very adequate and reasonbaly priced and looking around the area is probably one of the best VFM motels to stay in. The rooms are pretty large and all the systems worked well inlcuding a small amount of free wifi.
Manager/Owner was very helpful and pointed us towards an excellent fish and chip shop close by.

All in all just what we expected and perfect for what we needed.

Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

As an ex Executive Housekeeper I have very high standards with the cleanliness of an accommodation provider. Rosetown Motel didn't disappoint and I have nothing but good things to say. From my reservation, check in, stay and check out the service was friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and the bedding of a very high quality. I will certainly be staying at Rosetown Motel during future visits to TA. Thanks to you and the HK team for the wonderful service you provide.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumblb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Cities, Wisc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice, friendly all around motel. Check-in was a breeze and the gentleman who checked us in was super friendly. There were 5 of us traveling so we had a 2 bedroom unit. Beds were super comfy, great pillows. Kitchen is bit dated but very functional and clean.

My only concern, the shower. We were traveling with my 75 year old mother-in-law. She declined to take a shower at the motel for two reasons. The step to get in and out of the shower was too high for her. Also, the shower had a metal bottom (stainless steel maybe?). When it got wet and then covered with soap, it was very slippery!! We did found a floor mat for the shower under the bathroom sink but it was old and icky looking, not something I wanted to put my feet on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolskaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review and bringing my attention to the bathmat and shower in your unit.

My sincere apologies for the inconvenience that your mother-in-law was subjected to. The bath mats don't get used very often and I hadn't noticed how old and dated they were. I am now replacing them all with new ones.

The showers do have quite a high step into them which can be difficult for older folk. I am working my way through the motel and redesigning the showers by dropping the step down to floor level so that they will be safer to use. The stainless steel base will be replaced with a white base which are now available, so we shouldn't have this problem again.

Once again, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at the Rosetown Motel on a Sunday in July because my flight was cancelled. They had 1 room available, and I took it. I checked in about 6:30 pm, and the staff were absolutely wonderful. They helped me with everything, and went above and beyond all expectations continuously! They helped me with my internet, even offering to let me use a personal computer when mine wasn't working. They also advised me on where I could get food sent in, as I did not have a vehicle. With their help, I managed to book another flight leaving Hamilton very early the next morning. They gave me numbers to call to book a shuttle or taxi to the airport, but when NOT ONE shuttle was available on such short notice, and the Taxi company was closed (as it was Sunday), the owner drove to the taxi driver's house to see if he'd be willing to take me. She said if he wasn't, then she would. Thanks to her, I had a restful night, and caught my flight out the next day. These people truly care about their customers!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was our pleasure to be able to assist you with your transport problems and I am so pleased that everything was resolved so that you could have a good nights sleep before continuing your journey.
Best regards
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My family and extended family stayed here and it was absolutely wonderful as was the rooms and the service we received. Prior to going to Te Awamutu I was in contact with Cheryl over our requirements as we had a family function in town and there were 6 family's that were coming from Auckland and Rotorua. Cheryl was great accommodated us all and even where one big family needed a double unit we were given the option of two rooms at a discounted price. When we got there we were welcomed by Cheryl's lovely sister and she made sure everything was ready for us. She told us to use the BBQ pull it out into the courtyard if we wanted and if we needed to swap dishes around from room to room we could do that and they would just put them back in the morning, she really made us feel like we were at home it was great!!!! Lovely stay wish it could of been for longer next time I'm in TA I will stay here again for sure and I would recommend this accommodation to anyone that wants to be in a home away from home LOVELY!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papspay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the Rosetown Motel and that my sister took good care of you whilst I was away. It is lovely to see families getting together and taking advantage of the facilities we have to offer as our aim is to provide that home away from home atmosphere where everyone can relax and have a good time. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

With the help of the owner of the Albert Park Motel we arrived at the Rosetown. We received a lovely welcome from Cheryl and felt at home straight away. The unit was very comfortable with everything we needed.Cheryl was also kind enough to book our next Motel, which was a great help. I can not recommend The Rosetown Motel too highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Jan it was so nice to see you when you arrived and I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction. It is always nice to meet new people and be able to provide them with a warm and friendly welcome and do everything we can to make the journey a pleasant experience. I hope you enjoyed the next motel and you had a great trip back home. Hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

After a long day driving this was a welcome stop. Very welcoming, helpful and obliging hostess (we needed a freezer and she let us use hers). The unit was very clean and had all the items needed to be self sufficient. Would be a great spot from which to base oneself while seeing the region

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that our motel met your expectations and we managed to keep your frozen goods in tact for another day. I hope they arrived home in perfect condition. It was fun chatting to you and comparing bucket lists - who knows, we may meet again on one of the journeys we plan to do. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
19.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
20.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ASURE Albert Park Motor Lodge
12.4 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
1.7 mi away
Cicada Motel
Cicada Motel
#6 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosetown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosetown Motel

Property: Rosetown Motel
Address: 844 Kihikihi Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing