We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back”
Review of Lofty Fig Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lofty Fig Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I keep coming back”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Been traveling the Bahamas for 35 years and have stayed in many many facilities. Sid is unique in that he continues to complete new projects in his effort to provide a clean and comfortable lodging experience. Well located and convenient to several very good restaurants as well as our favorite bonefish guides. The best testimony is that we keep coming back. Have already booked two more trips to Lofty Fig

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandjcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
102
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have been traveling to Marsh Harbour for five years and have stayed in many resorts on the mainland. The Lofty Fig has become our favorite home away from home and we look no further when we visit. Sid, the owner, is one of the most accommodating hosts we have ever met. Each time we visit, he has upgraded his property in one way or another. One time its a new kitchen, another time its new flat screen televisions. A rarity in this market! While a car is a necessity on Abaco, the Lofty Fig is within walking distance to some of Abaco's nicest restaurants. Always an enjoyable stay.

Stephen and Sue

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
418 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

After 8 days on Great Guana Cay, Marsh Harbour seemed quite busy. The Lofty Fig Villas is well located as many reviewers have indicated. We spent 3 nights there and it would seem to be a great choice for transitioning to somewhere else. Sid and Melissa are both great hosts answering all of your questions and yet giving you your space. The villas are spacious, clean and comfortable. Maxwell’s supermarket is a 10 minute walk away. Albury Ferry to Great Guana Cay is across the street and the ferry to Hopetown is a 20 plus minute walk away. (Be sure to visit Hopetown for the day and rent a bicycle on Elbow Cay and cycle to Tahiti Beach. You can stop for lunch on the way there or back.) There are lots of good restaurants to try out near the Lofty Fig.
Lofty Fig Villas is on the market to be sold so get there before Sid leaves as he makes the place really special.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Stayed for one night. Nice facilities, right at the harbour, excellent bars and restaurants near by. Will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilFloPio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Sid was very helpful during our stay. Walk to ferries, resturants and boat docks.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardnergidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We have stayed a few years at The Lofty Fig enroute to Man-O-War Cay. When we fly into Marsh Harbor from Ohio, The Lofty Fig is a great place for us to stay going to and from Man-O-War, and sometimes we stay there both ways. It is a great spot, Sid is a very helpful owner, and the accomodations are terrific. We love the little villas, and the pool and the area around the pool is comfortable and accessible. The location is perfect, with some shopping and restaurants etc. within very close walking distance. We have even hired a birding guide who picked us up at The Lofty Fig and took us around the area to see the blue holes and the local birds. It is usually our first stop from the winter cold of February in Ohio, and we so look forward to sitting by the pool and/or walking to Curly Tails for dinner. It is a perfect place for us in Marsh Harbor! Convenient to the airport and to the Albury ferry to Man-O-War and a stop at the grocery store. Look forward to our stay there next year!
Laurel Ryan

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We loved this place. Perfect for relaxation, accessing town and ferries to all the local cays.

Sid and Melissa will put you at ease. They make the place very special indeed.

I would rather stay here than a five star hotel any day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squaxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
16.5 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
16.7 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofty Fig Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofty Fig Villas

Property: Lofty Fig Villas
Address: P.O. Box AB20437, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, the Lofty Fig has six spacious rooms situated around their private swimming pool. Each air-conditioned studio style room is comfortably furnished with a queen bed. There is a large eating and living area inside with a table and chairs, sofa and easy chair and a fully equipped kitchen with a pass through window to your private porch. Roll-away beds are available on request. All rooms have free WiFi internet access and a 32inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofty Fig Villas Hotel Marsh Harbour
Lofty Fig Villas Abaco Islands/Marsh Harbour, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing