We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope Town Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Certificate of Excellence
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hope Town Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very well run lodge. No umbrellas for shade and no beach chairs, but exceptional town and friendly service. Sandy had damaged beach, but fine at lower tide and also a big beach nearby. Excellent for walking. Snorkeling only so so if you do a lot of it. Nice restaurant nearby.Not cheap restaurants, but good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    59
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
55
121
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sharbot lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

returned to Hopetown after a 15 year absence, this time staying at Hope Town Lodge which we recalled from previous trips when we rented a cottage. did not disappoint in any way from the moment we arrived. Hopetown is as charming as ever and our third floor room in the lodge was perfect and spotless . Walked on the beach forever without seeing a soul, swam in the pool and watched sunrise from one balcony and sunset from another. Fernande had coffee ready early in the morning at the Reef Bar which is excellent for breakfast and our meals in the dining room were also excellent. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Are planning a longer stay next year.

Room Tip: Room 11 or 12 in lodge highly recommended (most economical)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Hopetown Lodge. Our oceanfront cottage is perfect -and the staff is wonderful. There was a question as to whether we could keep our reservation due to a health issue, and the office management was WONDERFUL about working with us to make our trip happen. Natasha worked with us in a very kind and caring way which is greatly appreciated. The housekeeping is excellent and service is prompt and caring.

We highly recommend this lodge - lovely accompdations, great location, beautiful beach and pool, and caring staff.

Room Tip: They all seem good, however, we like the oceanfront cottage. It is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolanddavid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My First experience at the Hope Town Lodge was magnificent !!! The hospitality and service was unbelievable everyone there was like one Big Family .. Latina was a Very good hostess . The Breakfast was mouth watering ... The Banana Banana French toast was my favorite dish . The view of the Beach was so delightful!!!!! I walked bare feet with my toes wiggling in the sand . The Rooms are very cozy ,comfortable and private. Overall I Give Hope Town Harbor lodge five-stars . I recommend them to anyone planning a trip heading over to Hope Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthnieStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Nyack NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

After many years of searching the Carribean and Bahamas Out Islands for our yearly winter vacation retreat, we feel we found the ideal "get away from it all" at the Hope Town Harbour Lodge. The lodge and cottages are located on a miles long beautiful, secluded, fine sand, Atlantic beach. The mild surf by the lodge is perfect for swimming and snorkling. The lodge is located within a 5 minute walk to the charming, timewarped village of Hopetown.The resort has a dock where you can keep your rented boat in the harbour for exploration of the turquoise waters of the Sea of Abaco and it's remote keys, restaurants and communities. One can also rent a golf cart and explore beautiful Elbow Key. If you enjoy seafood, you will love their restaurant with a Bahamian flair. All of our family and friends to whom we've reccommended the Lodge, have loved it as well and have returned.

Room Tip: Best accomodations are in the 3 oceanfront cottages. A bit more costly than the lodge rooms but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenUpperNyackNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

THE LODGE:

Just returned from six days--with an extra day thanks to a snowstorm in the Northeast. The lodge perfectly mixes the comforts of a great location (on a remote yet not inaccessible island, in a quiet and charming town and on a beautiful beach) with cozy rooms and great food. Due to my travel plan change, I stayed in two lodge rooms (which are the cheapest) #10 on the third floor facing the ocean, and #5, a harbor-facing second floor room. They both seemed fresh and had nice new bathrooms with a patio. The views of the water are nice though more obstructed by foliage the lower you go. There was air conditioning but it was breezy the entire time I was there, with temps in the upper 70s during the day 60s at night, so I just slept with the fresh air.

Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach was delicious, with the usual egg choices and some tasty varieties of french toast and eggs benedict as well as a Bahamian specialty called Chicken Souse, which was unusual and worth a try.

The service overall was good, with a few outstanding folks, including Candace at the front desk and the wait staff in both restaurants, who went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. The manager, Mike Hartman, is well suited for the job, is welcoming and interesting to talk to.

I recommend asking if they have any special packages, as I received one which included breakfast and a snorkel trip which really gave added value for the dollar.



ELBOW CAY/HOPE TOWN:

To give a little background on what I look for in an island: As far as islands that are in easy reach of the Northeast, Bermuda is my all-round gold standard, with St. Barths and St. John good follow-ups. I look for great coral-island beaches which are not only visually appealing but good for swimming; great food; a little exploration/physical activity available; and a genuine and pretty environment (manmade and geographic) with a minimal amount of poverty.

Elbow Cay ("key") fits these requirements quite well. It's a very small place, only six miles long, but has a good number of quality restaurants, including those at the lodge, and several excellent beaches with that wonderful fine white Bahamian sand with flecks of pink coral and water in gorgeous aqua-marine shades. The "settlement" of Hope Town just oozes charm, with New England architecture--some original, beautifully preserved, and some new but in the same character--and an active waterfront with the ferry docks, yachts and their dinghies, and an occasional freight boat. Anchoring its backdrop is the pretty, striped lighthouse which itself is open for a climb for an outstanding view at not charge. There's a cute little museum with island history housed in an old house in town, good for an hour so on a rainy day, shops and at least one art gallery.

While many folks rent golf carts to get around and explore, at my request, the hotel set me up with Sun Dried Tees for a beach-bike rental. It had only one speed and there are gently rolling hills, but I found it sufficient and reverted to my stand-on-the-pedals method from growing up for the steepest climbs. I did the whole island in a day, first to the north, exploring the winding dirt road (being careful on the rocky/sandy parts), past pretty bays and docks, before returning to town and exploring the southern tip via the well-paved main road, all the way to the tip where Tahiti Beach is. This latter beach is worth the trek for the view, sunning, and wandering in the shallows for some pics, though I wouldn't come here to swim as the water doesn't get deep here.

The hotel also arranged an excellent half-day snorkel/dive trip, leaving directly from the dock and going to a national preserve. The boat ride was scenic, and I saw beautiful coral, a sting ray, barracuda, parrot fish, and many brightly colored tropical fish, all in very clear water. Mike the tour operator, provided me a complimentary wet suit, and was friendly, seeming genuinely interested in making sure I enjoyed myself.

At my request, the hotel arranged for a kayak rental from Abaco Eco Tours, which was promptly provided for me right near the hotel's own dock. The kayak was good, but it was windy, so I just explored inside the harbor and its creeks--a great way to spend part of a morning.

If I had more time, I might have taken Froggie's Out Island Adventure's day trip, which included a snorkel stop and a visit to other cays which I was interested in visiting, Guana and Man 'O War. My sense is Elbow Cay is the place to stay, as there's a more available here in the way of the town/restaurants, but it would've been fun to check them out nonetheless.

The beach behind the hotel is a little eaten away by Hurricane Sandy, I believe, but is still enjoyable and pretty and goes a long way to the south. However, I might slightly prefer the beach behind the main part of town (starting behind the white and yellow Methodist church) overall. This is only a five-minute walk from the lodge.


Food:

I ate all the breakfasts at the lodge, as they were included in my package. Coffee was good as was the breakfast and the setting on the shaded patio overlooking the beach. I also had at least three dinners in the main dining room, which were all very good. Prices, as I remember, were from the mid-teens for crabmeat mac-n-cheese to thirty-ish for rack of lamb--all delicious.
I also tried Firefly, down the road and overlooking the Sea of Abaco, which was outstanding. My waitress there encouraged me to try a burger (I was thinking one of the more proper dinners) and I was blown away. I chose the Italian burger (again not something I'd normally try), which had roasted red peppers, smoked mozzarella, mushroom, arugula and pesto mayo on a tomato fococcia roll. One of my best-ever burgers! I was too full for dessert, so I returned for lunch, mostly to try the tiramisu, which was also very good.
Once I stopped by the lime-green Starbucks-styled coffee shop in town, where they roast their own beans and have tasty-looking treats. I had an iced cafe mocha one afternoon, which was very good.
Lastly, I ate at Harbour's Edge. Their locally-caught mah-mahi was perfectly cooked, nicely seasoned, and served with mango-pineapple relish.
The restaurants out of town will pick you up from your lodging if you call them, at no charge, though I tipped the driver. The Hope Town Marina is across the harbor and provides a free shuttle (I'm told the ferry will also) if you want to eat there, which I did before visiting the lighthouse. There's no way to access this area by land.

At any rate, I would rank Elbow Cay well and recommend it for those seeking a charming, safe island with peace, quiet and great beaches. I visited in February, and to my surprise it was not crowded, almost sleepy, though I understand from March through July it gets much busier. It's not cheap but probably less expensive than Bermuda or St. Barths. The fact that it's remote helps it keep its charm but also means it takes a little more effort to get to. I've been to Spanish Wells, Harbour Island and mainland Eleuthera, the last of which I found beautiful but kind of desolate and poverty-stricken. It compares favorably with Harbour Island but has more substance to it as it's about twice the size. Don't go here for a lot of nightlife. The real draw is Out-Island Bahamian charm and relaxation.

The preferable route to Elbow Cay, if not coming by yacht, is through Nassau or Florida to Marsh Harbour, the main town nearby from where you'll catch the ferry across the Sea of Abaco. I flew with United from Newark, NJ, to West Palm, where I spent the weekend for a seminar, and then took the hour flight from West Palm to Marsh Harbour. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: Higher floors in the lodge have better views but I think all are in good shape and are inviting with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew_WNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in one of the beach cottages and couldn't ask for a better time. The staff, the grounds, the beach, the Harbor front are all out of this world. There is so much to do at the Lodge and Hopetown, or do nothing at all..it's all good either way!

Room Tip: Loved the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Town
5.8 mi away
Abaco Club on Winding Bay
Abaco Club on Winding Bay
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
22.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
13.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#3 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
22.3 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Property: Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Address: Queen Street, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quaint, essentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing