We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Palmar Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmar Apartments
Ranked #10 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sidari
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Corfu Palmar and I have 11 weeks to wait before I go back it's that good! We actually rebooked before we even left.
The family totally make this holiday and that's a fact. We wanted a relaxing holiday and we got it as well as a lot of fun and some great friends in Costas, Evie, Spiros, Maria and the girls. The apartments themselves are perfectly comfortable, the pool is great and the bar is brilliant either to stay at for an evening meal or to return to after an evening out and stays open until the last person leaves. Nothing is too much trouble. Absolutely the best place to stay in Sidari. Did I mention I can't wait to go back?!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is definately a difficult review to write. Let me start by saying that me and my husband had a wonderful holiday and fell in love with Corfu. Costa, Spiros and their families couldnt have been more welcoming, and it was nice to be in a hotel that wasnt a chain for a change. The personal touch really did make a difference, and with only 14 appartments the whole place place felt relaxing and friendly. However, the appartments, although nice, were not perfect. I agree with another reviewer who said that the family play to their strengths, and that is their hosting skills.
The appartments are clean, but basic. We paid extra for a one bedroomed one, but afer seeing a studio, would have prefered that. Our balcony opened off the bedroom, so the dark and uninviting living area was never used. The kitchen facilities were also very basic, with the bare minumum of pots etc. There were no bowls, and we had to ask our next door neighbour for a bread knife.
The balcony itself was very small with no views. They were joined onto the neighbours, so it was like we were all sitting together! Luckily they were nice people, but it could have been very different. We were so close that you couldnt even have a personal conversation.
The beds were very hard, and we both woke up with aches and pains. Also, the hair drier didnt work.
On a positive note, the pool area was lovely and the food was good. However, I dont think it was any better than other restaurants we tried. I get the feeling that Maria the cook (and mum) was very good at traditional Greek dishes, but I'm a vegetarian, and there was little on offer other than snack type foods.
The location is good, and Sidari itself has something for everybody: a 'strip', quite walks, stunning scenery, beaches and coves, good restaurants......there is also a local bus to several other lovely places, and hiring a boat to go around the coast is definately a must.
Prices are not extortionate, but not really cheap either. I would say they are fairly comparable to the UK.
Would I return to the Palmar? Even after all Ive said, the answer is probably yes! It certainly has its charm, and we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have more privacy and a better view. Studios are better value for money. Take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rainbow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just spent a lovely week at the Palmar Hotel with Spiros, Costas and their family. The apartments were very clean and well equiped. Marias cooking is of the highest standard and as good as you will get in Sidari. The main shopping and bar area is about a 10 to 15 minute walk, however there are a few shops and bars close by. A supermarket is located about 50 meters from the hotel. Several of the guests at the hotel during our stay were return visitors and it's clear that about 80% of guests have visited previously. Would we return ? in short yes, probably in September for another relaxing week at the Palmar. Thinking of booking ? do it, you will not be disappointed ! A great little hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: Try the Palmar Steak ! enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Words cant express how much we loved our stay at palmar immediately felt welcome, at home and part of the family nothing was to much trouble. The food was wonderful mamas cooking is second to none. Very clean in all areas on every level! lovely modern rooms lovely fresh linen and fluffy towels. Relaxing and peaceful by day round the pool, and so warm and inviting by night with a great atmosphere lots of fun and great company at the bar :). I left feeling like id been on a 5 star spa break the best time of my life we are already booked to come back to where we feel our home is and our family :) xxx
Tracey & Ian (yanni)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianbailey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Clean, good food, run by a very friendly family, cheap local beer in the bar which is nice, greeted with some cake and orange juice after our long flight. Close to canal d'amour, a lovely beach. Restaurants a 2 minute walk and the main strip is around a 5-10minute walk. Not long at all. Had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend to anyone. Going to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mabel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

hotel was fantastic, ran by a lovely family. loved it that much i cried when i was leaving cant wait to return next year. the food was cooked by maria and must say it is delicious, costas and spyros ran the ran bar and they make the best cocktails ever.
miss you all loads xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Just returned from my second visit to the palmer and had another amazing time! The people that run the hotel make you feel welcome from the minute you get there and make it impossible to not want to return! Costas and Spiros kept us all entertained at the bar and the Greek night was very good and allowed us to get to know everyone really well and make some good friends! The food at the hotel, cooked by Maria, is amazing and very good value!
Had an amazing time and cannot wait to go back next year to see the whole family again! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess_marsh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.3 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#15 of 39 in Sidari
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#9 of 39 in Sidari
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmar Apartments

Property: Palmar Apartments
Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sidari
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Palmar Apartments Hotel Sidari
Palmar Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing