We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 hour wait for food”
Review of Soprano

Soprano
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Paraparaumu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 hour wait for food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked table for 8pm - ordered antipasto which came in 15 mins then waited 1 hour and no mains. When we asked where the mains were (at 9:45) we were told there coming out now. A check with the chef revealed they were just starting to cook the meals. "We did our best" was the reply from the owner, as if it was my fault that I booked a table at eight when they had a large party. 'What else could I do I can't control everything" well....not taking a booking when you cannot fulfil it, explaining that there would be a delay in cooking the meals at around 8:30 when we could have made a choice to stay (or still gone somewhere else), put our order in before the large party, not making me feel like it was my fault that you could not serve us, I could go on but what would the point be. This was very disappointing - the food looked and smelt fantastic - pity we didn't get to taste it! Also agree with the other comment re the size of the wine measures - the tide was out! My advise to travellers is make sure it's not a busy night when you go, because apparently the food is very good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjd150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Short measures”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The place where was highly recommended and initially all looked good. However on ordering a glass of wine the tide was out, way out. Three sips and she was all gone. Come on guys, we're not a bunch of drunks frequenting a bar, but at least pour us a reasonable red to go with what was reasonable meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
461 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Old time singer”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Looking for nutrition after business, midweek in Paraparam, we found the Soprano, along with quite a few locals. There was nothing particularly bad about the meal at the Soprano, but not a lot endearing. The entrées and the whole meal for that matter was quite wholesome. While a few of the entrées looked a little “Italian” along with some pasta and there was even tiramisu for desert, but much of the rest of the menu is rather generic. The secundo was your NZ average chicken, duck and lamb. The generic approach carried over to the wine list which had a bottle of each varietal without much further elucidation. On discovery the wines did seem to be Italian and acceptable. The whole experience all hearkening back to a much earlier age.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“From Antipasti to Secondo it was delicious!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A small Italian restaurant in a seaside town. Ample free parking. Owner Annemarie is on hand to explain the menus if your Italian is not good. Her waiting staff are pleasant. Don't plan to eat and run as this restaurant requires you to sit and enjoy.Their meals are generous and it is hard to chose from an extensive menu and is delicious to the end. Although the dining area is small there is availability for the use of a larger dining room for groups. The decor is not necessarily Italian but it is comfortable. We have been to Sapranos in the past as a couple and with friends, our last visit being a family birthday. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ambience and high quality food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The need for a quiet dinner for two couples after a hectic afternoon led us to Soprano, tucked away from the waterfront at Paraparaumu. Arriving on time we were greeted and led to our reserved table at 7.15pm. The three female staff were all attentive to our needs and assisted as necessary with the menu.

We ordered our main courses and waited a lengthy time before the food arrived. Was it just slow service, or was everything freshly prepared and not "just heated up"? Clearly the delay in this busy restaurant was from the freshness of the cooking and the wait was well worth it. Our meals included a pasta dish, a fillet steak and two lamb rump meals. They were all to die for. The meat was cooked to perfection and accompanied by a delightful array of roasted vegetables. Both couples followed their mains by sharing a dessert, which was also of the highest quality.

Before the end of our meal, we were visited by the owner of the restaurant who sought feedback about our meal. The costs were very reasonable and the standard of the food more than exceeded our expectations.

Will we go again: most certainly. Soprano now rates as our favourite restaurant in the greater Wellington region.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soprano also viewed

Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast
Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast
 
Raumati Beach, Kapiti Coast
 

Been to Soprano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing