We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay, friendly hospitality”
Review of Greenmantle Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greenmantle Estate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Relaxing stay, friendly hospitality”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Greenmantle Estate and had a lovely time. Ralph and Letizia were very welcoming, showing us around the home and gardens upon arrival. They made us feel at ease all weekend and made a real effort to ensure we got the most out of our stay. We stayed in the beautiful Pohutakawa suite equiped with a king sized bed and all of the amenities you could want. A particular highlight of the stay was the secluded spa pool situated in the Nikau forest. Overall a fantastic stay that was over too soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
60
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After five years in the wedding industry utilising many lovely accomodation places in New Zealand, I have once again fallen newley in love with Greenmantle Luxury Lodge.
I have treated my wedding parties to accomodation at Greenmantle and the feedback has been overwhelming literally putting the icing on the cake to a fanstastic day.
Overwhelming response from my clients have been the warm hospitality of the hosts and Letizia's incredible breakfast - a great way to start married life!
Wedding Director
Jeanette Manson

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Mu wife and I recently stayed two evenings at the Greenmantle while on a golfing odyssey through New Zealand. The grounds, especially the garden and the nikau palm forest, were especially lovely, but the grandest surprise was the hospitality we were extended by Ralph and the lovely Letizia. We were welcomed with a tour of the grounds, followed by Letizia's lovely orange cake. We did not opt for the dinner option (my bad), but Ralph recommended and made reservations for us at two lovely nearby restaurants. The breakfasts were amazing, and we received our first introduction to menuka honey! We will look fondly on our time in New Zealand for years to come, and the Greenmantle and Letizia's orange cake will be two of the cherished memories!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I and my wife has just spent two wonderful and unforgettable days in this luxury lodge. The internet picture doesn't even begin to reflect its beauty. The rooms and public areas are beautifully appointed and filled with stunning antiques and flowers. The gardens and surrounding natural forest are breathtaking. At midnight we dipped in the hot tub which is located in the forest area. We enjoyed its complete privacy surrounded by majestic trees. The extraordinary high level of hospitality and cuisine is unmatched by anything we have ever experienced. Ralph and Letitia, our hosts could not have been more helpful. In summary a truly magical stay.

Professor Anthony Heymann
Tel Aviv
Israel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The grounds and lodge are lovely. Unfortunately if you are used to tranquility you will not get this here. It situated on a very busy State Highway One. I would suggest staying in one of the back suites as it was hard to sleep with the constant traffic in the Silver Birch Suite.

The hospitality was poor. We weren't even offered a glass of water on arrival or shown a bathroom we could use while we waited for our rooms that were not available at the agreed check in time. At one stage Ralph was extremely rude to our entire party and it ruined what was otherwise a very enjoyable day out on the coast.

It was an extremely lovely bed and breakfast in a grand manor but luxury

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo G, Director of Sales at Greenmantle Estate, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
After being in operation for a few years now. We have 3 negative reviews. All are from your party.

We thank you for the positive comments you did have, but I'd like to reiterate here for the third time.

Licensed lodges, hotels, restaurants are under compliance obligations when alcohol is consumed in a common lodge area like a sitting room rather than in one’s suite. There is the “responsible host” compliance that we naturally follow by us serving drinks along with food. Variation of this puts us in breach which none of us wants. This was explained later to the two senior people who understood. Not pleasant for any of us specially since nothing unkind was intended by any party.

We relish exceeding guests expectations – it is disappointing when we have to say ‘no’ because those are the rules that we thought were known. We will update our guest communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A lovely venue but very overpriced. This is a high-class B&B, not a luxury lodge. The service was substandard in two respects - extreme rudeness from the host, and a drawn-out and disorganised breakfast where the order one of the party had been forgotten. Some rooms are gorgeous, but others are quite ordinary. The interior was immaculately clean, but it was a very long time since the exteriors of the windows had been washed- many were covered in cobwebs.

The standard of hospitality and accommodation certainly doesn't match the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo G, Director of Sales at Greenmantle Estate, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
As I responded to your colleague "JMT_NZ" in the same suite....

Thank you for nice comments and we are also disappointed about the hospitality issue over a particular point. Lessons learnt by us – do not assume that guests are aware that licensed lodges, hotels, restaurants are under compliance obligations when alcohol is consumed in a common lodge area like a sitting room rather than in one’s suite. There is the “responsible host” compliance that we naturally follow by us serving drinks along with food. Variation of this puts us in breach which none of us wants. This was explained later to the two senior people who understood. Not pleasant for any of us specially since nothing unkind was intended by any party.

We relish exceeding guests expectations – it is disappointing when we have to say ‘no’ because those are the rules that we thought were known. We will update our guest communications.

We are sorry to hear you feel we are a high-class B&B. We are actually recognized by Qualmark as a New Zealand Luxury Lodge. More importantly our guests feel this is the same case too.

We had the regular spider control spray service the week before but we do not like using strong chemicals in the countryside. Plus our caretaker had done a regular wash down and brush the previous week. Insects are natural and part of the ecosystem luxury lodges are set amongst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Greenmantle Estate is a beautiful venue - the secret garden is tranquil, the nikau forest fantastic, and the rooms well equipped. I stayed in the Pohutakawa Room and the bathroom was 5 star. The spa pool set in the nikau forest was a treat for late night relaxation.

Unfortunately the take away from our stay was poor hospitality from the proprietor. The proprietor acted incredibly rudely at one point during our stay. He did later apologise but the damage was already done. If the hospitality could be improved this could be a great lodge.

Room Tip: Pohutakawa Room has a fantastic bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMT_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo G, Director of Sales at Greenmantle Estate, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for nice comments and we are also disappointed about the hospitality issue over a particular point. Lessons learnt by us – do not assume that guests are aware that licensed lodges, hotels, restaurants are under compliance obligations when alcohol is consumed in a common lodge area like a sitting room rather than in one’s suite.

There is the “responsible host” compliance that we naturally follow by us serving drinks along with food. Variations of this puts us in breach which none of us wants. This was explained later to the two senior people who understood. Not pleasant for any of us specially since nothing unkind was intended by any party.

We relish exceeding guests expectations – it is disappointing when we have to say ‘no’ because those are the rules that we thought were known. We will update our guest communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraparaumu
2.6 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
6.2 mi away
Vista del Sol
Vista del Sol
#1 of 2 in Te Horo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariki Lodge Motel
Ariki Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenmantle Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenmantle Estate

Property: Greenmantle Estate
Address: 214 Main Road North | Wellington, Paraparaumu 5036, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenmantle Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking to relax in luxurious surroundings for a few days, then look no further. Greenmantle Estate is the Capital city's coastal escape. We are on the Kapiti Coast, and are the only luxury lodge on the west coast of the lower North Island including Wellington city. High profile guests like Tiger Woods have enjoyed this spacious two storey lodge. It's set amid established gardens which have been lovingly tended for generations. Tuis, wood-pigeons and fantails abound in season.Greenmantle is beautifully appointed throughout with private suites that will envelope you in luxury. The pristine hot-tub in its natural bush setting will appeal. Fine dining and wining is a evening feature and you can choose what time you have your delectable multi-course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenmantle Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenmantle Estate Paraparaumu, New Zealand - Kapiti Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing