We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall we enjoyed staying at Orestis”
Review of Orestis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orestis Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My two teenage (15, 13) kids and I stayed here for 1 week in August 2014.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at these apartments and I would recommend them to people looking for what these apartments have to offer.
The good bits:
- Location a nice quiet area with a nice beach just 10 metres away. You can lay on the pool sun loungers and just nip into the sea! It is a easy 5 minute walk to the main centre, passing a few tavernas and 'convenience stores' on the way.
- Pool area plenty of sunbeds and padded sunbed cushions and parasols. Pool clean and pool area generally clean. No need to reserve a sunbed!
- Two room apartments - two separate bedrooms (only 1 has air-con €5/day) each with separate access to the patio/terrace.
- Separate kitchen/dining area (so no trying to sleep with the fridge making noises all night).
- Space - the apartments are a good size and the grounds and pool are nice and spacious for the number of rooms (I think about 14). Holiday makers with young kids were often playing on the well kept grass areas around the apartments.
- Nice shutter doors out to the patio - let air in whilst keeping the room cool and darkened.
- Sidari - having been a bit nervous that it may be a bit 'brash' for us we enjoyed the resort - nice beaches, lots of shops, nice food (Greek and international), and bars for those who wanted them but nothing too wild.
Not so good bits:
- Emailed and also tried contacting through the apartment's website form with a question about arrival but no one ever got back to me (I suppose I could have tried phoning if it had been urgent).
Kitchen pots, pans and utensils rather limited (a common problem everywhere).
- The cleaning of the room could have been improved. The big cobweb and spiders just behind the main door was never cleaned away. I asked for new towels after 4 days and was told not available until the next day. Ran out of toilet roll as we were generally not left enough.
- The free wifi around the pool area was rather flaky for a few days (we could have just been unlucky).
My daughter thinks that I should only give the apartments 3 out of 5 due to these last two points (but I think she'e being too harsh).
But as I say overall we enjoyed it and I would definitely be happy to stay there again, and I think these small apartments are probably some of the best of their size in Sidari.
Other notes based on earlier comments:
We were on the ground floor and had no problem with ants (if you do just ask for a spray). We had no problems with mosquitoes at Orestis (there were plug in anti mosquito gadgets in each of our rooms).
Orestis apartments, and Sidari generally, could do with a bit of TLC (and road improvements) but this is a Greek island and things at not as 'sophisticated' as the Balearics for example. Plus these have been difficult times for Greece. But everywhere was friendly and I thought Corfu, Sidari, and Orestis apartments provided good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our first time t sidari in Corfu and loved it, went with my sister and 2 children (11 & 8 yrs). Such lovely clean apartments, great pool, location and owner very friendly. However had problems with air con frm day 1, which was reported t staff at bar who said someone wd come t check It but no one did. I then asked a further 2 times about this and felt as though I was bothering the staff, on our second last night I was told by bar staff someone fixed it. I was also told it had nt been switched on but I wasn't convinced by this as it was working t some extent as in making a noise bt very little cold air coming out!
We spent each night sweltering in 30 + degrees heat, my youngest child was very uncomfortable. Having paid 5 euro each night in advance I expected I wd b offered a refund but I wasn't especially if it " wasn't switched on!" This was disappointing and I also felt staff were very unhelpful as per comment. This tainted what wd have been a perfect stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Should have been staying at The Beach Star Hotel next door but when we arrived they had overbooked so were taken next door to these apartments. It was late and dark and myself and female friends were very apprehensive. When we woke in the morning what a fantastic place and beautiful view.
Pool with lots of sun loungers ( no ones fighting for any each morning ) and a nice bar which sells great little snacks and very reasonable prices.

Staff .. especially Angela and Liz were very friendly and helpful and spoke really good English which was a blessing seeing I know nothing of Greek !


Our studio room was clean and spacious ...only complaint was the shower was awful and change temp all by itself or pressure would drop to nil. It was reported and the maintenance man did try and help ( he lives in one of the apartments too and keeps an eye on things which is reassuring ).

Very quiet area of Sidari with a lovely beach and the strip with shops , clubs and bars only a 10 min walk.
We have booked again for 2015 as we feel the rooms are at a great price for where you are and we had such a fab time.

Depending on season I would recommend the air con at 5 euros a night.
Suitable for all ages as there's something for everyone !!
One bit of advice ...don't worry about changing money into Euros before you leave the UK ..lots of places 10 mins away with great rates. ( Got 1.23 in the UK and then got 1.26 in Sidari )

Would highly recommend spending 10 euros in a taxi and visiting Sunset Beach ... stunning !!!

Room Tip: Recommend the Friday night Greek Night ... good fun and lovely food. Also recommend the bar * One f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAXINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Orestis apartments are situated in an ideal spot, close enough to the night life to have a good time and feel safe walking home, not so close you get all the noise. It's only a stone throw away from a very beautiful beach too. The owner and his son were lovely, always happy to chat and get to know you! The bar staff came across as quite rude and it often seemed like we were a burden. The wifi worked around the pool, but not in the rooms, you also had to pay to use the TV or AirCon. The pool was lovely and well maintained with plenty sunbeds too. However, the room we stayed in left a lot for the imagination, with plug sockets hanging out of the walls, cracks in the walls and broken locks on the door. We were told aircon was included when in fact, you had to pay 5 euros a day if you wanted to use it, but it didn't work unless the key was in the door. Our room wasn't cleaned for 3 days, nor were we given toilet roll for 3 days!! We had to ask to have some toilet roll and some towels! Sheets changed once and towels changed once. Overall, a very safe place to stay and ideal if you have children! Very pretty from the outside, but not well maintained on the inside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank meganlrobertsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

the orestis has got to be the best place in sidari..nicely situated in the quiet part of sidari but still close enough to the nightlife/restaurants if you want..the apartment we stayed in had plenty of room and kept very clean by the lovely cleaners as were the public areas inside..the garden and pool area were also kept to a very high standard ..the bar is also kept to a very high standard..the food served in the bar was also of high standard very clean and made to order..the hardworking staff and the owner are the most welcoming,friendly,helpfull people you could ever wish to meet..not only that but the people staying at the orestis were great too.(especially young wallace and his family) he did make us smile and we had a great time in the pool with the zoggies..the beach was just across the road at the front..what more could you want..we stayed for 7 nights from the 14/07/14 and enjoyed every minute of our stay and was very sad to leave...so thanks to everyone we met..and a big well done orestis keep up the good work.. we will be back next year..peace and love everyone!! sean&debbie..xxx

Room Tip: every room is a good room at the orestis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

met on arrival by the owner and Angela (bar staff) who were very friendly and welcoming. our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious, clean and tidy. we travelled with our 2 children who are 9 and 15 and the pool area was great for them and us....lots of space with a deep and shallow area as well as a small kids pool....pool always spotless and well maintained, as were the grounds and gardens. the bar area is right at the poolside and the service was excellent thanks to Angela, Lizzie and the blond one (sorry, forgot your name)...they couldn't have been more helpful and are a credit to the business. We will absolutely return to this place and were not the only family there to say so.......well done Orestis.
At the quiet end of town but only 5 min stroll to main part....sea right across the road so you can leave the pool area and be in the sea in under 20 seconds if you fancy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scottwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

So we just returned from our holiday, was with the whole family of 14! The apartments were stunning along with the bar area and the staff were amazing! They did their very best to keep the entertainment going at night, especially with our daughter who loves dancing! The situation is right on the beach and a 5 min walk to Main strip. I can only say that will recommend to anyone and hopefully returning next year! Simply amazing! Also the personal touches like the owner talking to you is great, he is a very nice guy and we loved bar staff liz and angela!!
Thanks again guys.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0 mi away
Beach Star Hotel
Beach Star Hotel
#18 of 39 in Sidari
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orestis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orestis Apartments

Address: Main Street, Sidari 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Sidari
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orestis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Atrapalo and Stayforlong S.L. so you can book your Orestis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orestis Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing