We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic hospitality”
Review of Ocean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic hospitality”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

From the moment I called for a room that night, the attention to anything I needed was offered without having to ask. A plate of fresh fruit was even brought to our room at no extra charge, while we felt comfortable and happy with everything we requested - the room was very tidy, clean, modern, and the heater was turned on before we arrived. Couldn't ask for more really. Also having a decent sized spa bath in the ensuite made it so relaxing and the room was self contained which was perfect. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grafi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
49
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here as an option to staying in city. Was very disappointed. While room was spotless, it was very small. The shower was outdated, with mould on the extrusions and ceiling. The owner was lovely and friendly. She brought an extra blanket and fruit on our arrival.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stay one night with friends in the two bedroom unit. What a wonderful greeting we received when we arrived and we hadn't even booked. We were asked if we would like to view the room to see if it was suitable. The room motel was very clean and tidy with a lovely little courtyard through the doors off the bedroom. The room was a little noisy (sounded like the neighbors heat pump, although we couldn't see one - must have been over the fence), was our only small complaint, but the wonderful owners certainly made up for that. Gave us great advise when enquiring about a meal out. Great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night after taking the ferry from Picton. The hotel is a short walk to the town center, convenient, clean, comfortable, and blessed with thoughtful hosts. We were tired after a long day and the manager offered to bring us hot dinners which were delicious full meals -- perfect for us.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this motel and we were very good. The room was clean and comfortable. The place is very quiet, close to the town center and shops near the beach. Little courtyard at the back of the room with table and chairs and free wifi. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We were so good that we stopped even on the way back. Recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzoc562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night before going into Wellington. On the way back from south island, we stayed here again.

Large rooms and very very quiet grounds. Hosts were exceptional and friendly. Rooms were spotless and kitchen was clean. Bathroom large.

Unfortunately, no view of Paraparaumu Beach but thats fine.

Room Tip: Rooms further into the driveway are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingGuy290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Chilled out here for three days before moving on to Wellington and South Island . The hosts , Mel and Thomas , were charming and really welcoming . We spent a very pleaseant sunny afternoon with them eating Korean food and drinking Australian wine . Lovely people ! The room was spacious and spotlessly clean . Highly recommended !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraparaumu
0.3 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfield Seaside Motel
Copperfield Seaside Motel
#6 of 7 in Paraparaumu
44 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Motel

Property: Ocean Motel
Address: 42 - 44 Ocean Road, Paraparaumu 5032, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2-minute walk from Paraparaumu Beach, Ocean Motel is the perfect spot for your Kapiti get-away. We provide free on-site parking and free Wi-Fi access. The heated guest rooms are fitted with electric blankets and a flat-screen TV. All units have a small kitchen area.Guests enjoy free use of the laundry machines, fax and photocopying. There is plenty of space available for parking of trailers, boats or trucks. We have extra parking for visitors in front of the motel. Motel Ocean is within a 2-minute drive of Paraparaumu Golf Club and Paraparaumu Airport. It is a 5-minute walk from Kapiti Island Tours and a 10-minute drive from Queen Elizabeth Park. Central Wellington is a 45-minute drive away. We can pick up guests from Paraparaumu railway station and Kapiti Airport to the motel with no charge (maximum 4 people). Please let us know if you require this service :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Motel Paraparaumu, New Zealand - Kapiti Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing