We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Corfu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kassiopi
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We went on an all inclusive deal at a very good price. The resort had not been opened long after being refurbished. They advertise tea making facilities but they do not exist. The food was basic and plentiful plenty of fresh Greek salad at lunch and dinner. Dinner and lunch seemed to be casserole/stew based but there were always pasta dishes available too. Puddings were not worth having could have done with some fresh fruit apart from oranges. Juice at breakfast seemed to be reconstituted and not good. The pool bar was good but the inner room was a bit like a village hall and the seating was hard chairs, they need some comfortable seating. This is a basic, clean hotel and the price makes it affordable to go out and eat/drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra_oldbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the renovations that have been completed in the Memento Resort Kassipi . The hotel team is proud of them and we hope they keep pleasing our guests.

.

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our all inclusive food. I have made sure to pass your comments on to both Chef and Restaurant Manager so that they may be sure to help their staff improve. Being informed of a problem presents an opportunity for us to fix it, which is very helpful to us.

We do hope to see you in the future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

My friend and I were here last week. 15th to 22 nd may. Location reallly good. We had rain for two days, but it did not cause any sadness. We saw more of the area due to this. Beautiful walks around the bay.... beautiful sea and beach... must look fabulous on a sunny day..
The hotel..
very clean... very spacious... lovely setting... beautiful, really pleasant staff.. six sparkling pools
Food... traditional...... fresh.. beautifullly cooked.
Entertainment.. the gala night.. tradititional music and dancing.. brilliant .. mental.. mad..

WHAT MAKES IT .. the word resort is not what it is....Imaging coming into a not too big hotel... an other smaller hotel almost next door ... and peppered by villas.. non rip you of shops... an amazing harbour...trips that you can also do from here on the doorstep.... many different beaches... bars... food places... supermarkets... taxi for 5 euors from the village....
All within a walk of fifteen minutes to thirty minutes depending on where you are going.
Go out of the reception, turn left and go up the hill... turn right and walk.. You are then heading to the village and the harbour...
Go out of the reception and turn right... Walk and you will go through lovely countryside which will take you to a beach with two bars that do food and drink...
Amazing place... on our trip we met an eclectic range of people. again amazing.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are different so can't say our room was brilliant 229
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kramek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the Memento Kassiopi Resort ! We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience. It means the world to us to hear when we have had a success. All comments are worth reading and learning from, even the good ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel was advertised as having extensive facilities, most of which either do not exist or are not yet ready.
The room was large, comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was good but could have been kept warmer, it would not meet UK storage standards for hot food. Having said that, we ate salads and had ice in drinks and no one suffered any ill effects.
Advertised facilities included fully fitted kitchens and multimedia systems in all rooms. Neither actually exist. There is a fridge, but it is empty, not even a bottle of water on arrival. No kettle.
The grounds are pretty and well maintained.

We arrived after 11pm and there was no food available, we were told the village was 10 minutes walk and "everything was open" there. I understand subsequent arrivals were provided with a cold plate. It was difficult to find rooms in the dark as none of the room numbers are illuminated.
Accommodation is spread over a very steep hill and is really unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties. The advertised picture shows one set of rooms on the flat by the swimming pool and doesn't indicate most of the rooms are elsewhere.
There is little information, no map of the resort to assist in finding rooms or other facilities.
The gym and sauna are still under construction.

There are a nice bar and restaurant directly opposite reception, both carrying the Memento logo. The bar is a pay bar and not part of the All Inclusive. There is a 15% discount but you do have to ask for it. The restaurant was closed.

There are no parasols or pool towels, though staff say they were ordered but did not arrive.

There is no bin in the room, the bathroom bin is for toilet paper.

There was no working wifi the whole week (we left May 20th)
Room phones can reach Reception, no facility to call other rooms or outside.

The all inclusive bar is fine for local spirits, unfortunately the mixers are very poor quality. "Orange juice" is actually cordial and carbonated drinks are soda with pale colouring. I can see problems when families with children start to arrive soon. We had some cold evenings and the bar inside is like school dining hall with some random tables and chairs, no décor, no comfortable seating. There was a wall built while we were there so this may be another work in progress.

Overall the hotel has lots of potential, but it clearly was not ready for opening in May.

Room Tip: Travellers with mobility problems need to request rooms not on the very steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.
Per your comments, we have updated our website to ensure that future travelers know that while remarkable hospitality, service and cleanliness are our top priorities some of our bathrooms are indeed small. We sincerely apologize if you did not know this in advance.
We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at my e-mail : manager@ memento-hotels.com if I can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is not as advertised on the website, furthermore parts are NOT suitable for those with mobility problems. From looking at the photographs you would believe it was a two storey building on a level site… what it doesn’t show is the accommodation across the road up a very steep incline. So steep that mobility scooters cannot cope with it - there was an accident during my stay and a guest ended up in hospital overnight. Some travel agents are unaware of this, if you plan to book this hotel and have any mobility problems let them know and the hotel will accommodate you more suitably.

In its favour the staff are pleasant and helpful, they were trying to address some problems; the food is good; rooms are clean and cleaned daily; the gardens are attractive. Local buses drop off, tour buses pick up and drop off from Nikos supermarket on the main road a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Issues which have to be rectified include -
advertising rooms on the website as having a multimedia system, which they don’t, and that rooms have kitchens… there’s not even a kettle!
No sauna, gym, pool or tennis tables which were advertised on the website.
Late arrival guests struggled to find accommodation in the dark. A map would be helpful, and/or lit up room number signs. There were still people wandering round looking for their rooms forty minutes after we arrived! There should also be cold food provided for those guests if they are on HB or fully inclusive deals. There wasn’t even a bottle of water in the rooms.
No information packs in rooms.
No WiFi, as advertised, in rooms. Poor and erratic service in public areas.
Only 6 coat hangers in a room meant for 4.
No pool towels or umbrellas, expected from a four star fully inclusive hotel. Some guests had to purchase towels from local shops.
Why can’t they provide fresh orange juice in the dining room instead of diluted orange drink? There are oranges growing on trees locally!
An extra coffee machine would reduce queues at breakfast time.
Too many chairs in the dining room made access to and around the room difficult, especially for those with children, pushchairs, mobility problems or equipment. Most tables had six chairs but were only set for four. Chairs could be stored until high season.
Guests should be given the same table for the duration of their stay. A maitre d’ would help with this organisation. Couples should sit at tables for four and if necessary share. There were too many couples selfishly taking up the few tables set for five or more, and this was during mid/low season.
Ghastly indoor lounge bar at pool, more akin to a school dinner hall… this needs to be more appropriately furnished and decorated. Pool bar served up watered down cola, the colour of weak tea and tasting of soda water. The quality of the spirits was also questionable.
The bar across the road, bearing the same name as the hotel, was not included in “All Inclusive”. You do get 15% discount and drinks were not watered down, but this seems to be a strange arrangement. The a la carte restaurant next door to the bar was closed, but apparently was not included either.
No shuttle bus to Kassiopi, hotel is located 15 minutes walk outside the town. This does not help guests with young children or mobility problems.

Room Tip: Ask for level access rooms if you have impaired mobility,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NippieSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.
Per your comments, we have updated our website to ensure that future travelers know that while remarkable hospitality, service and cleanliness are our top priorities some of our bathrooms are indeed small. We sincerely apologize if you did not know this in advance.
We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at my e-mail : manager@ memento-hotels.com if I can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just arrived back from the Memento hotel and would like to say that it is run by Romanians not that we have a problem with that, but the british get a bit of a raw deal as the romanians get all the best rooms and the brits get the rooms up the steep hill. We requested a lower room with broadway travel before we left and they assured us they had emailed the Memento, but when we got there they said that they didn't get the email! so gave us a room higher up where my husband couldn't walk as he has a disability, they said they did not have any lower floor rooms left, which we found out later they did and I had to insist we be moved. Good start to the holiday. The food was awful, luke warm, cheap cuts of meat, over done vegetables and the same every day, there are some lovely resturants down by the harbour and we ate out most of the time. There was entertainment once in the whole week and that was 4 greek dancers although it was stated entertainment most nights ! the staff were very pleasant and worked very hard, however the manager looks miserable most of the time and you will be lucky if you get a good morning out of him. I don't think we will be going back there in a hurry !

Room Tip: If you have walking problems request a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suesmith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the renovations that have been completed in the Memento Resort Kassipi . The hotel team is proud of them and we hope they keep pleasing our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked this holiday knowing that it is a 3 star hotel so we weren't expecting too much from the accommodation food & service but we really wanted a break in the sun. We were not at all disappointed with the weather we were very lucky the week before had been awful with flooding and storms. This was the apparent reason we couldn't get wifi in our room ( as promised on their website) in fact the wifi signal was extremely poor throughout with very intermittent signals in some areas. The food although varied was always luke warm , the all inclusive drinks although local were fairly tasteless. There was only 1 coffee & tea making machine in the restraunt which resulted in queues every morning. The same with the toast machine.... When we were there the hotel was probably around 40% occupied.... They were expecting full occupancy a couple of days after we were leaving so I don't know how the restraunt will cope with that many irate customers waiting on a cuppa !!! The website also promised children's entertainment, karaoke and evening entertainments.... There was one evening with 4 traditional Greek dancers but that was it. We heard many people complaining about locations of rooms, our room was at the top of a VERY steep hill, luckily we managed the hike but there was no warning on the website that many of the rooms are very unsuitable for those with limited mobility. The staff were very friendly and courteous however so no complaints there. Overall we got what we set out for.... A week in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubydooEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the renovations that have been completed in the Memento Resort Kassipi . The hotel team is proud of them and we hope they keep pleasing our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having booked this on price, we were delighted with the whole holiday, the rooms were clean and bright, plenty of fresh food. The A I package included local spirits. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The sunshine played it's part but it was a great break, lots to do locally

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikmouzak, General Manager at Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

,Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the Memento Kassiopi Resort ! We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience. It means the world to us to hear when we have had a success. All comments are worth reading and learning from, even the good ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kassiopi
0.5 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
251 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apraos Bay Hotel
Apraos Bay Hotel
#10 of 10 in Kassiopi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
3.6 mi away
Krouzeri Beach Apartments
24.4 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 15 in Agios Georgios
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel

Address: Kassiopi 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kassiopi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kassiopi
Price Range: £52 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing