We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super holiday at Damia”
Review of Damia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Damia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just back from a super holiday at Damia's. We were very nervous on arrival at this hotel after reading some negative comments about how friendly the owner and staff were. How wrong can people be!!! Damia, her family and staff were all excellent. Very friendly and attentive. We were greeted on arrival by Damia and Anna with a refreshing juice drink and shown to our rooms personally by Damia. The rooms were clean and comfortable and overlooked the pool which was kept spotlessly clean. Anna who works during the day was lovely, Alex and Dimitri who ran the bar of an evening were very friendly and funny to talk to - many a late night at the bar being entertained. Damia was an excellent source of information and booked a trip to Aqualand and Corfu town for us. I would highly recommend to get her to book your airport transfer, it is an additional 100 euros but takes only 40 mins door to door was very reliable and takes away any stress. The food was gorgeous - you have to try Damia's mousakka and lamb kleftico - delicious!!! Sidari town and beach are a 15-20mins walk but we loved that because we had a leisurely stroll into town but it was quiet to sleep. Sidari strip had lots of bars and restaurants to choose from to suit all ages. We travelled as a party of 6 ages ranging from 16 to 70 and everyone found something enjoyable. The Family, The Greek Tavern, the Mediteraneo and the Sea Breeze were all excellent to eat in. We had an amazing 2 weeks and were very sad to leave. Would definitely go back to this hotel - outstanding value for money. Well done Damia and the team.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Greece since before our 8 year old daughter was born & first ever to Corfu. It will certainly not be our last! Damia's hotel was the perfect choice. The location was perfect for us as we quickly got used to the 15-20 min walk in to Sidari. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of being just outside the town but also the close proximity to Peroulades village with the gorgeous sunset beach and fabulous Bikoli's restaurant.
Damia was the perfect hostess. She found the right balance of friendly, helpful and informative. There was never any pressure to eat on the premisis, stay by the pool or purchase snacks and drinks only from the bar. We ate 3 times in a fortnight at the restaurant and only purchased snacks and drinks occasionally and this was never a problem.
The rooms had basic (typical for Greece) equipment but perfectly adequate for the purpose. They were cleaned regularly and were comfortable.
All the staff in this hotel were very friendly and worked very hard. The pool area and grounds were kept immaculately clean and were beautifully maintained. I cannot think for the life of me, what anyone would have to criticise about this hotel and the small group who did a few weeks ago, l can only assume had a personal issue with Damia, it is certainly not representative of the experience we, or anyone else we spoke to, had.
Come to this hotel and enjoy your stay, we wholeheartedly recommend it!
Many thanks to Damia and all her staff for being an important part of what has been our best family holiday so far!
Cathie, Eddie and Caitlin. x <3

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KingsofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

just got back from damia,s hotel and had a great time on arrival Damia greeted us with a refreshing drink on the house and saw us personally to our room the room was clean and comfortable and overlooked the pool as do all the rooms ..the staff where friendly helpful and polite and Dimitri and Alex were a good laugh when we got back to the bar in the early hours..Sidari strip is around a 15 min walk which is ok in the early evening we just got a taxi back after a night on the town relaxing days but plenty of bars and restaurants in Sidari at night ...the only down side was the bus ride from and to the airport which should be 45 mins but could take up to 1hr 30 min after drop offs ..The hotel and staff including Damia herself were great and we will be going back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymoo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Myself and 6 other friends went on a stag and decided to stay at Damia Hotel back in June. Yes, we had read the reviews about it being a quiet place meant for couples/family but we didnt want the chaos of Kavos! and wanted to have relaxing days mixed with energetic nights.

We certainly made the right choice. It was an absolute pleasure staying there and the hospitality was first class.

Let me talk about the hotel first. I myself had booked separately from my friends and was hoping i could be placed near them. On arrival the lovely owner Damia made sure i had my room on the same floor as the other three rooms which really pleased me and started my experience fabulously. The apartments were clean and fairly spacious and the swimming pool was a very good size that was kept clean and was relaxing to swim in as the day temperature became sizzling. Food at the hotel was lovely. We had breakfast every day there and ate on occasions lunch and dinner which had a good variety.

The hotel is not actually in Sidari, but only a 15 minute walk to the town centre. Its location is tranquil and has a supermarket only a minute walk away which had everything you needed. The hotel is also not far away from sunset beach which is a must place to go in the day and also in the evening at the lovely bar to see the most amazing sunset into the sea.

What made our trip great was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. They made a real effort to make you feel welcome and never stopped smiling which is a true attribute. I've been all over the world and have had many experiences of rude staff that do not take that extra step to make their customers happy. Damia and all her staff members were fantastic and all us guys really felt welcome. Praise goes to the lovely Anna and Alex bar staff, Stewart and Marie in the kitchen and also Damia's son Dimitri as bar staff, who incidentally, I beat at pool so England defeated Greece!! Rematch will come in the future Dimitri ;). And of course Damia herself who attended to all our needs and gave us as much advice and information as possible. We thank you.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to have a nice and pleasant trip in Corfu and would conclude that for a 3 star hotel, it gives 5 star service...........

Room Tip: Corner suites slightly larger.....I would recommend AC to feel fresh and keep the bugs out the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunShine2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After reading a couple of negative reviews i was a bit weary of meeting Damia as I'm not very good at meeting new people as it especially if i feel under pressure. However, she welcomed up and was very polite. Throughout our stay we ate breakfast and lunch once and probably had a drink at the hotel bar about 3 times, however not Damia or any of the staff made me and my boyfriend feel that we should eat and drink more there. Drinks averaged at the same price as everywhere else, food was a little more but thats what you expect at any hotel. Every room looks over the pool and the pool always looks clean and presentable. The strip is a 15 minute walk, at times this was exhausting as you're walking in the blazing sun but walking this in the early evening when it was cooler was a lot better. There are a number of beaches around this part of the island, all of which are beautiful. Plenty of good places to eat on the strip, ate out every night for 10 nights in different places and enjoyed each and every one. At the end of our stay Damia made a point of personally saying goodbye, gave us a kiss and wished us a safe journey, she seems a very genuine caring person, it annoys me that someone writing negative comments previously has made people either not book to stay at Damias or go in there with minds already half made up about her. Would 100% recommend this hotel due to the staff, cleanliness and location. We left on 18th July and just wish we was back there!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After reading some good and not so good reviews about the hotel me and my partner were bait apprehensive about booking the holiday as it was our first one together however we took the plunge and are more than happy we did!
We were welcomed at the Damia by Damia herself and offered a refreshing drink on the house before being shown to our room! The room was lovely and overlooked the pool as all rooms do! Although it was basic it had everything you would expect and need from a room and with the beautiful weather in Sidari who wants to be in the room all holiday anyway! On the days where we spent time relaxing in the hotel we found it to be very peaceful and relaxing and had no problems getting a sun lounger. Damia doesn't allow people to eat and drink their own foods by the pool, however the drinks and snacks are no more expensive than if you we're to buy them from the local supermarket a minute down the road so this wasn't a problem! The pool area, bar and restaurant were always immaculately cleaned and the pool was the biggest and nicest pool of any other we seen in Sidari! As for the staff, from the cooks to the cleaners and bar staff (including Damia herself) they are the most friendly and polite staff I've seen from any other hotel I've been too and were always asking how we were and how our day had been- special shout outs to the bar staff who made our holiday memorable with their great personalities and humour!
Sidari itself we found to be alot more quieter than other holiday destinations so if your thinking of going for a party holiday I wouldn't recommend it, our favourite attractions were the canal d'amour, the sunset beach and panorama bar and Sidari beach where we went on boats and relaxed on sun loungers which were occupied by bars offering their all day long service! All places were around at 15-20 minute walk from Damias, strongly advise walking during the daytime but getting a taxi at night as the country lanes can be quite dangerous to walk down due to lack of street lightening. Favourite places to eat in included the three little pigs restaurant and one further up which was a steak house, also a Chinese above bed bar which become our favourite bar for breakfast and relaxing during the day! Night time entertainment we definitely recommend Bollero bar!
On the whole we had a perfect first holiday as a couple and if we were to come back to Sidari again then we wouldn't consider staying at any other hotel other than the Damia.
Thank you Damia and all other staff!

Room Tip: All rooms overlooked the pool and have a balcony we stayed in 107 over the bar and entertainment are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

ARRIVAL
We arrived at Damia hotel on the 14th July 2013 for a week's holiday. After booking through 'On The Beach' and receiving confirmation we were taken aback when Damia (hotel manager) politely told us that we had in fact not booked a room. She then led my fiancé into her office and showed him the email that she sent to 'On The Beach' which stated that she was fully occupied. However, after being served some cooling refreshments on the house we were allocated a room and were told that we would have to swap rooms half way through the week. This didn't bother us at all. It was clear that the fault was from 'On The Beach' and Damia bent over backwards to accommodate us at short notice and was very welcoming indeed.

ROOMS
The rooms are what you would expect of a 2 star self catering hotel- basic but very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning could be bought for 60euros for the week which you probably don't need as the rooms have curtains which- if you keep closed- keep the heat out well, but my fiancé likes to sleep in an ice box! Other reviews have stated the bathroom was dirty and smelly; although the facilities were not brand spanking new they were clean and functional. We complained about the pressure of our shower in our first room and it was fixed the same day with a new hose being installed by Dimitris (Damia's son) with no hesitation and with a smile.
Damia also gave us a plug in for the mosquitos after seeing how badly bitten my fiancé was and even gave us some cream for the bites- if that's not service then I don't know what is. I really don't see what some of the other reviewers are talking about.

POOL/BAR
The pool is much bigger than all the other hotels in Sidari (most of which are right on the road) and it was always spotless. There were plenty of sun beds to go around- you needn't get up early to put a towel out which is great and no matter what time of day you could always get a bed in the sun or the shade whichever you prefer.
The bar staff come around the poolside often and ask if they can get you anything from the bar which is great and the drinks are served in frozen 'glasses' around the pool to keep you cool.
The bar staff were absolutely excellent- Dimitris, Alexandros and Anna- all very friendly and a good laugh. Every time you saw them they ask 'How are you?' and ask what had you been up to that day.
Some reviewers have said that the staff were cold towards them if they thought you weren't eating and drinking in the hotel- what a pack of lies! We ate out every night with the exception of one evening plus the Greek Night (BBQ with all the Greek trimmings and Greek dancing for 7euros) and we still received the best treatment from all the staff, and even being given drinks on the house as it was our last night. We were also offered free Greek lessons from Alexandros and they were more than happy to help you out translating various phrases and words- from the serious questions to the very silly!

THINGS TO DO
Damia booked us a trip to Aqualand (an hour's coach trip from the hotel) which is well worth a visit. Being two big kids- 23 and 26- we loved it. We payed 30euros each and that included your park entry and pick up and drop off on the door step.
Also worth a visit is Paleokastritza. We went by boat from Sidari harbour (19 euros each) and it took and hour and a half- just don't have too much to drink the night before as it is a small ferry and a choppy boat ride! The cliffs you see along the way are amazing to look at and the bay itself at Paleo is stunning with crystal clear waters. It looks like something from Thailand.
We also enjoyed a cliff jump off the rocks at Canal D'Amour- this was free! Beware if you are not a strong swimmer though as it is quite hard to swim back in to the side and climb out!
Sidari beach, where we spent most of our time, is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Leave early to avoid the scorching heat! Or it's 5 euros for a taxi if you are feeling lazy.
The nearest supermarket and Tavernas are only a 5-10 minute walk away from the hotel.

RESTAURANTS
Visit 'The Orchard' for the best traditional Greek food. This is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Also 'Greek Village and Bablyon Bar' (on the beach front) is also worth a visit.
The food in the hotel was also excellent the night we dined there, we shared Tsaziki and Pitta Bread then I had a Greek Salad which was about 6 euros and my fiancé had the special that day of Spaghetti and Meatballs which was also reasonably priced. A jug of wine (about 500ml) costs you just 5 euros so all very affordable and the service- as always- was excellent.

OVERALL
We really enjoyed our week in Corfu staying at the Damia Hotel. The staff are really what made the holiday so good. If you are looking for an affordable stay in Corfu and don't mind a walk into the buzz of things then we strongly recommend you stay here.

Thank you to all at the Damia Hotel- you really made our holiday amazing! We will be back!

Abbie & David <3

Room Tip: We stayed in 207 in the building across from the bar and then 105 directly above the bar and both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#1 of 39 in Sidari
552 reviews
3 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
36.4 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.9 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damia Hotel

Address: Sidari Main, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidari
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Price Range: £34 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Damia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a FREE-form pool and restaurant, Hotel Damia is 1 km from a beach in the coastal village of Sidari. It offers self-catered accommodation with FREE Wi-Fi and terrace or balcony overlooking the pool and the forest. Canal d' Amour Beach is 800 metres away. A kitchenette with an electric kettle, fridge and coffee/tea facilities is included in all the air-conditioned studios. The bathroom is stocked with free toiletries and a hairdryer. They offer either a garden, pool or mountain views. A choice of a Continental or a Full English breakfast is offered every morning in the bright dining area. The property includes a poolside snack bar and bar for quick meals and refreshments. Kids can enjoy their own paddling pool and playground. Free BBQ facilities are provided. A bus stop is located 100 metres from the property. Private parking can be found on site at no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damia Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing