We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to Elbow Cay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

After hearing many great things about the Abacos, we decided to book a trip for my wife's 40th birthday. We read about Elbow Cay in one of the Coastal Living issues, and decided that was the place we wanted to visit. My wife and I and our 2 girls, 6 and 8, booked five nights a the Hope Town Harbour Lodge. We ended up in one of the pool side cabanas, which have two double beds - perfect for a family of four. The hotel was very quaint, it was built over 50 years ago - I believe. The rooms were descent and what I expected - comfortable and clean. The only complaint I had were we kept getting little ants in our bathroom. Also our hot water did not work the first day we were there, but it got fixed fairly quickly. The beach on the resort was fantastic with descent snorkeling right off the shore. We ate breakfast every morning facing the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. The pool was nice and clean and the pool bar made some great adult beverages. One of the best parts of the resort was the manager Tom. Tom was always willing to help and made you feel right at home.

I would recommend Hope Town Lodge to anyone visiting the Abacos. One thing to remember, this is not a 5 star resort (I don't think there are many in the Bahamas), but it had a lot of charm and well located. We did take a look at one of the beach front Cabanas. Those looked very nice. Roomy with a king size bed, small kitchenette, and double vanity. I think these rooms are adult only. I do think the Hope Town Lodge was over priced for what you get, but I think that is common in the Bahamas. While we were there they had a $99 rate for the rooms in the main building - that would have been more affordable.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Cabana's seemed very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank areyoutravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hope Town Harbour Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Sometimes in life you find something special and this was truly wonderful experience.. We stayed in one of the oceanfront cottages where nothing was spared to provides a super deluxe accommodation.. The grounds, pool and dinning facilities were first class and the dinning room was the best cuisine we have ever experienced in the Bahamas.. Having lived in the country for over 38 years we thought we had experienced the best but our dinning experiences were the very best.. For quality and price it was an outstanding value as well.. The Lodge's General Manager Tom Hazel always is seeing to his guests every needs.. The staff was most well mannered, attentive and always helpful when called upon.. For boaters, dockage is complementary for Lodge guests.. Our last comment , we cannot wait to return again to this little touch of Paradise on quaint Elbow Cay, Abaco..
JHDennis and KCBurrows, Nassau, Bahamas

Room Tip: Ocean front cottages are the tops...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bahamastradewinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had never been to The Abaco Islands and went for a wedding that was being held at the hotel. When we arrived, our room was not ready so we went to the pool bar for a light lunch and drink. Five minutes after we sat down, we felt like we were friends with the bartender and the people at the desk were the same way. The location is perfect to walk to other restaurants and to rent a boat to explore other islands. From our room # 12, we could see the ocean from the back balcony and the harbour from the front. The hotel did an amazing job with the wedding reception which was around the pool. I have been telling everyone I know that they need to make this their next vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aturner1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This was our first trip to the Abacos. Flew from West Palm Beach on a gorgeous Friday afternoon...what a short, easy flight! Within minutes of takeoff we could already see the crystal clear waters & shimmering edges of white sandy beaches...unbelievably close.

Arrived in Marsh Harbour, cab to Dock, ferry to lodge dock--easy, easy, friendly greetings from everyone. They met us at the dock, promptly took our luggage & we walked up the stairs to the Lodge. Lovely layout & style of the lodge. Really nice touches that really bring it up a few notches, i.e. Tommy Bahama style furniture on the peaceful veranda overlooking the harbour with a trickling fountain in the background....lovely flowers & landscaping around, nicely maintained, pretty gazebo with adirondack chairs, nice quiet spaces. Pool is quite nice too with its Tiki bar, but I wish it stayed open later than 6pm...There were tons of options as to where to hang out....beach, pool, decks, veranda. the beach was gorgeouse & private...often only 1 or 2 people on it as far as you could see & you could walk quite far.

Ate dinner in the restaurant & it had the best atmosphere of anywhere on the island. Ray's was a nice bar scene for a pre-meal glass of wine.

The ONLY disappointment was that we had a regular lodge room & it was very musty & the a/c blew directly on the bed which made it very difficult to sleep. Every piece of our clothing & everything we had with us (even our cell phones!) reek of musty odor. We had basically no view. I would recommend upgrading to a cottage or cabana or at least a lodge room with a view maybe...Noise from above room would have been a problem but either the room was vacant or they were extremely quiet...

we rented a boat for 2 days & they picked us up at the Lodge's dock & we were able to keep our rental boat there without any issues. Boating was awesome & I think a trip to the Abacos would not be complete without having the use of a boat.

All in all, I highly recommend the Hopetown Harbour Lodge--just pick an upgraded room...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This is our second trip out to Hope Town Harbour Lodge. We wanted to give my brother-in-law and his fiance a wedding gift of a trip, and, after considering a number of options, could not think of a better place to take them. Not only the resort staff, but everyone on the Islands, is very friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful and accessible, with great reef snorkeling. The pool is gorgeous with blue tile and well maintained. The food at the Lodge restaurant is fantastic. Prices are a little high on the island, but I felt it was worth every penny. You can save some by shopping at the local grocery store and preparing some meals at the hotel. We stayed in the Butterfly House, which had a complete kitchen, but have stayed at one of the ocean front cottages on our previous visit (those have kitchenettes-no stove or oven). If it was just my husband and I, I would prefer the cottage, but the Butterfly House kept us close with our other family members.

Tom, the General Manager, was always at the ready to assist in anything we needed or to answer any questions we had. This is a place to get away from it all, so if you're expecting a "business center", tv's, and high speed internet, find another destination. Paradise should be kept without distractions.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My wife and I recently stayed in one of the ocean front cottages at the lodge. This is a great place to stay when visiting Hope Town and Elbow Cay. Tom Hazel, the manager, makes you feel welcome and at ease. Tom's dog, Blue, greets you poolside every morning to grab a complimentary cup of coffee to start the day. Gary, bartender at the ocean front Reef Bar, makes great drinks and entertaining conversation. We dined several nights in the Lodge's dining room and think it the best food and pleasant service in Hope Town. A nightcap at Ray's bar is a nice way to end the day.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway on a beautiful beach, you can't go wrong staying at the Lodge or in one of the cottages.

Hope Town Harbour Lodge and Elbow Cay are the Bahamas the way they were meant to be.

Room Tip: Ocean front cottages are the way to go.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We had never been to the caribians before this. Before the trip we reserched mainly TripAdvisor to find a quiet place with sun, clean beaches and of course comfortable hotel. It was for us a breath taking experience to enter the hotel and check the backyard with miles of white beach. Tom Hazel tries really hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible, excellent dedication.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Town
5.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
36 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
254 reviews
13.0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
22.2 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Address: Queen Street, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price Range: £86 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quaint, essentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing