We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hostal El Molino de Floren(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
RoomConcept Hostel(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hostal Rey Pedro I(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hospederia Cisterciense(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pension Miguel(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
San Francisco 58(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal La Catedral(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Alfonso Pena(Santo Domingo de la Calzada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
284
345
108
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
345
108
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingoold townbell towerhistoric buildingoverlooking the squarethe underground car parksmall towncomfortable bedroomlovely old buildingstandard roomlovely hotelreception staffbuffet breakfasthot foodwine listwell worth a visitstone arches
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Santo Domingo de la Calzada, opposite the Cathedral. It is a highlight on the walk to Santiago and a lovely place to look round. Unfortunately, as a hotel it leaves much to be desired. Reception is manned (literally) by a job-for-life civil servant. When asked (in Spanish) whether the hotel sells the tickets for the special guided tour of the cathedral it is liberally advertising, he responded "this is a hotel not a tourist office". Rooms are generally okay by parador standards but there is zero soundproofing either from the rooms next door or the street outside. Don't go to bed early (i.e. pre 1am). Unfortunate if you are a pilgrim on a 6.30am start. The salon is lovely but you may join the stone statues before you get served. The serving staff are lovely but stressed and obviously expected to be in 3 places at once. Breakfast is pretty mediocre by parador standards - no hot dishes and too many things not replenished when gone. No big deal except 17 euros is a lot for a mediocre breakfast ... I would still recommend a visit here given its history and my affection for Santo Domingo but the management needs a kick in its complacent backside and the male staff need to enter the 21st (or even 20th) century.

Room Tip: Away from the street and higher rather than lower
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Right in the town centre by the cathedral is -good peaceful spot with a pretty outlook from our own balcony onto the square. V quite town with not a huge amount to do. A few little bars and a couple of smart restaurants. We just had tapas then watched football. The only tourists about were walkers doing the pilgrim trail.
The hotel was a lovely comfortable relaxing place to stay. I'd recommend it. We didn't eat there so can't review the food.

Room Tip: At front with balcony looking into the square.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MairiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

from El Ciego, we continued through the vineyards, visit of Bodegas Eguren Ugarte (unique,impressive!), passed by lovely Laguardia (a must see town), and pittoresque villages San Vincente de la Sonsierra, Haro, Briones, where we visited also the Bodegas Dinastia Vivanco (special !), and then towards Santo Domingo.
the Parador is ideally located in centre of town, next to "The" cathedral ! the room was very comfortable as usual, but without view to outside. front office was rather 'factual', though friendly. beautiful lobby area ! and small pleasant terrace on the square, nice to watch the various types of pilgrimmers....
we stayed 2 nights, and also took some time to visit Ezcaray, a typical village, last stop before going into the mountains (with Ski tourism in winter !)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the square or cathedral. they have a smallish terrace for possible smoking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was the 4th Parador on our latest trip to Spain. We have stayed here before and enjoyed it each time and weren't disappointed this time, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We were allocated a lovely room overlooking the square and cathedral which ask had a small veranda. For British travellers you can get BBC World here. Wifi is free as at most Paradors, just ask for a password at reception. We ate at the Parador restaurant which was very good with great service too. The town is well worth a wander and in the newer part of town there's a supermarket if you need to stock up on anything. There are plenty of cafes to sit outside and watch the wold go by.
There's also underground parking at this Parador or for less there's a private car park too. A special thank you to the lovely police lady who directed us to the Parador when we weren't sure how to get to it...the sat nav wanted us to drive down a closed road! To note if you are staying at the Parador you are allowed to drive into the town on roads closed to other traffic. Look out for small bollards that drop into the road when your car approaches...but proceed with caution. Lots of friendly people in this lovely town. Would recommend a stay a this Parador to anyone.

Room Tip: We liked the room overlooking the square but if you want something really quiet ask fr one at the back. Free wi fi in your room herevjust ask for a password at reception.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here a year ago (I'm a bit delayed in writing my trip advisor reviews!). We only stayed one night here, which in retrospect was a bit of a mistake. Since this is in the middle of the La Rioja region, there would have been plenty of great wine tasting to do with this parador as a good base. The parador is in the middle of the absolutely charming old town, and across from the church which has one of the most amazing religious art collections I've ever seen. As with all paradors, the building itself has amazing character and uniqueness, but this parador had the best rooms of any of the other ones we stayed at. The rooms were very spacious and retained the charm of the rest of the hotel, which other paradors seemed to lack. We didn't eat at the restaurant as it seemed a bit pricey, but given the quality of food we ended up eating, we'd have been better off eating at the parador, as the others we stayed at had good food. This is a great place to stay, my favourite parador.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avelynNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews