We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
187
31
2
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
31
2
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two brothers the home cooked food fried peppers mama cooks filo bed was very comfortable approx minute walk overlooking the garden welcome drink four nights sidari town lovely family relaxing holiday fever bar family run lamb chops emptied daily
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This is the best way to sum up The Wave. This is out fifth year back, and it just seems to get better and better. The brother that run it, Christos and Nikos, are gems. They are polite, conscientious, and make you certainly feel one of the family. The fact that locals enjoy the onsite taverna as well, just adds to its charm.
The pool is sufficient, and with the sea just across the road, all of 5 meters away, you have the best of both worlds.
The accommodation is comfortable, with a shower, toilet and kitchen facilities, although we only used the kettle for tea, and the fridge for milk and the delicious watermelons available to buy across the island, as the food in the taverna is impeccable.
The taverna has a huge selection of drinks and cocktails, with Corfu Beer and Fix on tap, and bottles of Mythos available too. It is recommended to book for dinner if you are going to eat here, even if you are staying in one of the 18 apartments on site, as it is always full of an evening. There is mumma and pappa in the kitchen cooking all your traditional Corfiot dishes, as well as a great selection on non-Greek dishes. I would recommend eating as Corfiot as possible as the Souvlaki, Pastisada and prawn saganaki are to die for!
The Wave is only about a 10min walk form Sidari, which is great if you like things slightly quieter and more traditional. However, the walk along the coast is rather nice at any time of day, so its no hardship.
In terms of entertainment, Christos and Nikos, are always happy to put any sporting event up on the small TV in the bar area, and there is constantly music playing quietly in the background, with more traditional music in the evening. On Wednesday nights, they have live music. Their waitress joins the piano player to provide renditions of traditional Greek songs, which may or may not be accompanied by Christos, Nikos and their parents demonstrating some traditional Greek dances! :-)
All in all I would thoroughly recommend The Wave. Once you experience it, you will not want to leave, and when you do, you will want to be back there asap.

Room tip: Rooms upstairs are better as you get a bit more privacy and can see the sea from your room.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_winks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Great apartments, top courteous service,we were taken to our room and told air con and safe were included in price, (no extras that doesn't happen very often) The room was slightly dated but no complaints as had better beds and shower than any apartments we have been to in Greece . It had great outlook over the garden and pool and was very clean. The restaurant was as good as anywhere in Sidari for snacks or an evening meal. There were great sunsets outside the restaurant. The pool was fairly quiet with background music. It was a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Sidari, we liked the report as there were plenty quieter bars or you could get great choice of entertainment in the centre. We will be back in the future. Graham &Rachael.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sc00py
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is our third visit, the last visit being 11yr ago. We have just returned having stayed for 3 weeks. Whilst there we saw the evening do of a wedding. The bride and groom and family were staying here. The party was very well organised by the staff at the wave. Good food and entertainment. The wedding guests were very impressed. We also saw the birthday party of Chritos's daughter who was actually born when we were there 11yr ago. The family are lovely, Nikos, Christos, Mama and Papa and the children. Nothing is a problem from the warm welcome when you arrive to the sad goodbyes on departure. They make you feel like one of the family. We ate in their restaurant most nights and thoroughly enjoyed the home cooked food at a very reasonable price. You can see the sun setting from your table, it is quite remarkable. Their house wine is good, can recommend the red. Prawn sagganaki was one of our favourite and Papa does a good peppered fillet steak. I loved the chicken on a skewer (souvlaki) and my husband liked the dog fish. The rooms are basic but have everything you need for your stay and are clean (thanks to Violetta). The beds are huge with a lovely thick mattress topper, I slept well. Wednesday nights they have live music a guy play the organ and sings and the highlight is Spyridoula the young girl (waitress) singing she has a fantastic voice. Spyridoula is so friendly and loves a chat she fits in so well at the wave. I can recommend the wave for a relaxing holiday and we hope to return, not leaving it for 11yrs next time.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina_tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

These apartments are run by a family who are very welcoming and friendly. The restaurant food is excellent and they have live music once a week.
Great location just 10 mins walk to the main strip in Sidari. Apartments quite basic but that's all we needed really! Would definitely stay here again - good value for money

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here last month. The owners are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed, and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant a few times and the home cooked food was very good and reasonably priced too. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main strip but there are tavernas and a couple of shops on the way. Corfu is one of the friendliest places I've visited in Europe and we hope to return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HelloKitty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews