We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donna Amalia Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kassiopi Bay(Kassiopi)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katia Apartments(Kassiopi)(Great Value!)
US$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
77
40
16
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
40
16
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreek dancingbedroom apartmentthese apartmentspool barthe main streetsaturday night bbqnext yearfeta cheesenice quiet locationwheeled suitcasesmet some lovely peopleshower matweekly bbqnothing is too much troublemin strolltwo week stayplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked this on the basis of 2012 reviews. The management of the apartments has changed this year, not, alas, for the better. We arrived about 10 pm during a power cut: it was scary walking down the approach road and we had to drag our cases over rough ground. We did not realise that there was no reception: an emergency light enabled us to read a black board with our name and instructions how to find our apartment (the key was in the door). As the owners live beside the apartments, this was hardly acceptable.

The beds and the apartment floors and toilet were clean. The furniture was basic, and if you wanted to sit inside your choice was a hard and upright kitchen chair, or the beds. The shower was a death trap for the older or infirm guest. As the shower curtain stopped at calf length, the floor swam with water. There was no handrail to grip, and the floor became treacherous. We had to 'prod' the staff into replacing towels, and the bedding was not changed for ten days. The niggardly provision of toilet tissue was a minor irritation, but it was symptomatic of the perfunctory attitude of the people running the apartments.

The lane down to the apartments, and along to block 2 is just unmade gravel and stones, over which it is almost impossible to pull wheeled suitcases

There was very limited service at the bar, which seldom opened before 10 am. As the young man who appeared to be in charge usually did not appear before 2pm, and one's only means of communication with the owners was at the bar, there being no reception facility of any kind.

There is a notice giving an emergency number in the doorway at Block 1, but the telephone below it has been removed from the wall. We have a mobile, but others might not have one, and would be unable to summon help in an emergency

This is frankly not good enough. There also seems to be a lack of communication amongst the staff If you wish to keep on your room on your last day, it costs 20 euros. We paid this so that we could stay on till 4 pm: lack of communication meant that the cleaner arrived in the morning to prepare it for the next guests - she had to return later.

On the plus side, the apartments were quiet, and the pool was well looked after. We would not recommend these apartments and, although we might return to Kassiopi, we would never return here.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 room apartment
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Donna Amalia Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

dear friend

if you arrived in the end of season the bar still open for the morning auntil the prople living for the pool area...is self catering apar apartment no 5 star hotel i dont understant dear friend wy complain about my arrival in the bar...this is a small fomily company belong in two familys and the money its no good for both..so if iam not in the bar means i do defrent jobs ..if you ask for my help any time i give you but in the and of season we are not very busy so we keep some time fro defrent jobs ...all the people pay 20 euros if stay late in the room after 12 oclock this is happent in every apartment dosen matter if you live from inside 4 o clock 5 o clock or 8 o clock...sory about this but...any way i respect any reviews and we try to get beter

best regards

giannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Donna Amalia for a week on Sept 9th>>>the Apt was clean , and listening to people about the emptying of the bins < we used to empty our own , as we went out every day , there is a great big waste bin as you walk to go out so we just took our rubbish there ,the beds were the same as you get all over Greece, not saying I am keen on them but for a week? no problem , as far as towels are concerned, we just asked for a couple more and they were happy to provide them , I have always found if you have a problem with anything go and see the owners , they usually are happy to help , do not wait until you get home and then complain , the Greek people are lovely people , but if you do not say they do not know do they?
Our bathroom was small , and as far as the shower curtain being short , we just left the water and it went down the little grid in floor the made for this purpose >>
They are self catering Apts so as far as toilet rolls are concerned I expected to buy my own ,
yes they could do with more equipment in the kitchen , but hey! we made do and had a laugh doing it !
The apartment was not perfect but it was perfectly adequate for a weeks stay, we are going back in May so it cannot be that bad ,,,
Thank you to Donna Amalia

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bolero-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Have my reservations about these apartments as they have some really good points & some not so good. We had a good value holiday & I would return if I could get the same price but would not recommend them to friends or family. Most people seemed to have paid a lot more than us & if I had I would have been very unhappy.
The studios are of a reasonable size with rooms 1 & 5 on block 2 much bigger with a large seating area. We also saw a 2 bed apartment which was a great space with a good sized well equiped kitchen. The studios have limited wardrobe & drawer storage but with more coat & trouser hangers I have ever seen before. The kitchen area has enough utensils & crockery to prepare snacks but nowhere, except for the fridge to store food. Mugs are supplied which is a bonus & decent sized glasses for beer & the odd G&T. Tea towels also provided. There is a kettle & sandwich toaster which is ok for toasted sandwiches but not great for toast in the morning
The beds are very firm but seem to have good quality matresses & a decent pillow but had to get up before 7 o'clock every day to relieve back pain. Towels are extremely poor quality & often smelly. No bath mat provided & the tiles in the bathroom are lethal. Had to use towel to stand on. Luckily cleaners left us extra towels after a few days for this.
Not happy that bins were only emptied every 3 days. Have only come actross this once before & was also disgusted then. First toilet roll only provided & all others have to be provided by guests. Only using his as information as this is quite common in Greece.
Very surprised to be informed breakfast was not served until 10am & when we were there the pool bar closed at about 7pm every night. No one to greet guests who arrived at night just a board with directions to apartment, if you were lucky. One couple, that we know of, arrived after midnight with no instructions or details of where to go. Another couple arrived with all their details & accommodation voucher to find that their accommodation had been rented to someone else & they were asked to stay elsewhere for a few days. They refused.
No phone at apartments & staff to help. Partner tried to phone for taxi as I was in hospital in Corfu Town but mobile wasn't working. Lady at bar unable to help as she spoke no English & Yannis had still not arrived. Not very good as all guests are British. Had to go into town for assistance. Very limited availability before 10am & after 6pm if you needed help or information.
Do not know if this is because it was near the end of the season but not acceptable as everyone still pays for the service. Were informed that on alternate years Donna & Costas run the apartments & then everything is well organised & higher quality. Would advise before you arrive to confirm with the owners directly that your accommodation is available to avoid disappointment. Also when you are dropped off by the transfer coach there is a bit of a walk to the apartments & a rough track which will knacker the wheels on your suitcase.
On the plus side the location is great. Near rhe hub of everything but quiet. The pool is bigger than it looks in the photos & a great area. The pool was kept very clean by Costas but about a third of the sunbeds were damaged. Also there is dog poo in the apartment area which is not cleaned up. Saw Lucy their dog foul in front of the apartment steps & informed lady behind bar but this was ignored. Watch where you walk in the dark!!!!
Feel that I have been quite negative about these apartments but if you take the 5 ot of 5 reviews with a pinch of salt you will not be too disappointed. Kassiopi is a beautiful town & these apartments are in a perfect location. Do not know if standards had slipped because it was the end of the season but would try again if I could get as good a price as before as I know what to expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Donna Amalia Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

dear friend

i have to answer about some thinks..first i want to thank you about your riview.This small family self catering apartment no big hotel, so the summer time we keep the bar about 14 hour in 24 because we hane good atmoshere in pool area and people sray and the night time also

now we are in the end of saeson so we close if people living for the pool area...for the new arrives in night time i put sine with details "name" numper of room and people going easy to the room"we dont have lost of arrives in the finish of saeson"..the next morning i talk with apeople if exist eny problem..its importand understand people the style of this apartment..work under the self catering contract wich we have with tour operators...so the toilet parer and the cleaning system is ungluded..always we try for the best ..we have customers wen came again and again because understand aou filosophy and enjoy our hospitality and the beautiful greek sun

best regards

Giannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our 2nd year at the Donna Amalia. Once again a fab holiday very good value for money in a fab location and apartments well stocked with everything you would need. Barby on sat night is very good value at 10 euros . Donna and Yanni very good hosts hopefully will be returning next year .If you are looking for a peaceful relaxed holiday this is the place to book .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We love Kassiopi, and have been here before, as a resort its great no need for a hire car as you can go everywhere by boat, great bars and restaurants and friendly locals but the apartment was a disappointment. When you have spent a day on a boat swam in the sea applied lashings of suntan oil you NEED a nice hot shower before going out to eat. Firstly there was no bath mat supplied so we had to use the hand towels or risk slipping over on the wet floor as the shower curtains were too short and water cascaded out, in fact I wondered why they bothered with a shower tray at all! then there is nowhere to hang the shower head - have you tried applying shampoo with one hand while clutching the shower in the other? the temperature was variable, some evenings tepid others hot as was the pressure. Towels only changed once in a week and were the thinnest I have ever seen. Hard beds are to be expected and we could not fault the cleanliness but saw no sign of owners or staff during our stay apart from on arrival when a man ? the owner, helpfully picked up my husbands small rucksack and carried it up stairs to the apartment leaving me standing astonished at the bottom with a heavy suitcase plus my own rucksack to wait for hubby to come back down for a second trip to help. The air-conditioning which features in their adverts was he informed us, an additional 4 euros a night and when we went to pay he added but its 5 euros a day and you cant have only the nights even if you do not plan to be there at all during the day so in total that was over 50 euros for a weeks stay. Toilet bin only emptied once during the week which is really not very hygienic and a limit of one toilet roll for a week is on the mean side too. In its favour the apartments are close to all amenities but then so are lots of others so next time we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetreason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, Διευθυντής at Donna Amalia Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

I would like to point out that our toilet bins are changed every two to three days and there is nothing to say i should lift cases for guess as i would be lifting cases all day!!! The towels are standered thickness and air conditioning is stardered price although i think you will find air conditioning is around 8/9 euros on average per night so we are cheaper than most!!!!
Im sorry you did not enjoy your stay but we have regular customers coming back year after year!!!!
Best reguards
Gannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews