We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matariki Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Te Awamutu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable room for the weekend”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Te Awamutu for a wedding and wanted a comfortable place not just to sleep but also get ready for the wedding. We stayed in the executive one bedroom suite and found it to be modern, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a good size and there was a lot of light in there, which makes putting on makeup an easier process. Shower had good pressure and temperature. Kitchen was well stocked with not just cups, plates and cutlery but also pots and pans so you can cook your own meals on the stove top. There is a TV in both the living room and the bedroom as well as Sky TV so no arguments if the men want to watch rugby on sky sports. You get free wifi in the rooms which was great.

Other wedding guests stayed there as well as the bride and groom on their wedding night and we all agreed it was a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amidme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
32
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed the week with a work colleague and we were certainly not disappointed. The fact that there were no vacancies all week is a testimony in itself.
The rooms have got to be the cleanest I've ever come across, well apportioned and very comfortable. The breakfasts ($18 cooked) were generous and delicious. Our hosts were pleasent and nothing was a problem, complimentary DVDs were available and Eddie the dog a delight.
Most resturants provide 'charge back ability' and I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We chose Te Awamutu simply beacause we hadn't been here before. Lovely place, people and the weather played its part. We were geeted warmly on arrival by Eddy the dog and closely followed by the motelier. Lovely room, awesome shower, beautifully clean and tidy.
We intend to recommend this to anyone coming to this lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent room and great location. Had a wedding at Rosenvale so was a good location just 10 mins down the road. Bed so roomy, rooms lovely and clean. Owners very accommodating. Would recommend this place to family and friends. Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whendy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

3 of us stayed here this week (Sun 23/3/14) on a business trip, in 3 rooms. I got the room with no windows. 14A. I think this place would be an easy 5star, but this one room....I had to sleep with the door open to get sufficient airflow. Also, the room is very small, it appears to be an after thought and I don't know if it would pass as legal to be honest. Also, the lights from the phone, alarm clock, tv/ dvd player and microwave create a disturbing constant light when you turn the lights off because of the small space. I had to cover all these lights with my clothes to get some decent sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 14A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl H, Owner at Matariki Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, but are disappointed you didn't speak to us while you were here. We are always willing to address issues our guests are having if they approach us.
This room is fitted with a heat-pump which has air conditioning and fan (no cooling) options along with hush features for quiet running. Using this would have made the room much more comfortable and eliminated the need to open the door for more airflow.
The room is one of two wheelchair access rooms approved by the Waipa DC only 9 months ago when we opened. In fact we have had wheelchair user guests stay in the room and comment that while compact, it was easy to move around and had a great bathroom. Also we have had guests request this room because it faces away from the road (making it quiet) and comment it is a nice dark room so they find it easy to sleep.
And as a clock, microwave, phone and TV are standard items for a motel room, I can only assume you find the LED lights a problem in every studio you stay in. And I agree they can be bright if you are not used to them, however turning all the appliances off at the wall would quickly resolve the problem and is commonly done by guests who dislike the extra light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Warm and friendly greeting upon arrival. Well appointed, spacious, clean, rooms with modern furnishings. Handy location. Great breakfast. Dedicated owners, that are more than accomodating. Would definately recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield Upper, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Well appointed motel, great price for the quality. Free wifi, clean. And the hosts were marvelous, they had a sudden overflow from hamilton (including us), and no problem to them they quickly got a few extra rooms ready. That shows a commitment to their customer. Top place to stay all around

Room Tip: Make this your number one choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
20.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
19.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
ASURE Albert Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
17.3 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matariki Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matariki Motor Lodge

Property: Matariki Motor Lodge
Address: 425 Kihikihi Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Te Awamutu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matariki Motor Lodge opened June 2013 and is just two minutes south of Te Awamutu’s town centre on SH3. All 14 ground floor units are self-contained with SKY Guest Select 50+, 32” flat screen TVs and DVD players; Alarm radio with IPOD dock; Kitchenette with double hob, microwave and fridge; Complementary tea/coffee; Heat pump/air conditioning; Double glazed. Including two wheelchair access units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Matariki Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing