We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Resort
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just a Getaway”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at RHR for 5 days and enjoyed ourselves. It was our 3rd visit. Our accommodation was clean, quite and relaxing.our bed was very comfortable We were disappointed with our 1st floor view of the bay which was obstructed. We also could of used better lighting to read in the evening. However I'm sure they would of given us another lamp if we had requested it. The resort is older but they continue to update as needed. The friendly staff was well appreciated.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed with friends for a few days leading up to and including New Years. It's a timeshare resort, we stayed in room 309. While the place is definitely on the tired side, the wonderful view of the harbour made up for it. And I think no matter which room you get, you are going to have this view. Lovely gas fireplace to warm up the living/dining/kitchen area, which was so nice to curl up in front of, given the snow that was coming down outside. Nice kitchen, although a little on the small side. Main bedroom only had a queen, the second bedroom had two twin beds side-by-side. Having two in there must have been an afterthought, because we couldn't close the bedroom door (!!) without turning the far night table to gain some space. Bathrooms were okay, and despite other comments about problems with hot water, we never experienced anything like that. No comments about the gym or pool, we never took advantage of either of them.

Room Tip: If you're on the 3rd floor, your view of the harbour will be the best. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The front desk staff were friendly, the area is quiet and the view of Georgian Bay spectacular, but it went downhill from there. We usually do B & Bs but landed here because everything else was booked up for Thanksgiving weekend. We were given a Studio and it was definitely not worth the $150 they charged. Maybe we just had bad luck but the mattresss was dirty, the walls and ceilings had major water stains. The vinyl curtains at the windows were ripped and there was black dust on the soap and shampoo bars in the bathroom. I had a beautiful view of the sunrise but only because I slept in the car. Thornbury is quaint - eat breakfast at Wild Orchids - that was decent for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The units are large by today's standards and the two bedroom unit also has two full bathrooms (one with tub/shower and one with stand up shower stall). The kitchen is well equipped and there is plenty of space for a family to spread out and relax - the separate areas give a sense of separate rooms. Every room has a view to the water. I believe each has a fireplace as well.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, blue boxes are provided for recycling and are emptied regularly. The grounds are well maintained and at the time we visited the siding on the building was being replaced with cedar.

Would love to visit in the summer when the water is more inviting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallerPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The view of georgian bay is incredibly tough to beat. Overlooking the royal harbour marina and with a north/north-east view the sunrises are incredible. On an upper floor I was able to leave the windows open and listen to the lake while falling to sleep. very relaxing.

Place is easy to date due to the construction style but so be it. The rooms were huge. In a two bedroom you could sleep 3 couples privately. The living room had two couches, two wing chairs, and a table with two chairs by the window. A breakfast table also by the window with a view of the bay is separated from a 6 person dining table by a well stocked kitchen.

A great place to stay and relax. Makes the perfect home base for day trips to Meaford, Blue Mountains, Collingwood, Clarksburg (go for the Honey House at 204 Marsh St.) etc.

easy 3 minute walk into the heart of the town of Thornbury. You get a 10% discount at Grill and Greens eatery, which I've also reviewed, with your room key. Don't forget to stop at the dam and watch the fish jumping upstream in the fish-way.

Pool, weight room, tennis court, deck with loungers and view of the bay.

Room Tip: They seem to all face the bay which is awesome. Get on on the third floor if you can handle the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We spent a few days with friends, who frequent this place. Quiet, clean, friendly, but a bit older resort. Our unit was a spacious studio, with a well stocked kitchen. Put a wall with a door up between the sitting area and the bed and you could call it a 1 bedroom. That's how big it was. The pool was nice, but the hot tub was not so much. The jets were barely working. We tend to look for that feature when we go to resorts and expect it to be working. Although the WiFi was free, you did have to go to the lobby or lounge to get the service. I wouldn't consider that a major issue though, since it wasn't ever busy in the lounge, when I was in there. Friendly front desk staff. I believe they make every effort to keep the resort in tip top shape, but it could use some updating for sure. We would return for another stay..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaCMamaC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My family and I stayed here for a March Break getaway. We stayed in a 2 bdrm 2 bathroom room. View was fantastic, the kitchen well equipped. I will say that this is a very dated resort.
The front desk staff seemed very friendly. We have little children who liked movie night as well as the pool, although some of the "older" locals appeared to not appreciate the added noise on their morning swim.
The resort itself was a 10 minute drive to Blue mountain which was fantastic!
My main concern was that we did not have ONE hot shower during our entire stay. I am not one to exaggerate or complain but it wasn't just a bit cold, our water was freezing. We tried showering at different points during the day but nothing seemed to help. 2 days after we checked in our rod broke in our coat closet so I called and also mentioned that we were having a problem with our hot water. The maintenance man came right away but said that we should better stagger our showers and that the water was taken from the bay and its cold so we shouldn't expect hot water. I should also mention that it probably didn't get any colder than 0 celcius! When we mentioned it to the front desk they said we could try showering in the pool facility showers. We did this for a few days as well as filling the tub with boiling water from the stove for the little kids! I should say that the day before we checked out we had enough! My husband especially was tired of showering with his swim trunks on in a public shower facility!
To top this nightmare off, our last night, before a 12 hour drive home, they booked 2 rooms below us with spring breakers!!!! They screamed and shouted, smoked and drank until the wee hours of the morning!!! We tried to call the front desk but no one was there!!!! When we tried to check out the next day we were told by a random local that no one would be at the front desk until 830! We had to leave our key with who we assumed to be an employee I found fixing the front door.
Needless to say, we will not be staying here again and would advise anyone who likes warm showers on a daily basis to stay away as well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MamaCMamaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
8.2 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
9.9 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
7.7 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
190 reviews
8.3 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
139 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meaford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Resort

Property: Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 1 Harbour St, Thornbury, Blue Mountains, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains > Thornbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Harbour Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Harbour is a popular and unique four season resort on the shores of Georgian Bay in the picturesque Beaver Valley region, only two hours north of Toronto. Royal Harbour has been a member-owned resort since 1995. Situated in Thornbury, in the Town of the Blue Mountains, Royal Harbour faces the beautiful clear blue waters of the bay. Our country setting offers fresh air, golf, beaches, ski hills, and numerous activities and events for each member of the family to enjoy all year round. Every two bedroom suite and studio efficiency unit overlooks the attractive harbour and a grand view of Georgian Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Resort Thornbury, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing