We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penny's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penny's Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Thornbury B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is a proof that you cannot believe webpages for a motel/ hotel. We had to go to a wedding in a little town nearby and wanted to stay close - so we booked it on the web ( there was nothing else in this town)....a big mistake. All for $99 Canadian....
Rooms were small and with shabby, dilapidated assortment of furniture, bathroom smelled like someone just had a ......., ceiling tiles were peeling off, walls were dirty, towels were beyond comment....the entire place looked as if someone picked up trash furniture in a dump and used it to furnish this place. I cannot fathom that someone would even rent this place for solid currency.
They did have wi-fi....if this is what you need.

Room Tip: do not book in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank42-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I went to Thornbury with my family and stayed in Penny Motel the room was very clean and the price was good the lady was very nice, we all enjoyed, if i go again to Thornbury sure i will stay in this motel, with this price this is the best motel in Thorbury.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

As a student I am trying to safe money, went with a couple of friends, the staff was friendly and nice, not to expensive. Room was nothing fancy but was clean and the tv, fridge and microwave was good, useful. Perfect location next to food land. Good place for people on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I booked 2 days in advance, and advised we would arrive between 7 & 8pm, arrived at 7:35 pm to a freezing cold room, the lady at the front desk went to the room with me to turn the heat on. It was -18C outside, and the room didn't feel much warmer. Took over an hour before I could take my coat off, and it was after midnight before it was comfortably warm.

I went to the front desk, to see if there was anything they could do and was basically told it was my own fault because I didn't call before I arrived. To which my reply was "I booked 2 days ago", but apparenlty customers are expected to call when they're getting close (I was told when I booked to call if I would be arriving after 11 as they aren't at the front desk after that). These people were too worried about saving a few dollars in hydro than keeping customers happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thornbury hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Yea, it's not great but there isn't much choice in Thornbury. Price was right, sheets were clean. Wouldn't spend more than a night but when pressed, it'll do. Spent a day in the rain on a motorcycle so it was good enough. Sure, I wouldn't have paid the last guy who painted the place, the tub needs to be re-enamelled and there could be a higher thread count on the sheets but it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udora
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Very basic accommodations, much like a 'rustic' cottage.

Pros: Friendly staff; inexpensive; Close to Thornbury; Internet; Fridge and microwave;

Cons: No reading lamp! Just the ceiling light near the door (but they did get a lamp from another room for me); Very poor lock on the door, not even a security chain; Not enough toilet paper; Curtains at the front window were not long enough to cover the opening, (I felt a little exposed!);

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan8244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
7.7 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
7.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
8.2 mi away
Meaford Motel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Royal Harbour Resort
Royal Harbour Resort
#1 of 5 in Thornbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Motel

Property: Penny's Motel
Address: 141 King St E, Thornbury, Blue Mountains, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains > Thornbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Penny's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penny's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny's Motel Thornbury, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing