We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly Hotel - Great for Charters”
Review of Lofty Fig Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lofty Fig Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel the night prior to departing on a boat charter from the Sunsail/Moorings dock in Marsh Harbour. The owner, Sid, is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near several good restaurants but the rooms also have a small kitchenette. It's about a 10 min walk from the new grocery store, Maxwell's. The facility is in excellent condition and is super clean. There is free WiFi and a pool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

The Loft Fig is a small resort with only 6 nice units in 3 pairs. It was very quiet. Sid the owner was there to great us when we arrived late for our 5 day stay. The room was large with a useful kitchen that did us for breakfast each day. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. The room is showing its age but everything works and is in good repair.

Sid is very knowledgeable, can provide tourist advice, and made taxi arrangements for us. This is a small resort, so when Sid leaves you are on your own.

The Fig is located near to everything that the tourists are interested in. 3 most popular restaurants are across the road. 2 dive shops are nearby. The Great Guana Cay ferry is across the road. The Hope Town ferry is a short walk. The grocery store is a 15 minute walk. Car rentals are a short walk.

We found this to be a great place to base our activities and would happily stay again if we were in the Abacos.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed in the Lofty fig Villas for 2 nights before we went on our sailing holiday.and thoroughly enjoyed it
In the past we have stayed in the Conch Inn, which can be noisy and unfriendly.
I would certainly recommed the Lofty Fig Villas to anyone going to Abaco. Sid (the owner) is very friendly and helpful, and the lady who cleans the rooms and the young man who looks after the grounds are as equally as friendly.
Next time we go back, it will certainly be to the Lofty Fig Villas

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed with Sid before and after our Moorings cruise. Sid is a very entertaining person. We stayed in two different rooms, and both were immaculately clean and well kept. The bathrooms and entry doors had recently been updated, and we enjoyed the pool that awaited right outside our door. We showed it to our captain and cook from the cruise, and they plan to have their relatives stay there, too. We'd recommend it to anyone, as it is very convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Brenda and I went sailing in the Bahamas. We found a wonderful place to stay at Marsh Harbor, Abaco. It's Lofty Fig Villas operated by Syd Dawes. Our one bedroom with A/C and kitchen was quaint, clean and comfortable. Coconut palms and hibiscus are on the grounds as well as a small pool with barbeque grills. It is centrally located on the marina waterfront and 3 miles from the airport. It is walking distance from snorkeling at Mermaid Reef and food shopping at Price Right. Syd provides excellent and friendly service. His staff is first rate. He'll call a taxi for you and knows all the best places to eat and sights to see. Definitely a must stay when we return to Abaco.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I had a great stay at the Lofty Fig. Sid the owner was very helpful and Melissa the cleaner was very friendly as well. The room was a good size and the kitchenette was used quite a bit. (We were at the end of a long holiday and got to the stage where we didn't want to go out to eat). We had a screened porch which looked over the pool. The free wireless internet access was a plus and one of the reasons that I booked this room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

At the beginning of a private sailing yacht charter vacation and not wanting to "miss the boat" we arrived in Abaco a few days early and booked a villa with "The Lofty Fig". It is centrally located, had a CLEAN POOL, NICE villa's and a great owner named Sid. This is a small cozy place that really makes you feel welcomed. It's not ultra modern but YOU'RE IN THE BAHAMAS! The villa we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, it even had a nice kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this clean and simple place. More about Sid, our Air conditioner acted up and I really don't remember what happened but I DO remember Sid said "don't worry, it WILL be fixed" We went and had dinner and when we returned the AC was working flawlessly. This was our 10th Wedding Anniversary and the trip of a lifetime. We plan to return within the next year. One more tip, there is a man that has a conch stand across the street. In the mornings he comes in his boat with fresh conch and makes conch salad. It is DELICIOUS! Now the conch IS raw and this may freak some people out as it did my Wife, so after I scarfed my salad down (and part of hers) I put the remainder of hers in the fridge and the next morning I invented CONCH SALAD OMLETES! Just throw it in a pan with scrambled eggs and WHALA!...Man I miss that place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nautical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
17.4 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
38 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
297 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
255 reviews
0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofty Fig Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofty Fig Villas

Address: P.O. Box AB20437, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range: £101 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, the Lofty Fig has six spacious rooms situated around their private swimming pool. Each air-conditioned studio style room is comfortably furnished with a queen bed. There is a large eating and living area inside with a table and chairs, sofa and easy chair and a fully equipped kitchen with a pass through window to your private porch. Roll-away beds are available on request. All rooms have free WiFi internet access and a 32inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofty Fig Villas Hotel Marsh Harbour
Lofty Fig Villas Abaco Islands/Marsh Harbour, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing