We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this hotel (hostel)”
Review of Polyxeni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polyxeni Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“avoid this hotel (hostel)”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

don't be fooled by the pictures you see of the reception/pool area of this place because behind this is the cell block. the only difference though is cell blocks are cleaner.how they have the nerve to call this a hotel we will never know ? at best its a hostel. we have been visiting Greece and corfu over the last 12 years and we just know not to expect to much. what we have allways found are clean appartments and nice people. not here the cleaning is dire the place is in dire need of a major overhaul and so is the owner .even the pool area which looks nice is in need of work, the steps are coming away the safety rails around the childrens pool had gaffer tape holding them. in a two week stay our sheets were changed once and that was after we had pestered the owner to do something. the rooms were not cleaned every day. we spent most of our time as did some other families at the Amadeus pool and bar where their was a decent pool and food and nice staff on hand. other guests from poxyeni told us of their encounters with pmt toula and the state of the appartments and thought it best not to complain and just sleep and shower at the place.in my daughters room. the smoke alarm started bleeping we asked if it could be looked at as it kept the children awake. they took it away but it never came back. in the same apartment the toilet started leaking and failed to flush. they silicone it messed with it and from the second day until we left it still didn't work. the window locks were brokenholes in doors mould in every room, then my mobile phone went missing. no fuss or accusations were made and it was mentioned to peggy Mitchel(toula) after she came upafter I had contacted the holiday company about the state of the place.she went of like a mad woman and said im going to report it to the police in which I replied fine as I had records showing I had contacted the phone provider to have it blocked. the police never did show.they don't do food here or icecream. if you or your kids want anything then its 400 metres down the road to the Amadeus. as in Greece your not allowed to bring anything in to the pool area, so as they don't provide anything you have no choice but to treck down the road to the Amadeus which I must say are far superior. take a look at the photos. after we complained about no linen change we stripped the beds and piled the sheets outside this is when we found the horror of mouldy pillows and mattresses.nothing was done about these. all in all a run down prison is how best to describe this place with a controlling owner. the people who have put the review and excellent holiday destination and I think I know who you are as you spent most of the time sitting with the owner(sad). well we have come to our own conclusion as to why your review is so good. please don't waste your money on this place their is nothing their spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I am writing this due to reading the previous review. I am appalled with their review which is totally incorrect as we were there at the same time and there grievance seems to be based on being told not to bring their own beer to the pool area. Which is normal for any accommodation.
We have stopped at Polyxeni for 3years and as always the hospitality is excellent and the team can not do enough for you. They make you feel part of the family. The rooms are very spacious,cleaned daily and maintained.
We have been to Greece for 30 years and polyexni is one of best apartments we have stayed in.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Your extended family

The Pavitt's

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polyexnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

was treated as part of the family and had some great laughs !!..thankyou prokopis tulla and your lovely family for taking care of us xx..tulla your tuna salata was to die for... yummy....sad to leave but will see you all again..thanks again xx

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Great people and a great pool. Yes, the rooms are basic, but you are made to feel like family and that's worth more than a room that you don't spend any time in. The resort is perfect for both families and teenagers; the main Sidari strip is about 15 mins walk away, but the hotel is quietly situated.

There are some excellent hotels and restaurants very close by; namely: First Choice - Sunshine (not to be confused with the Sunshine Resort) and the Corfu Parmar. The people here will make you feel just as welcome, but my family has grown up at Polyxeni and they keep asking to go back. As long as the kids are happy, so am I!

PS: Kids are 22, 19,17, 14 and 12 and we've been there for the last 4 years.

You are assured of a kind welcome by Tula, Tasos and Prokopis.

Room Tip: Rooms are basis and not great if you want to cook family meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Had a great holiday after getting used to the cockerel crowing every morning from 4! Staff were brilliant, helped us with our bags at 11pm and looked after our case which we left behind!
Would recommend if you don't mind walking as its 20 mins to the beach and 5-10 mins to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophieljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Prokopis, Tula and the rest of the family made us feel welcome and relaxed. As everyone has pointed out, the rooms are basic but on the occasions that we actually had problems staff went out of their way to fix them (a daughter locked herself in the bathroom and a member of staff climbed through the tiny window to rescue her!!)
The pool was a pleasant size and there were plenty of sunbeds so it never felt crowded. The bar serves snacks during the day and then the bar and pool are both open until the last guest leaves - our teenage daughters thought that swimming at 3am was the best thing about the holiday!! A real family feel to the bar - music was played via a laptop and most music was played at guests' request. Although the facilities are basic, there is no way you would get this relaxed and friendly experience in a more formal hotel.
The location is fantastic - a few minutes to supermarket and restaurants and about 15 minutes to Sidari town centre and 'the strip' where nightclubs, restaurants and shops provided nightly entertainment.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

For the welcome the family run hotel gave us all through our 2weeks stay.we found the studio app was clean. The air con was great hot water on tap, pool clean and plenty of sun_ loungers , but most of all Tasos Tula. Prokopis work so hard to make your holiday the best ever. Plenty of restaurants close by short walk to the beach.will definitely go back next year .

Room Tip: Family of 4 or more book a maisonettes . Couple book a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.4 mi away
Eleni Family Apartments
Eleni Family Apartments
#28 of 39 in Sidari
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Sidari
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haroula Apartments
Haroula Apartments
#25 of 39 in Sidari
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 39 in Sidari
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polyxeni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polyxeni Hotel

Property: Polyxeni Hotel
Address: Peroulades, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Polyxeni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polyxeni Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing