We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities good; front of house appalling”

Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Awamutu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Ranked #7 of 7 Te Awamutu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here recently as part of a large group of visiting sportspeople. The individual units are comfortable, well equipped and the location close to amenities. The shared communal kitchen is small, with few implements i.e. pots, pans etc. The couple who manage this establishment could have had some lessons from Basil Fawlty as to how not to run a business of this nature. They were downright rude. Enough said. I am sure there are plenty of other places to stay in this charming area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank april f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

yes we did have 2 sport groups booked in ,but you were not booked in their group ,you were a supporter, privately booked in .
as we had other bookings three ladies had to vacate their motel the next morning.
But who came in that night with out permission to use our facilities ?
When asked to leave words were exchanged by both parties.
Our kitchen is plenty big enough for the size of our camp if only the cooks are in it not all the outsiders.
as a camp we do not supply pots and pans etc in our kitchen;.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed here twice, and this is the last time that we will ever stay at the Roadrunner. The first time we were greeted by the lady proprietor who barked orders to us on where our bikes were to be stored. One of the permanent residents was also less than welcoming and kept wandering past our unit muttering under his breath.

On the second visit, a three night stay (within two weeks of the first stay), the lady proprietor threatened to charge us extra for power usage because the ladies shower light was left on. This was done from a range of 20 meters by shouting to us. From there, her partner came past and instructed us on where our recyclables were to go. Again, this was very abrupt and coarsely delivered.

The next night was no better. There was a debate about light usage, recycling and noise. All about 8.30 at night. He would rummage through the bin and sort the bottles. He repeated this at 7.00 am. Some children (not ours) were watching a movie on a portable DVD player in the kitchen area and were kicked out because they had 'steamed the place up like a sauna'. They weren't making noise or up to mischief so we think that was inappropriate.

The toilet block while was generally clean, was warn and smelt of stale cigar type smoke. Shower handle was broken and had been for some time.

The cabin was basic. There was not a matching plate or cup in the cupboard. The dish wash liquid in our cabin was in a kids drink bottle and in our neighbours, was in a sauce bottle. Both of these could be confused for the what should have been in the original container.

We decided to check out and not stay the last night due to their gruff attitudes and as mentioned, we wont be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Darryll R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Road Runner website gives a very accurate description of the accommodation and amenities. A group of us stayed in both the motels and cabins for a few days recently and found them very comfortable, spotlessly clean, well equipped and quiet. Adjacent to the motel units are the cabins and camping ground which gives a feeling of spaciousness. Faye and Bill made us very welcome and were happy to assist us in any way. Te Awamutu is a great base to explore the Waikato area and there are the Waitomo Caves, the Maungatautari eco sanctuary, and some fabulous bush to explore in the area. I would happily recommend this motel and holiday park.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I had a kitchen cabin and it had everything I needed. Bathrooms were clean and kitchen clean and tidy. Grounds were being mowed while I arrived/nice and tidy setting. No complaints in relation to the amenities from me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZRelievingTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Awamutu hotels
0.4 mi away
ASURE Albert Park Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Rosetown Motel
Rosetown Motel
#1 of 2 in Te Awamutu
42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cicada Motel
Cicada Motel
#6 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astonleigh Villa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park

Address: 141 Bond Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Te Awamutu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing