We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
308
361
109
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
361
109
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingoold townbell towerhistoric buildingoverlooking the squarethe underground car parksmall towncomfortable bedroomlovely hotelstandard roomlovely old buildingreception staffhot foodbuffet breakfastwine listwell worth a visityour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The parador is an amazingly historic building with parts dating from the time it was a 12th century hospital catering for pilgrims on the Camino de Santiago, which incidentally runs right through De la Calzada. The public rooms bear witness to this astonishing history - less so the guest rooms. We'd opted for a 'superior' which meant that it came as a mini-suite with bags of room, a large bed (billed as a 4-poster which meant it had a pelmet running around) and choice of pillows, plus, desk, mini bar etc. The bathroom was similarly large and boasted a corner bath as well as a walk-in shower. Unlike one of your reviewers we found the service, on the whole, to be helpful. The problem seems to be that there is insufficient staff to both (wo)man the bar and provide the drinks in the restaurant. This is a failure of management rather than individual staff all of whom work extremely hard. The dining room is not a great feature, nor is the place we had breakfast but the food was to parador standards with a number of regional dishes and some excellent, reasonable wine. My main gripe was the air conditioning. Despite the fact it was 30 degrees outside the air con had been turned off. When I went to ask for it to be put on I was told that 'last night people had complained it was too cold in their rooms!' When I said 'but it's really hot now' my complaint was just dismissed. Clearly, this was more about the parador trying to save money rather than individual guest complaints - they could have turned the air con off! A stupid economy in an otherwise good place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front might seem a good idea as you look out at the Cathedral and the Tower, but we selected a room over the inner courtyard which was much quieter and where the bells on the tower didn't sound too loud.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Beautiful building, main rooms are stunning. We had a golden oldies half board package which was amazing value for the quality of the hotel and restaurant food. Buffet breakfast also v.good.Downside was the cathedral bells all night and lack of air con in our room because v.hot for time of year. Possible that more bells than normal because there in Holy Week.Would still go back and location cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suetheyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First time at this Parador, located in the city centre of Santo Domingo de la Calzada. Staff was friendly and helped during the whole stay. The room was big enough for a coulple and it was clean and quiet. Breakfast could be larger, but quality was ok. A suggested visit is the city of Ezcaray, just 15 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Upon arrival, no one there to help with the bags or to park the car. After checking in, still no one to help so we brought the bags to the room ourselves. Later that evening, noticed someone was there to help but it was after most guests had already arrived and checked in. We decided to use the "welcome/free glass of wine" coupon, which became a total fiasco. A couple entered just before we did and we all sat waiting for the bartender, Ana. After waiting for awhile, we went to the bar and asked for service. She said she'd be there in a minute. We continued to wait and, in the meantime, another couple came in to join the waiting game. Ana periodically exited the back, carrying a tray and bringing drinks to the lobby seating area. In the meantime, everyone in the bar was ignored and a group of 4-5 women came in. We once again said something to Ana, who once again promised to be with us in a minute. After 20 minutes, the first couple and the 4-5 women had left. Ana finally came to the front and proceeded to take the order of the couple who'd come in 10 minutes after we did. When we said something to her, she looked very baffled, did the eye-rolling routine with the other couple, and finally took our order. We mentioned that we thought the service was terrible, she indicated that we didn't understand how busy she was. When we complained about the service at the front desk, we were given a basic shrug. We asked to speak to the manager and were told that he/she was in Madrid and wouldn't be back for a few days. When we said we wanted to make a complaint, we received quite the run-around before we were able to obtain the official form. After Ana's miserable service and reviewing the menu at the sad-looking dining room, we decided to eat elsewhere that night. The sleeping room was acceptable, despite the relatively-small closet, and the bathroom was above average. The one bright light in this experience was the friendly - and sympathetic - woman at the front desk who checked us in and then listened to our complaints the following morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff-954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were walking the camino. It was good to have a hotel after the albergue last night. the hotel room was good, the central hall wonderful (the old pilgrim hostel). However the seating outside reeked of tobacco smell. Interestingly, hotels.com did not do a good job, the reservation we made took 12 hours to show up at the hotel. I would not use hotels.com in spain.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank c r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews