We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was magical!!!”

The Dam Pub Gastropub
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A popular family owned Gastropub set in the quaint village of Thornbury, Ontario. We are featured regularly on The Food Network's "You Gotta Eat Here!" Folks come for miles to enjoy Red Seal Chef Suzette Gerry's culinary delights, over 665 whiskies in Stephanie's Whisky Bar, and our impeccable service with seasoned waiters. All this nestled into our circa 1875 house with a welcoming and cozy ambience. Reservations highly recommended. YES when you see that little yellow airplane pulling a banner saying THEDAMPUB.CA-ALL DESSERTS HOMEMADE ...... that is us!
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It was magical!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It´s hard to find words for this experience... There is only one word that can describe the whole evening *** MAGICAL***. Everything tasted very well - especially the selection of the whiskeys was amazing! The barkeeper Bruce was THE man! He was very polite and very obliging. His passion for whiskeys was contagious. He absolutely did a great job!
There was a family atmosphere in the whole pub and we met several new people there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank People_of_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    103
    24
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Make a reservation NOW!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It's a gorgeous, sprawling white house at the top of the hill right in Thornbury. We waited just a few moments for the people to pull out and got a spot right in front. We were greeted and taken to our table in a small room with maybe five other tables along with the bar, behind which we could see a good number of the 703 scotches and whiskeys they have. The owner came over several times during the evening to explain various dishes, make suggestions, share some of her history, and answer questions. She was great, and totally appreciative of our enjoyment and feedback We started with the evening's cold soup: gazpacho without the jalapenos. Yum! We couldn't resist the special entrée: a fish stew with local whitefish, salmon, shrimp and mussels. And the most delicious broth ever! Full of dill and fishy sweetness, I was glad for the spoon to drink it up! As if that wasn't enough, we shared a special dessert of chocolate pate and a nip (each) of a 16 year old Islay scotch. she showed us how to smell and breath in and taste the scotch -- suggested just a tiny bit of water through a straw if we must -- and told us to take a sip, then a taste of chocolate... I am no Scotch drinker, but this was delicious! No trouble finishing the chocolate, but I did end up giving the last quarter or so of scotch to my much appreciative husband. It was a fantastic meal and evening!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamehla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must-Visit in Blue Mountain...Non-negotiable!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Dam Pub is without a doubt one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Suzette is an incredible chef whose food reflects the down-home style of her cooking, and her wonderfully welcoming personality. Her love, appreciation and talent for creating delicious food has very clearly been instilled in her from a very young age, and it shows in every delectable bite you take.

Stephanie Price was an absolute treat to deal with from the very moment I contacted her. Not only is she a total babe who knows her scotch better than any man I know, she values the importance of her role in the gastropub and it reflects in the unique atmosphere that she creates.

My sister is a huge fan of the Food Network Show, "You Gotta Eat Here", so when I saw The Dam Pub and their incredible looking (and tasting) lamb shank on the show, the reservation was a no-brainer. I booked us a whiskey tasting with Stephanie and dinner for her bachelorette party in December and despite the fact that we showed up in the middle of a snowstorm, all dressed as Disney Princesses, Stephanie and the gang welcomed us in with open arms...and a standing ovation!

The locals dining there were equally friendly and welcoming, snapping photos and congratulating the bride-to-be. All around, the food, service and atmosphere are unbeatable and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food + good service = good experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Traditional pub food in a quaint house. The food was great and the service was friendly and timely. The prices are on the higher end (by comparison with pub food in other places i have been) - but certainly not outrageous. The appetizers (cheese tray and wings) were a little on the sparse side - but the entrees and the desserts were outstanding. We were there on a hot day and the restaurant was quite warm. The staff made every effort to ensure that we were comfortable. Parking is tight - make reservations!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New favorite pub”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I accidentally stumbled upon this excellent establishment today after a blue mountain anniversary weekend and lucky for us we did!
Innis & Gunn on tap, a great plug humans lunch (with extra Branston pickle happily provided) and a true Sheppard pie with ground lamb.
Also the service was excellent as I've heard. Will be going back, and would recommend it to anyone who loves a true pub atmosphere where conversation and food is more important than a fast meal and TV. Well Doon! :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dam Pub Gastropub also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to The Dam Pub Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing