We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time again :) !!!”
Review of Zafiris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zafiris Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Well what can we say !!!!! After reading the bad reviews we wonderd if we had been staying at a different hotel!!! We stayed at the zafiris from 8th-15th of June. There were 5 in our party that included: 2 grandparents, our daughter who is 12, myself and my husband. This was our 4th time returning, but 1st time all inclusive. Yet again on arrival we had an AMAZING welcome, We got shown to our apartment, which overlooked the pool area and outstanding views of the coast. Both of our apartments were exceptionally clean, and the maids as always did a fantastic job for our time there.Towels were changed daily if you left them in the bath. We were a little hesitant before arriving whether the all inclusive would change the concept of the hotel, however we couldn't have been more surprised. The food was fantastic. Everyday there were a selection of dishes to choose from. Our favourites were the vine leaves and the cod in batter. The pool area is very clean and sunbeds are plentiful whatever time of day. The entertainment team (Natalie and Stelios) worked very hard keeping everyone entertained, One of my daughters favourites was the waterpolo. On an evening we spent our time in the saxaphone bar which is on the edge of the complex. Evening entertainment was good. Only fault we could find was that drinks were served in plastic glasses around the pool area, but we can understand why due to heath and safety. We had a fantastic time and have booked to return in august this year for two weeks CANT WAIT :) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We would like to say a huge thank you to Martin, Dawn (Barbie), Dimitri, Yannis, Aliki, Angela, Stelios, Natalie, the spa lady (sorry we have forgot your name) and everyone else at the hotel who we have forgot to mention.

from the Monks Family

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MonksFamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

The staff and management would like to say thanks for your trip advisor comments.
This is really positive and we are happy that we have been able to meet your expectations as customers of the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments and of course we are ready to welcome you back to the Zafiris Hotel.

Hotel staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed for 10 nights from 8th June and we were a little anxious due to previous negative reviews and all I can say is, there are some very fussy people out there as we had the best holiday ever! Rooms were lovely and clean, staff couldn't do enough for you and strips and Natalie were amazing, my kids cried leaving them, they really made our holiday. This was a special holiday as our 10th anniversary and Martin arranged for our reserved table to be decorated for us, the little things really make the biggest difference. The food was amazing, so much choice, really tasty, couldn't complain at all. We've never been to Greece before but I can honestly say, we'd come back to the zafiris in a heartbeat. Having been a travel agent for 15 years, I have high expectations and can honestly say, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2012
3  Thank Theandersonbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

stayed 18th to 25th june and this is my first trip advisor review,staff were wonderful, could not do enough for you,i had read about the hill previous and was a bit worried( because it doesnt state about a hill in first choice brochure), we arrived about an hour early but as soon as we got off the bus a member of staff took our cases up to reception(we had to walk), then he took what he could carry up to our room,the plus side was because it is such a small complex you get to meet and talk to all the other guests that are staying at the zafiris, we met some lovely people,the kids club was good,i have never had to walk so much for an all inclusive though.The only downside was the ants,they were crawling over the table at mealtime and on the sunbeds and i do understand that this kind of thing happen but its still not nice.But overall for a 3 star it was ok.but if you have young children just be aware that the shower floods the bathroom so pre warn your children not to run into the bathroom.stelios and natalie were brilliant with the kids and for the entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were really looking forward to staying at this hotel arrived 28th May-4th June but we were very disappointed. Sidari was really nice, weather was beautilful, shame we couldn't same the same about the hotel. Martin the manager and staff in reception were very friendly but couldn't say the same about staff in the resturant. The only time they smiled was when they made an effort for the Jubilee weekend. Pool Bar closed too early (around 6.30pm) although this area was rather tired looking not particulary nice to sit at,and during the day only served beer, wine, and soft drinks as part of the all inclusive, spirits were available at a cost. Afternoon snacks were available but seemed like leftovers. Some people like to have a drink before they go in for their evening meal but there was nowhere else to go as the evening bar was quite a walk and almost appeared to be outside the hotel. Food was a bit samey so although we were all inclusive we ate out most nights. Plenty of resturants about 5mins walk from hotel with lovely food and extremely friendly waiters that made you feel really welcome. They also loved the children (my husband and I were staying at the hotel with my daughter, son-in-law and our 2 grandsons). Our accomodation was very clean, comfortable bed and clean sheets but the towels in the bathroom could have been changed more often and better quality as they were rather thin. Not sure if the bedside lights were working as they had no bulbs in them. Although there were a couple of drawers in the wardrobe couldn't use as they wouldn't open. Slight problem with the postion of the wardobe as you couldn't open the bedroom door if someone was using this as the doors were too close together. There was a fridge in the kitchen my son-in-law remarked that this was very quiet, their one was noisy, we told them that was because it didn't work. Also stairs to the bedroom were lethal (stone spiral staircase) very dangerous especially if you have small children. the bar for the evening was o.k. but the kids play area was closed. My husband asked for a gin and tonic and was told he would have to pay for the tonic (as they had to open a bottle).Sorry we will not be back again and wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeff2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

well where can i start
we arrived at about 4.30 Mon 18th were we were greeted by Stelios from the entertainment team
he phone for mini bus to collect our luggage then he escorted us to the reception checked in with ease and where showen to our rooms which where very spacious with full bath and shower and a lovely view of the gardens.
we dropped our bags and went to the pool bar were Damitrus welcomed us and said today you's help yourselfs and tommorow i will serve you which was just fab drinks were free flowing and plenty of them all local drinks were free and just for 1euro you can have branded drinks.

then from they we went for evening meal greeted by the staff Angelna and Aliki we picked our table and they reserved our table for our whole holiday no time wasted trying to find a seat plenty for everyone in the hotel and th e hotel was fully booked the food was very good with and good choice from fish in batter to beff in red wine sauce pork lamb chicken cooked in different ways veg carrots peas potatos roasted boiled mashed and chiped the list goes on and on the also have and kids section with chips pasta pizza onion rings and so on ice cream and cakes for puddings , and for breakfasts you can have continental our a full english or cereal . and drinks coffee fresh juice pop and milk .

staff are vey friendly and are to happy to help in any way they can .

its hard to believe that some people can complain about this place but if you you look hard you might notice that they have so many sun beds that you can have about 5 each and a bar that has a 100 inch TV where they have all the Euro games with free drinks and a kids club that work till they drop and rooms cleaned every day and free safety boxes and loads of food with loads of choice and staff that can't do enough for you ... yes i can see why they complain and they should stay at home with there perfect little lives........

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HebburnSun_god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Worse holiday EVER!! we got back yesturday from this dread hole!
we stayed for 1 week, 2 girls. The Strip is like 10 minute walk to the one near the hotel then like 30 minutes to the good one! We had a lot of problems with our room, Floor was dirty when we arrived, stains on the bath towels, holes in the walls, we spent 30 mins a day trying to lock the door & when we contacted the english staff about this they made us feel stupid. The hotel manager had to clean our room light which was disgraceful, then left the cleaning product( Water bottle with bright pink liquid) in our room, we was horrfied at this as any child could of drunk this if it was left in their room! The bath & the aircon leeked all over floor making the floor very slippery. Food was very basic. Not many drinks all inclusive.
Wasnt much entertainment for families or anyone for that matter! greek staff lovelyu but english staff rude.
For the amount of money you pay for the holiday you can get excellent hotels elsewhere.
On our last day we spoke to many families and they felt the same about the holiday too.

Room Tip: stay clear of all rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahJT93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

The hotel management has examined the points raised and can now respond as follows.

• The hotel management takes seriously all feedback from guests good or bad. The hotel aims to improve it’s service on a daily basis. The hotel would like to thank the guests from bringing these points to the management’s attention.

• Possibly the Zafiris Hotel is not best suited to younger guests in their late teens early twenties. As the guests state the customer always has a choice and the hotel recognises this.

• The First Choice web page correctly states 100 M to the nearest bars and 1.8 KM to a wider selection of bars and restaurants.

• The hotel staff was not made aware of some of the specific points regarding the room. It is beyond the remit of this response to go into a protracted discourse on what was or what was not correct.

• The hotel staff did their best to explain to the customers the correct function of the door lock in their room. Maintenance visited and checked the door lock on at least 3 occasions. It was not intended to make the guests feel stupid.

• The hotel manager did not clean the light fitting. He was present to supervise the work in the room. It is unfortunate that taking into account the customers concern they did not return to reception any cleaning chemicals found so that the issue could be taken with the cleaning staff.

• The bathroom was looked at twice and repairs effected..

• Air conditioning is not intended to be operated 24 hours a day. It was noted that the air conditioning in the guest’s rooms was left running when the room was un occupied. As a result condensation collects in the water tray within the unit and will cause water overflow after protracted use.

• Comments regarding food are subjective as each individual will have different views and expectations with regard to food. Since the customers have not made any alternative suggestions for the menu on the hotel customer survey it is difficult to comment further. However based on feedback from First Choice and customers the hotel believes that the menus (which are always under review) appeal to the vast majority of customers.

• The all inclusive drinks are described on the First Choice web page. The hotel also discounts a number of cocktails daily.

• Entertainment is not indicated in First Choice Brochure or the First Choice Web page. However from the customer scores received from First Choice, the hotel is satisfied with the result for both members of the entertainment team. Overall the customer view points appear to be that both Stellios and Natalie are a bonus for the hotel.

• It is unclear which member of staff was rude to the guests. Again this was not intentional and the hotel apologies if this was how any information was perceived.

It is regrettable that the guests did not enjoy their holiday however from the daily feedback the hotel receives from customers to suggest a high proportion of guests are not enjoying themselves is incorrect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

2 week stay 28th May - 12 th June.
2adults 1child -6

Very late arrival went straight to sleep in a large bed :) woke up next day for breakfast varied menu including making an effort on the jubilee- brilliant!

Lovely staff from the manager Martin, receptionist Barbie to Natali -(really fantastic with my little girl and myself) Stelios the entertainment staff hardworking and friendly Dimitri behind the pool bar and waitresses in the restaurant Alliki and Angela lovely make everyone feel special and Yjota think spelt right ? in the spa x

Brilliant value for money drinks on tap good food and variety good pool area and sunbeds right on the beach and a short walk into Sidari.

Kids club loving it - Jumping Jen and Loopy Lottie all round fab holiday, good value for money having worked in Greece with hoteliers this is a very good one for what your paying and the rating ! book it won't be disappointed with the hospitality and amenities :)

Love Gemma Giles and Sadie Dobson xx (Arnold)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gemma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#17 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#1 of 39 in Sidari
550 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiris Hotel

Address: Canal D'Amor, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sidari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiris Hotel is located in one of the 5 "Must See" areas of Corfu.The hotel aims to provide great customer service in an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zafiris Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing