We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed”
Review of Haroula Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haroula Apartments
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, Wales UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I spent a week in these apartments, supposedly 2*.(The 1* in St George's South, Corfu was nicer). We came as a couple and were not really interested in making friends, so we kept a lot to ourselves. If you are a couple or family looking for friendship and companienship on a holiday, this is your place. It is 2.4km (40min walk)out of town and you can spend all your time beside the pool with the bees and wasps. You can eat on site, which is much more expensive than in town.

The rooms were ok, the beds as hard as rock, but ok. The kitchen had a rusted stove, so we did not enjoy cooking on there. As for the bathroom.......the warm water took 10-15min to heat up and the toilet roll kept on falling on the floor. The accessories were very basic and cheap. We did not watch TV, since it was a mission. The TV was tied down in the kitchen, so we could not move it to the bedroom. We would have had to sit on the stairs with our heads tilted to see the screen, it was so high. We rented a fan for 6 nights for EU 10 - not too bad. Make sure you cover up in mosquito spray as the sun sets.

The bar stayed open from 9am till late - so if you don't take part in Kareoke, be prepared to hear howling/screeching noises till 1am. Taxis cost EU 5 to Sidari. Also, on the Haroula menu, if it says 'special for 2 burgers', it does not mean 2 burgers - it means one double burger. Ask exactly how you will be getting your food. A full English breakfast in town costs EU 2.80 (no coffee/tea included!).

In town, the shop owners are very rude, never greet nor smile (the south is much nicer). The food is good and reasonable - we paid EU2 for a chicken gyros for lunch, absolutely devine. The beers are usually EU 2-3. If you want to do any excursions, go with the red coach or any other tour operator, BUT not with UK tour operators, their prices are 3-4 times more expensive (seriously). Book in town, they are well worth it. Especially the East Coast Boat Cruise and the Paleokastritsa Coach Tour. We ususally rent a scooter on Corfu, BUT not in Sidari. They drive like crazy people (80km/hour on side roads) and there are so many potholes or poles sticking up a few cm in the pavement. If you are walking from Haroula into town, be VERY careful of the cars and scooters, you might have to dive into the ditch on the side of the road.

We had a great time, since we did not spend much time in our flat. We either went to the beach each day or on tour every odd day. We did our own thing. But next year we will be back in the south of Corfu - where people actually smile and enjoy life!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bokdrol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Basic greek style holiday accomadation mainly 2 bed apts run by a friendly family. Thomson say it,s a 20 min stroll out of sidari BUT they don,t say that you have to walk down a very busy 2 car wide country road with no pavements and ditches on each side, not good for those who are hard of hearing or not good on their legs the other alternative is taxi and at 5 euros per trip this can add to the holiday cost , as all the resturants and shops are in sidari you have to make the trip. Sidari is a tired holiday spot in corfu its hardly worth the effort to go there

  • Liked — frendliness of staff
  • Disliked — remotness to nearest resort
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfrompreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

I have just returned from a week at the Haroula apartments.
They are located a fair way out of Sidari. It is a good 30 minutes walk to the centre or a short 5 Euro taxi ride.
Don’t let this put you off staying here. It is in peaceful countryside location. There are only 14 rooms with 4 beds (I think) in each. The rooms are basic but adequate. Ours had a twin room upstairs and one down, a small bathroom (Shower only) and a mall kitchenette/dining area. This had a fridge microwave, oven hobs, kettle, toaster and a large fast fan. There was also a small TV which we never used. On the stairs there is an air conditioning unit which again we never used. There is a free safe for you to use.
Outside there is a nice pool with sun beds. There is a bar/dining area adjacent to the pool area which serves drinks and food all day (no food from 15:00 to 18:00). It has a large screen TV with Sky. It is a family run business each of whom are very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome.
Due to the small amount of people staying here everyone spoke to each other and seemed to get on well.
I would recommend the Haroula to anyone wanting a simple peaceful break. Again I reiterate don’t let the distance from Sidari put you off the place.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_St_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Considering we only booked this the day before the arrived we couldn't have been more pleased.

The reviews previously read were definitely true...the family at the hotel are friendly, helpful, chatty, funny...Dimitri cooks fantastic, large and very reasonable food (breakfast baguettes, Salads or Melts are a must!) whilst Makis is a great evening barman who's measures equally match the size of the food! Though don't expect to much from his music!

The pool is fantastic, as are the number of sunbeds and space for them. The rooms are simply and spacious but definitely at the top end of what you would expect for only a 2 star. Rooms are cleaned daily. It has an extremely safe feel about the place too.

The walk to the edge of town is 20 mins and you will find a large supermarket and plenty of bars and restaurants here without the loud music of the town centre which is a further 10 min walk (as is the main beach). As to which are the best places, well that really depends on personal choice.

Hire a car for a couple of days (best place is Value Plus cars, and this is the nearest too) - the owners were very helpful and deliver & collect the car. Definitely cheaper than going with the agents. You must go to Sunset beach, as well as the coasts both east & west as there are far more, and better beaches here.

Enjoy your holiday there...we did

Jane & Graeme

  • Liked — The friendly family who own it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petalpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
1.3 mi away
Katsaros
Katsaros
#22 of 39 in Sidari
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Polyxeni Hotel
Polyxeni Hotel
#38 of 39 in Sidari
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eleni Family Apartments
Eleni Family Apartments
#29 of 39 in Sidari
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Domenico Hotel
Domenico Hotel
#18 of 39 in Sidari
62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maria's Beach Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haroula Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haroula Apartments

Property: Haroula Apartments
Address: | on the way from Sidari to Magoulades, Sidari 49801, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Haroula Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haroula Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing