We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, a bit pricey”

Restaurante Los Caballeros
Reserve with
Restaurante Los Caballeros is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit pricey”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Ideally located in the center of San Domingo this restaurant offers a great expérience of spanish cuisine. Excellent fish preparation (the cod)
The desserts are more average
As for the wine, this is the place to enjoy the excellence of Rioja wines: a real treat (go for at least 5 years old in red)
Superbe service and welcome
A bit over priced (40 € per person for one main dish, one dessert + half a bottle of wine & water)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    138
    25
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good meal. Friendly service.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the Parador in Santo Domingo de la Calzada for two nights in July. We decided to eat here the first night and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and well presented and the service was friendly. We would recommend this restaurant without reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenNDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on my Camino”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Myself and my friend ate here on the evening we arrived in town. The restaurant had been recommended by a fellow pilgrim we'd met on our trip. Also it was only a 100 meters away from the Albergue, so we hadn't to walk any unnecessary distance after an already tiring day. The food was excellent and ambiance added to the experience. I had the steak and my friend the suckling pig dish. Wine was Roja red of course and this further added to an already good experience. My desert was a Chocolate pudding, delicious and my friend had the house special which was flan with walnuts. Because the deserts were so nice we shared these. Our spanish waitress spoke really good English, so that helped us no end, despite my 7 years of spanish holidays my grasp of the language has not improved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attadale, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best Dinner In Spain (So Far)”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Being tired of "included" dinners and the "pilgrim" menu, we thought we would try a more upmarket looking restaurant.

After looking at what was on offer, we selected Los Caballeros.

We were impressed.

All aspects, service, presentation, food quality and quantity were great.

The "foie gras" and the "white beans in sauce" are recommended as is the "Grandpa's Pudding". Unfortunately, the cod, which was their specialty was not as good as the rest of the offerings.

The wine selection, which the waitress helped us with, Rioja of course, red of course, a tempranillo, was great.

Unfortunately prices were high and we even got charged for bread.

If in Santo Domingo again, we would visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salies-de-Bearn, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Went here for a friends birthday. We had a superb meal with great service and at a reasonable price given the quality of wine ordered.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Los Caballeros also viewed

Santo Domingo de la Calzada, La Rioja
Santo Domingo de la Calzada, La Rioja
 
Santo Domingo de la Calzada, La Rioja
Santo Domingo de la Calzada, La Rioja
 

Been to Restaurante Los Caballeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing