We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Jimmy's Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jimmy's Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Having driven through Sidari a few years earlier both my Wife and I said that we would not stay there in a million years. After seeing a late minute deal with SkyTours (part of First Choice group) to Jimmy’s Apartments and reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to give it a go.

What a fantastic holiday it turned out to be staying at Jimmy’s Apartments. Both my Wife and I stayed at the apartments from 10-17 Sep 10. Jimmy’s Apartments consists of 2 blocks with a total of 22 rooms. The apartments are located on the Sidari to Roda road. The road can be quite busy at times during the day but you soon forget about the traffic noise. The blocks were traditional Greek style and immaculately kept. We were greeted by Jimmy’s daughter Nia who quickly showed us to our room (103 in the new build block). We were shown how to use the key card to operate the electricity and were left to unpack. The room was extremely spacious with a sleeping and eating area complete with shower/WC room. The Self-catering studio consisted of a fully equipped kitchen including a tin opener. All the supplied items were more than sufficient to enable you to cook anything if required. There was an air conditioning unit in the room at 35 euros a week (this may differ in other months) after reading other reviews. The room was extremely clean and tidy and was cleaned every day if you left the ‘make up my room’ door handle card. The cleaner ‘Sofia’ was very responsive if you tried your ‘bestest’ Greek on her as her English is not good. A word of warning, if you ask to have your room made both the front doors and the patio doors were wedged open to allow airing of the room prior to cleaning. The simple solution to this was to put your valuables into a day bag and take them with you to the pool or if you go out. That said you can hire a safe from the bar for 1 euro a day. To be fair the fact that the doors were left open did not worry us one bit, just take your valuables with you. The towels which consisted of 2 x Bath towels and 2 x hand towels were changed once during our stay on the Wednesday. The beds are hard and there are more pillows available if you ask (not a problem). Our balcony looked out onto the lush green gardens with Palm trees and Oleander bushes with views to the pool. We had no problems with mosquitoes during our stay but there was evidence of them. We took a course of Garlic capsules a week before and during our stay. We had 2 electric ‘mozzie’ balls which were plugged in at night and we sprayed ‘deet’ on our ankles and arms before we went out at night to eat. Neither of us was bitten during our stay.

The Pool was fantastically clean and a good size (1.2 meters in the shallow end and 2.2 meters in the deep end). There is also a child pool at the end of the main pool. The pool was surrounded by the most lush green grass and mature Palm trees, bushes and potted flowers. There are more than enough sun beds to go around. There was no requirement to put your towels out early (we sat around the pool at 0930hrs every day and we were the only ones there).

The bar area was well laid out with sufficient tables for guests to eat in. There is a varied menu of snacks such as toasted sandwiches and a full English breakfast if you wanted it (4.50 euros at time of writing). We did not try the breakfast but it was popular with other guests and it was very comprehensive including English Bacon, Sausage, beans, toast, juice etc.

There was a wide variety of drinks available. The draught beer was Amstel’s which was 2.90 Euros a pint (cheapest in Sidari was 1.70 Euros for a pint of Mythos but the average was 2 Euros). There were plenty of cocktails on offer at 4.90 Euros each. All soft drinks were branded coke etc. A diet coke in a bottle was 1.50 Euros. During the evening the bar was run by Athena and Jimmy. Athena was extremely professional and kept everyone entertained by her wittiness and expertise. Athena’s Father also runs ‘Nick the Greek’ motorbike hire in Sidari. We happened to hire a quad bike at a drop of a hat with a quick phone call by Athena to her Dad.

Yes we were asked if we wanted to go to Jimmy’s BBQ on the Wednesday night, but did not feel pressured into going. They just needed to know number for feeding. We did go and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company. At the time of writing it was 13 Euros each and worth every cent. Jimmy and his Wife cooked the food to perfection. You had to choose between, Steak, Pork or Chicken. I tried both the chicken which my wife had and the pork which were both beautiful.

To get into Sidari centre there were 3 options. Option 1: Taxi 5 Euros. Option 2: To walk along the main road to Sidari 15 Mins but can be quite dangerous because of the traffic. Option 3: Turn left out of Jimmy’s walk for about 50 meters then turn left down a dirt track. Remain on the track which passes Sidari water park and you will eventually reach the beach. Turn left and follow the track into Sidari. This is the preferred option for safety reasons and will also take 15 mins to Sidari centre.

There were more than enough choice of eateries in Sidari from English to Greek menus and also plenty of bars and cafés. We would recommend ‘Madison’s’ great food both English and Greek. The location was right in the middle of Sidari with a decked are which looked over the beach (2 Euros a pint of Mythos).There are the usual gift shops and places where you can organise trips. We used ‘Vlasseros’ on the main road and booked a cruise to Parga on the Greek Mainland and to the small Island of Paxos off the bottom of Corfu for 50 Euros for the two of us. This included the bus to Corfu harbour to catch the boat. We had an excellent day out and would fully recommend it.

In summary, Jimmy’s Apartments are immaculately kept, clean, tidy and well equipped. The Hosts (Jimmy, Mama, Nia, Athena and Sofia the cleaner) were very professional and extremely proud of what they do. The fact that the whole operation was run by 5 individuals is testament to how we felt about our stay there. Their hospitality was second to none. Would we go back? Yes without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank garethdibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    16
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed at Jimmy's and had a really great time. Lovely clean apartments with basic utilities supplied - can opener, cutlery etc. Only difference I could see between the 2T and 3T is that we had to buy our own loo rolls! Had a brilliant time at the BBQ - food was plentiful and the best quality. Fun and games had by all and was nice to meet up with other residents on a social basis. Cleaning done daily and only once were doors and patio doors left open when she changed the bedding but not a problem as I gather it is quite a safe place to leave doors open (like how UK used to be)...however if you put the Do Not Disturb on your door the cleaner keeps out so you have peace of mind if down at the beach all day. Would definitely go back and hope to in near future. Lovely clean, restful, quiet apartments and Jimmy and Nia are there as and when you need them. Both were extremely pleasant and left you to it or if you wanted a natter they'd be more than happy to comply. Please go you'll not be disappointed!! Will definitely fo back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopePitstop75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Having read all the other reviews we were quite looking forward going to Jimmy’s, but what we didn’t reckon on was the lack of sleep we would be getting! Jimmy’s is situated on the main road and if your apartment is at the front of the complex then all you could hear at night was traffic thundering past, because it was so hot we kept the balcony doors open (air conditioning was 60 euros a week) and so it made it impossible to sleep. Yes the bar was fun and lively but when the music and noise went on till late it was no fun when you were trying to sleep, you would expect the bar to close at a certain time but no apparently it was kept open till the last person went home! My children made makeshift earplugs out of tissues
If it wasn’t for the noise, Jimmy’s would have made a good base for our holiday as we were out for most of the day. The swimming pool was a good size and enjoyed by all, we never came across the maid as we often left the apartment early , the bar staff were warm and friendly though my husband felt he had to buy from the bar whilst we used the sun loungers and pool, as for Jimmy well we never got a smile or an acknowledgement from him but then again he might just be a private person so I made a point of saying goodbye to him when we left.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nkk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Just returned from Jimmy's in Sidari arrived early hours of the morning to be greeted in a friendly manner and showed to our apartment, lovely clean and spacious our room was cleaned daily. The apartments and gardens and pool are all kept in a high standard.
We had many laughs in the bar at night getting to know the staff and other visitors the bar stays open until the last visitor leaves. We left feeling very relaxed and happy with our experience at Jimmy's. We would recommend Jimmy's if you want a holiday where you can come and go, or hang around the lovely gardens and pool area. During our stay at Jimmy's we found a brilliant travel agency Vlasros Travel to go on day trips where we got lot's of help and advice from Phillip about getting around Corfu, Coach or boat trips. We recommend the boat cruise as these give you a chance to relax and visit the coastal villages of Corfu. Many thanks to Jimmy, Athena and staff for a wonderful experience in Corfu.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtrees_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Jimmy’s, Sidari, Corfu – first week July 2010

If you are looking for basic good value Greek self catering then we can recommend Jimmy’s. These are the cleanest, best maintained and most well equipped Greek apartments we have stayed at. Having experienced many Greek holidays of this type we were most impressed with what we found. During the day Jimmy and or Nia (his daughter) are always around to assist and in the evenings Jimmy and Athena attend the bar. All three have very good English and are most helpful. A two minute walk will find well equipped local supermarkets but if you are want to just put your feet up there is a good selection of food available from the bar. It appeared the bar stays open until the last guest goes to bed, but as the bedrooms are on the far side of the building this does not disturb those who want an earlier night. There were always plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available around the pool and I often had the use of the pool to myself. Sophia cleaned the rooms every day whilst we were there and obviously took pride in her work.

Jimmy’s is set in a quieter part of Sidari but within easy walking distance of all the facilities. Numbers permitting there is a great BBQ on Wednesdays (the food was really yummy), with a quiz and killer pool to follow, a really good night most recommended.

From traditional Tavernas to busy places for teens and young at heart, Sidari has something for everyone. Just walk down the main road of Sidari and you will get plenty of brochures advertising everything from coach and boat trips to the evening entertainment. Oasis does a traditional Greek evening which was very good and we found The Ark and Salt and Pepper were all good places to eat. If you are up for a longer walk then Mythos Taverna is excellent.

If we return to Sidari we would not look for any other place to stay and met plenty of people at Jimmy’s who return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had a brilliant 2 weeks at Jimmys, lovely clean apartments, great pool area and gardens, bar food and drinks were excellent , the weekly bar b q was brilliant the food was exceptional well worth the money.
Jimmy and his family made us feel very welcome and always had time to talk to everyone who was staying there, Athena who works in the bar was a real laugh and entertained us all holiday.
Thanks for another great holiday
Lou, Mick, Sandra & Steve.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickygNuneaton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I have just arrived back from a 2 week stay at Jimmy’s Apartments. First impressions of the hotel and staff were all good. Although, on the 4th day of my trip that all changed. A stray dog which was outside the accommodation came into the pool area behind me and Jimmy immediately blamed me for the dog being there. I walked into the apartments and the dog followed. Once out of sight of the pool side guests Jimmy spoke to me in the most horrendous manner. This was witnessed by two younger girls. He would not listen to a word I said and became aggressive and confrontational.
To access the safety deposit boxes, the master key and the key to the safe room are kept behind the bar. Each time I asked for the key the bar staff didn’t say as much as hello to me after the incident with Jimmy. Also on the morning I handed my room key back, Jimmy was the behind the bar alone and once again not a peep came from his mouth.
I have never heard any Greek speak to anyone with such disrespect.
I would not recommend Jimmy’s to anyone.
Do not waste your money on the Air-con. It’s 35 euro per week and blows only slightly cooler air.
The cleaner can’t clean. After every visit the only thing she did was push the beds apart, open the balcony doors, pull the shower curtain over the sink, and no loo paper was supplied.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank twister6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.8 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 39 in Sidari
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stema
Stema
#3 of 39 in Sidari
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#10 of 39 in Sidari
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#12 of 39 in Sidari
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimmy's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimmy's Apartments

Property: Jimmy's Apartments
Address: Main Street | Corfu, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmy's is a small family run self catering hotel at the edge of Sidari. With a fun and welcoming atmosphere it is ideal for both couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jimmy`s Apartments Hotel Sidari
Jimmy's Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing