We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopetown Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hopetown Lodge”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A quiet lodge with plenty of character and helpful cheerful staff. We were looking to snorkel and found that they had a reef right in front of the hotel. No TV in the rooms so you could really get away from it all. Connection to Marsh Harbour via Albury ferries was great, as was the Bahamaair flight from Marsh Harbour to Nassau.Excellent restuarant and 'reef bar'. Hiring a boat couldn't be easier, Island Marine delivered one right to the jetty in front of the Hotel and gave us good charts and advice about the cruising area.
J le V

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRV208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    64
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
61
132
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I hadn't been in Hope Town in 30+ yrs. so I wasn't sure what to expect. However my wife and I enjoyed a fantastic week at the HTHL staying in "Coco Plum". The HTHL is conveniently located to town (shops, restaurants etc.) and is easily accessible to both the harbor yet it overlooks a beautiful beach on the "ocean" side. We enjoyed the snorkeling on the reef and were regulars at the Reef Bar every afternoon with Gary, the best bartender in Hope Town! Our meals at the HTHL were all excellent, we enjoyed the Sunday breakfast buffet, prime rib Monday and the wednesday night BBQ. We will be back again!
Bahamas advice "Bring less clothes and more money":)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central n.j.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here during our normal spring break week. We didn't know what to expect as we usually either go to Florida or St Johns and Elbow Key seemed quite remote. Were we surprised as the Hope Town Lodge beat them all. The people on the island and at the lodge were very friendly and helpful .One reviewer indicated that the prices are higher than the rest of the world . However we can't go to the rest of the world on a short break. but compared to local options,this island has friendly people compared to the Virgin Islands and the lodge is far superior to the run down facility we paid more money for in Siesta Key Fla last year We plan to stay here next year and hope we can extend it for a full week.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arayCentralN_j_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Hope Town Harbour Lodge. They have a great reef for snorkeling just 10 meters off the beach. The rooms were clean and most importantly had great air con! A nice touch was that each room comes with a small cooler box that you can fill with ice at the bar and then take it on your exploring trips around Hope Town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was visiting this location strictly for the highly recommended fish sandwich .
Know that if you stop in during certain hours you will receive bar food and nothing else .
Disappointed for such a pretty location .

The beach was beautiful , perhaps the nicest I had seen .
But , unable to get much besides fried apps., I looked elsewhere for lunch :(

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephinaSwims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a difficult review to write; where do I draw my comparison, the Caribbean or the world? For the Caribbean it is good value, but in comparison to the rest of the world it is wildly overpriced and second rate.

The island is of course very close to the US so is naturally populated almost exclusively with American tourists.

The hotel is very picturesque and right on the beach and there is probably nowhere better to stay in Hope Town.

The view of the open air restaurant overlooking the beach is fabulous, however the service was pretty slow, the breakfast very very ordinary and generally the food average. There is also a bar here where sports enthusiasts drink beer and loudly yell 'yeah' in a manly way when a skater hits a black object with a stick into a goal. I found this unwelcome and incongruous with the surroundings. I don't travel to a tropical island to watch ice hockey; obviously I am in the minority though here.

Every one expects a tip of 20% even though the service is very slow and poor, for example my daughter spilt her cornflakes at breakfast and I decided to leave them there as a test, they were still there 2 hours later, even thought there were three waitresses and no one sitting.

One night we made the mistake of trying some cocktails in the main bar which is also very picturesque (the key word for this island and hotel), they were undrinkable and very expensive.

We are a family of four and had a poolside cabana, which was just big enough and pretty basic. The beach cabanas did look lovely though.

We stayed for a week which was enough and we did enjoy ourselves and had a happy time, however all the time at the back of my wife and my minds was, how much better and better value it is in other parts of the world.

All comparisons are dependent on experience so if had not been lucky enough to visit South East Asia many times then I suppose I might think better of the place; but i have been lucky enough.

Everyone is perfectly polite and at times efficent but I got the feeling of insincere 'bonhomie' . Once again the hotel is very picturesque as is Hope Town

Hiring a golf cart is a must.

In summary it is NOT paradise on earth as some reviews would have you believe, it is perfectly OK and good value if you are in the Caribbean. If you want beautiful surroundings then you will find it here, if you want great service and fantastic food for the same amount of money....go elsewhere in the world.

Finally I think that this is the best place and value in Hope Town

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCRatcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in a rental home the first time we were here and then at the lodge the second time. Breakfast every morning on the deck, lunch and dinner wherever we found ourselves. They have a great beach, they're on the edge of the wonderful town. The pool is small but refreshing.

It's truly wonderful. You won't go wrong.

Room Tip: the cabins are nice and separate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Town
5.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
34 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
246 reviews
13.0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
22.2 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Property: Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Address: Queen Street, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quaint, essentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing