We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hope Town Inn & Marina(Hope Town)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina(Marsh Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$464
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahama Beach Club(Treasure Cay)
US$335
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$485/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Turtle Club & Marina(Green Turtle Cay)
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
227
71
12
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
71
12
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontharbour lodgereef barelbow caydining roombeautiful beachevery morningshops and restaurantsferry dockfood was greatgolf cartthe general managermain buildingfew stepsbeach sideoceanfront cottagefamily and friends
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We just spent a terrific 6 days at the Hope Town Harbor Lodge. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with plenty of storage space for clothes. The setting is beautiful, whether you are overlooking the picturesque harbor or light blue seaside. If you like to snorkel there is a very active reef off the Lodge beach. We spent hours enjoying the fish life. The little settlement town is in walking distance of the Lodge, and offers a variety of gift shops and restaurants. The Lodge restaurant and beach veranda offered excellent food. And the staff, guided by Tom the manager, were the Best! Going back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxwoman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a truly beautiful island, Elbow Cay...but the lodge is old, no TV, no cell service and very expensive food. There are primarily boaters in this fabulous vacation spot, but on land, the place is swarming with mosquitos. The beaches are wonderful including a friendly dolphin, but there are few luxuries on land. It is a pet friendly place, in fact the manager has two dogs which he lets bark in the evening. The biggest secret is the amount of prejudice on the cays. Man-o-War Cay does not allow non-white residents. That is as blunt as I can make it. I am not kidding, they are living in the 1700s in this part of the Bahamas. You won't find this information in any of the advertising or tourist information.

Room Tip: Get a cabin facing the ocean, if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Anne M,

First of all - thank you for being our guest here at The Hope Town Harbour Lodge - your business is appreciated. We certainly agree that this is truly one of the more beautiful places in the world and definitely a "fabulous vacation spot." We are also glad you got to meet the dolphin "Opie" who has been gracing us with his presence while fishing in the beautiful reefs just off our beach. We hope he stays around for a while!

Yes - the Lodge is an old historic gem - the original building was built in 1964 but that's quite new for Hope Town. This quintessential island village is 265 years old! Our beach front cottages are just a few years old and as a part of a new group of owners (as of June 15th) we are excited to have the opportunity to gently update this iconic property.

We are surprised you had no cell service as there is 3G and 4G cellular service in Hope Town and throughout The Bahamas. TV's however will never be a part of our experience - we would much rather you be on the beach with the dolphins! If you must have your fix - our neighbors at Harbour Edge restaurant have all of the television you can want.

Mosquitoes are not typically a part of the Hope Town experience this time of year - but the weather has unusually provided more than double the normal amount of rainfall this year. It is the tropics and this part of the ecosystem is something we are considering spraying for - but along with the Hope Town and Elbow Cay community we are very concerned about the impact of such a task on the birdlife and other wildlife here and will plan our efforts accordingly. Our personal experience has only really been affected around dusk and very early morning and heading into Ray's Place for a cool mojito has done the trick for many!

The most challenging part of your review is about Man-0-War Cay (a cay just to the north of Elbow Cay). Diversity is a major component of The Bahamas culture as residents and guests alike of every color and creed live, visit and do business in The Abacos every day. Your statement about not being "allowed" somewhere is incorrect. History has given many examples of prejudicial challenge the world over, even in the U.S. - but those days are gone in The Bahamas.

Again - we thank you for being our guests and would be honored to have you back again for another visit to Hope Town. Please let us know how we can help make that happen.

From all of the Team at Hope Town Harbour Lodge - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I traveled to this small island for one of the most enjoyable vacations ever. We rented a beach cabana and the view was second to none. The staff at Hope Town Lodge are some of the nicest and helpful people we have encountered. This really is a fantastic spot. If you are looking for deluxe accomodations this is probably not the spot. If you are looking for charming, relaxing and just off the beaten path this is your spot. We absolutley loved it and are already planning a trip back with our kids. This was even nicer than the pictures show.

The staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of.

Room Tip: Beach cabanas are great if you are looking for a bit more privacy, however, the rooms looked like they would be great as well.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indiana1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We recently spent 10 days over Christmas at Hope Town Harbour Lodge. We stayed in one of the ocean view suites with our 1 year old, and both sets of grandparents were in the same lodges. The food was great, the accommodations were lovely. Being right on the beach was the only way to go. Tom, the manager, was incredibly accommodating, and even made sure we all got our luggage on xmas eve (it didn't arrive with us from Miami via american airlines). Our son loved his dog, Blue. Every morning we woke up with the sun, and tom had coffee ready on the bar. The restaurants on the island were more than adequate and the scenery is lovely. Even as well-travelled people, we would stay here again, and it was my in-law's second trip to the lodge. We highly recommend it for the surroundings and the service. There's also a company on the island called "tiny Travellers" that rent out kid supplies ie. high chairs, strollers, for a very reasonable price. The only thing we brought with us was an ergo sling, as the resort supplied a pack-and-play for our toddler to sleep in.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

If you want something different...this is a great place to go. Not a huge modern resort...just a really cute older collection of authentic Bahamian buildings with some modern private cottages right on the beach! Extremely well run by a Prince of a man Tom Haziel, and his excellent staff. Relatively easy to get to, but far off the usual beaten path. Hope Town shops and restaurants easily walkable, and the most beautiful, uncrowded beach right out front. My avatar (picture) was taken right there. Incredible location, nice pool, great food...this place is elegant yet rustic at the same time, and definitely not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews