We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apraos Bay Hotel”
Review of Apraos Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apraos Bay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kassiopi
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned from a very pleasant and relaxing 2 week stay at the Apraos Hotel in Corfu.
It is owned by Costas and his lovely wife Madelana who were extremely helpful and welcoming.
We had room 11 which had fantastic views of the coastline and local beach.
The hotel was very clean, bedding and towels were changed regularly.
Breakfast was continental which was fine. We also ate at the hotel a couple evenings when the BBQs were on.
The hotel is minutes away from the sandy beach of Kalamaki.
There are 3-4 really lovely tavernas close by which are all family run restaurants.
I would recommend hiring a car though as it is about a 40 minute walk to Kassiopi.
We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 11 at the front was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank den69_nch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel. Set in a beautiful location, overlooking the bay. Very short walk to a very quiet sandy beach, shallow but when we were there it was very quiet indeed. 3 tavernas on or just off the beach, 5 minute stroll from the hotel. We can recommend Taverna Dimarcos, set just off the beach with excellent homemade cooking, very tasty. Rooms were basic, but comfortable,and very clean, no complaints. Breakfast was normal continental fare, cold meats, cheese, bread, cakes, tea,coffee, juice, milk and every other day eggs or croissants, which were excellent. Nice swimming pool, plenty of loungers etc. Owners, very helpful, pleasant and happy to chat and eager to help make your stay a nice experience. Good to hire a car, as its a long walk (3kms) to Kassiopi, for supermarket etc. The owner arranged this for us and was reasonably priced and delivered and collected from the hotel. All in all we would thoroughly recommend a stay in this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing stay away from the main resorts, as previously stated, its out the way, but its has all you need for a relaxing peaceful holiday with friendly, owners who are only too happy to have you stay in their home.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar as far as we know, but we had 2 balconies, which was room18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Air conditioning did not work in our room and was not fixed despite us asking, and was an extra added cost anyway. Management (male) was rude and very lecherous, made us feel very uncomfortable being in or around the hotel. Breakfast was a coffee, roll and slice of cheese and lunch meat, no juice, fruit etc which is unacceptable considering we paid for half board. There was no restaurant on site and location is VERY out of the way, you need a car. The local beach is one of the ugliest in the area and the on beach Taverna is run by a vile man who we saw hit a dog with a stick. Don't go here, stay in Kassiopi for a better deal/time. As soon as we checked out the male management's true colours shone through and he was extremely rude/not willing to help us etc

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poogle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Well here i am again, raving about another excellent hotel.
Being a single chap it is hard to find excellent accommodation like this, i was very lucky, right from the off i was treated as part of the family, Costas, Madalina and Alexander welcomed me into their life for 2 weeks, nothing was to much trouble for them, Costas even introduced me to his friends down the local village bar, so nice sitting drinking retsina and sprite with a nice greek mesa, and excellent company, Madalina is a superb cook i ate with the family every night, loved the greek meatballs, and of course the Barbecue.
i spent the first few days by the brilliant pool, it takes me a few days to wind down from my UK life, this was definitely the way to do it.
i was also very fortunate to meet some super people here, they know who they are, as we still communicate,
Idid not want to leave on my final day i had a ball, in more ways than one, so did Madalina when i left, Alex said why does Shaun have to go if he wants to stay.
I will be back.
Corfu is a loverly place, i think i will definitely be looking to move there in the not to distant future.
The hotel has a great aspect, quiet, relaxing, superb sea views, and helpful owners.

Miss you Guys :) xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ShaunBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed from the 26th of August for two weeks, it said it was 2.2km from Kassopi, well from the city limit maybe, but not to the centre, more like 5km. You really need a car if you stay here. There is no formal restaurant, the owner will cook meals if you request it, but it's an informal affair. It's right by a noisy road and we had infestation in the loft above our room of birds and worse which made noises all through the night keeping us awake. With the road noise, it's not peaceful!! The hotel was very tired and unloved, the pool area didn't seem to be cleaned and there was hardly anyone around. Most guests seem to use it as somewhere to sleep only. I would certainly not stay here again, I tried leaving after a few days, but the owner would not give me a refund and was not customer friendly..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pauldendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Echoing other recent positive reviews, I too feel that the balance needs to be redressed.

We arrived on September 9th and it did seem as if we were not expected, however we were missing an accommodation voucher and they were very helpful with us acquiring a copy (we had booked very late and hadn't been sent it by our agent) after a short wait we were given room 11 which has the most fantastic sea view, although situated over the bar so a tad noisy late at night! This didn't really affect us as we enjoy a late night glass of wine before heading to bed! Worth mentioning that most people are in bed by midnight at the latest!

The hotel is run in a typical Greek fashion but everything was very clean and the breakfast was absolutely fine, very typical of Greece - Costas and Madeleina were very helpful and if you do book a dinner at night you will be in for a treat as they are very tasty and inexpensive. We didn't use the pool very much as the beautiful sandy beach is so close, but it was a nice area.
Don't expect a busy resort though as this area isn't like that - it's all very relaxed and tranquil.

Food wise, nearby Nicolas Taverna is a ten minute walk along a busy road with no paths but totally worth it - the food is delicious. Kassiopi has some nice tavernas, we had a lovely meal there in "Janis" which has the most fantastic sea views and deserves a mention.

Would agree that the showers are not the best, but there was lots of hot water and they were certainly not the worst we have had.

In summary, hotels like Apraos need the support of tourists and it is a shame that negative
reviews affect this. If you want a proper greek experience in idyllic surroundings go! We had a wonderful time and met some lovely people. Take everything in your stride and remember it's not like being in the UK!

Room Tip: Room 11 has the best sea view but above the bar so noisier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenUnity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased and happy with our room and hotel find on arrival.we were given a kind welcome. The room was basic and spotlessTake your own kettle and tea bags as this will greatly enhance your stay.
The hotel is situated on a fairly busy mountain road overlooking the beach A taxi costs 8 euros into Kassiopi and your are charged an extra 6 euros on the outbound journey as the taxi has to come to get you
The location is 5 minutes from Kalamaki Beach which is amazing for children as the sea is shallow.There are three taverns nearby
Breakfast consisted continental fare with cold tea or coffee at 9am so you missed breakfast if you were on a trip.
We soon found breakfast an ordeal because we had to eat our breakfast under the gaze of Costas and his wife who on two occasions were abrupt and inappropriate towards my husband.
We felt the hotel owners were selective in their customer care
This probably sounds petty but when you on the receiving end it is not good customer service and sadly because I understood the owners comments we left the hotel straight away and will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maryrobinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kassiopi
1.7 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
252 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oceanis Rooms Apartments
1.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Krouzeri Beach Apartments
3.7 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 19 in Acharavi
121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Acharavi Beach Hotel
Acharavi Beach Hotel
#4 of 19 in Acharavi
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apraos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apraos Bay Hotel

Address: Kassiopi 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kassiopi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kassiopi
Price Range: £23 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apraos Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apraos Bay Hotel 3*** a small, charming, family -run, built in 1992 with a traditional Venetian style exterior, sits elegantly and peacefully in a beautiful garden amidst olive and orange groves. A private swimming pool with a panoramic bar, 50m away a vast sandy beach. Stone steps lead down from the hotel to a tiny secluded rocky cove. Due to the unique positioning of the hotel, gentle breezes are felt and found throughout the day on one of the five spacious terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apraos Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apraos Bay Hotel Kassiopi, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing