We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Zafiris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zafiris Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from Zafiris Hotel we had such a wonderful time there and a relaxing two weeks break. The view from our room was great but unfortunately I can't say the same for the food in the restourant...okay it was variety of meals but not as tasty as they looked. The staff was very friendly especially the animation team. We really loved the watel polo, bingo and also the evening entertanment. The Kid's Club was good as well. We would definitely going back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MATTHEW J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We returned on Monday from a ten night stay at the Zafiris. On the whole we had a great holiday. We agree with other comments about some of the rooms being tired, our room was by reception and quite disappointing when compared to the family room our son and family had. We paid the same money for the adults but didn't get comparable accommodation. The air conditioning unit in our room resembled an old storage heater it was extremely noisy and was right next to the bed. On our arrival we were shown how to use it and when we returned to our room an hour later it was pouring water all over the floor! We couldn't get it sorted as it was late at night and reception was closed. Dawn acted very quickly the next day and it didn't leak again. The bed was comfy but that was all you could say about the room, furniture and bathroom very outdated, however the shower which looked very pathetic was much better than it looked!
We arrived at the hotel at 11pm and then had to go out and buy food. The excuse was they were not allowed to keep food warm but they could provide sandwiches and drinks it wasn't our fault we were delayed and an hour later than expected, although I still don't think they would have fed us. After a three hour flight and two hour transfer food onsite would have been very welcome, especially as we had a very tired three year old with us!
We agree with comments about the staff they were friendly and helpful and when our granddaughter refused to eat they found her some fish fingers! The food was good and a great variety.
The animation team tried hard to motivate people during the day without being pushy, but the evenings were pretty dire. As others have said why can't they do the all inclusive in the poolside bar in the evening too! Much nicer setting.
For a change Ashley the rep was approachable and generally followed through any problems raised.
The Saxaphone bar was awful and entertainment grim, there were a number of broken chairs which we became aware of after our granddaughter managed to tip,one up and bang her head, the leg was damaged and the chair was unstable. The bar staff didn't even apologise when we complained and we saw other damaged chairs still out for use throughout the week. It was always very noisy and didn't encourage us to stay for long.
The pool area was brilliant, the pool good enough to have a swim but also ok for messing about, good for young children too.
We agree with other comments that it's a lovely setting and could be so much better if the rooms were updated and the evening situation sorted out. We would definitely consider going back, as we had a relaxing break.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Last time we stayed here, we were self catering but due to first choice making it all inclusive we had no choice this time to be all in. I use the term loosely, as after eleven o'clock you have to pay. First off, let me just say that the staff were all very friendly and fantastic. The pool as usual was spotless and well maintained although the drain covers around the edge were loose and broken in places and quite frankly were dangerous, that said, it was warm and water clean. The buildings are in need of repair, the pool bar is down to bare wood as the felt had all but disappeared. Our room was in the first block of the resort and was quite frankly awful. It smelt damp as you walked in, the bed linen and towels etc were always damp. The fridge door would not stay shut without a table rammed in front of it and the toilet seat kept falling off. The toilet bin (bearing in mind you cannot put the paper down the loo) wasn't always emptied. The food was well presented, plenty of it, but not too much in the way of choice, especially desserts. We left on Friday, but not before I and many others managed to pick up a nice dose of gastroenteritis. As I said, the staff were all lovely and I feel really sorry for them having to try and make this place work the same as before under these conditions. That said, I am sorry to say I will not be going back. Also, the Saxaphone bar is a joke. The entertainment is fine if you like bingo, loud music and rowdy unruly kids, otherwise you are wasting your money going all in because you will have to go up the road for a decent, quiet drink. The kids had wrecked the play area by the time we had left, just glad we didn't have any with us this time. Rant over.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main part of the complex, near to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerZaf, Manager at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We would like to thank the author for their review and respect all our guests comments and individual opinions. However we would just like to clarify some of the comments that have been raised.
All our rooms are checked before any arrival and anything that is broken is fixed, but sometimes things happen during our guests stay. It is very helpful to us if guests report any problems to reception so we can resolve them as soon as possible. Had any of the mentioned issues been reported we would of happily rectified them.
We inform all our guests on arrival to air their rooms during their stay as Corfu is a very green and hot island which results in high humidity levels between 80-90%, if rooms are not aired after showers or baths and having air conditioning on continuously this leads to a build up of moisture in the rooms causing high levels of condensation.
Regarding the reported illness this was an airborne virus that was confirmed by two separate doctors, and it was a virus that had affected the whole of the island. Once it was confirmed we put in place the procedures from the health and safety for the prevention of spread of infection,and had it under control within 12 hours and have had no other reported cases. It was an unfortunate event to happen to our guests and to the hotel.
We are sorry that you feel that you did not enjoy your holiday and will not return to the Zafiris.
Once again thank you for your review.

The Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the location the pool the food the staff the room the drinks and the cocktail bar was brilliant As we were a couple we didn't use the saxophone bar much but was very happy just sitting by the pool listening to relaxing music and just chilling on an evening . The food was outstanding what a choice really it was more 5* food than 3 From the time we got there from the time we left we were treated like royalty Thanks to all the staff Beautiful place Beautiful people
Terry & Sharon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This zafiris is a nice hotel for what you pay the staff make this hotel what it is and deserve all the prase they get last year the animation team you couldn,t fault but this years are rubbish they must work 2 hours a day the rest of the time they sat around talking
Last year the manager put on tripadvisor that they would be changes depending on the budget the only changes I could see from last year was the new outdoor restaurant for passing trade and waitress service for these people.
I do really love this hotel it just needs some love and attention

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomasmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent secluded location, extremely safe environment, brilliant food choices, friendly staff, clean rooms, well kept grounds.

Ignore the negative reviews, some people are just idiots. We had nothing to complain about.

Book it up, you'll like it. Facto!

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank gooner1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I would like to start by saying how brilliant all the staff are here with children nothing seems to much for them and the welcome that we recieved was great every breakfast lunch and dinner we had was good and the children loved it as it was simple but enjoyable. george was brilliant he always took time to make sure we where ok along with the rest of the resterant staff they loved our boys and they loved them. The recepion staff where great as well dawn ect all made our 1st family holiday. i can not fault it yes there are parts of the complex that needs looking at but its honest. i was very concerned when we booked this holiday having a 3 year old and a 1 year old and for the first few days clinging on to them to make sure they where ok but as the first few days went past it became a relaxing holiday as if you where at home the pool is great and the views are brilliant so thank you all at the hotel for making our first family holiday a relaxing and enjoyable one and will be back thanks again. freddie josh neil and claire

Room Tip: we had a 2 double bedroom apartment very good and contacted the hotel to make sure we where gnd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oNeil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
8.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#16 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiris Hotel

Address: Canal D'Amor, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sidari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiris Hotel is located in one of the 5 "Must See" areas of Corfu.The hotel aims to provide great customer service in an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zafiris Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing