We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored imposing building.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully restored imposing building.”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We really enjoyed staying in this converted ocnvent. The building is impressive and has been transformed into a really comfortable and elegant htel. The service was friendly and helpful. The room was large and had all we needed, the bathroom was spotless too. Woudl definiftely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcatgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    156
    59
    17
    4
See reviews for
68
192
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The hotel itself is pleasant. It is where local staff are trained. Parking is round the side and not supervised. Food is okay, nothing to write home about. The other Parador, one kilometre away, is the more interesting and we will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zojanaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We have traveled for the last 2 weeks from Seviile, Granada, Alicante, Calpe, Barcelona, Bilbao, San Sebastian, Madragon, Burgos and finally Santo Domingo. We stayed at the Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda. It is easy to find and welcoming, quiet and lovely. The best meal since arriving in Spain was at Casa Amparo! A five minute walk from the Parador, down the main street on the left. At this point we have eaten from Michelin 3 to the Tapas bars. We were ready for real food. This was it at 11 Euros it included bread, a very descent bottle wine, amazing first course (try the fresh vegetable puree soup or the fresh spinach with shrimp and scrambled egg); an incredible main course (my husband had the grilled salmon and I had the escalpe-breaded pan fried veal steak) both served with homemade french fries AND your choice of 5 homemade desserts! They open for dinner at about 8 PM which fit our US time schedule perfectly. Run by Angel and Amparo we felt as if we were truly in their "casa". Please do not miss this great local find - they are also open for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

thank goodnes this is now a full fledged Parador, one can reserve now as with the others! Pardors are usually somewhat austere, often dark and formal...so we were delighted to stay at Bernardo Fresneda...it is beautifully furnished, much nicer than the sister parador in the same city...we were so glad we had chosen Fresneda...nice sitting areas, great breakfast room (modern attachment but is done well), rooms lovely , bright, with two windows, looked recently painted, with all the amenities one would expect. Staff very helpful and offered us a rate we had not known about.
We ate at the nearby Ecchera Restaurant in Ezeray...well worth it! Was one of the best meals we had in Spain and loved visiting the Artesamia Textil shop nearby! Santo Domingo is a charming town...nice walking town/lots of history!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We fell on this place during our escape from France's Dordogne region. France just working for us and we drove down thru Pamplona and eventually found ourselves in Santo Domingo. Found this parador hotel and it is lovely. It's a resored old covent, beautifully done. They say it's a 3*, but has more like a 4* feel. The rooms are really nice, we got to stay in two different ones. I couldn't praise the staff enough, especially the reception girls. They were fantastic and gave us excellent suggestions for little trips in the surrounding area. Although there is no laying out to sunbath or swim, there are a lot of interesting things to see in the area, and if you love wine, well......

The hotel is a school for the Parador group, so your participation in the restaurant is one of guiney pig, but boy i'll be a little piggy there any day. The food is gorgeous and very well served. Breakfast, if there is a crowd can be hectic, but hey, they are only learning. A fabulous experience really and for the price, it is amazing value. They offer a half board deal. I'm sure the other 4* in town is even lovlier, but I enjoyed this one tremendously and would recommended to anyone.

  • Liked — The beautifully decorated room
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a little plain
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thelionspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

This parador is in the town of santo domingo de la calzada - a town in the rioja - it´s set in a monastery. It´s a beautiful building with really lovely rooms. The town was bigger than I thought, with some cheap and cheerful eating out places.

Anyway, bar is good, breakfast good (ye olde buffet), didn´t try restaurant.

I think it´s the typical parador experience. The parador also provides parking if you have a car.

Well worth a visit!

NB Not to be confused with the other Parador in the town, confusingly called Santo Domingo de la Calzada.

Helpful?
6 Thank Valerie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de la Calzada
0.2 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
575 reviews
8.0 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
10.9 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Rey Pedro I
Hostal Rey Pedro I
#3 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
68 reviews
8.4 mi away
Palacio Azcarate
Palacio Azcarate
#4 of 6 in Ezcaray
72 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan
Hosteria del Monasterio de San M...
#1 of 1 in San Millan de la Cogolla
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda

Property: Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda
Address: Plaza San Francisco 1, 26250 Santo Domingo de la Calzada, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing